Skip to content

Three Years of Blogging

May 27, 2011

Yesterday, well actually to be precise, on May 26 this blog completed three years of blogging here on WordPress and I, as usual completely forgot about it until I viewed some visitors arriving here from Blogoversary.

It is hard to define blogging, or writing for that matter, but I can tell that I enjoy it immensely on several levels; one being that it helps take off things brewing in mind and share it with the world. At the end of the day even if there are only a few readers reading my words and leaving their feedback it is worth it.

In those three years, amazingly I, have more readers agreeing with me than disagreeing. It is good to disagree (in civil manner) with what I say because it will be dumb to expect the world to agree to every word I utter. The main goal of a writer should be creating the environment of discourse rather than acrimony. There were, however, only three topics that didn’t go down well with many of my readers such as when I condemned the killing of Ahmedis, favored a procedural change to blasphemy law and wrote against Mushraffa’s come back into politics. Interestingly, my posts about the Taliban and terrorism didn’t attract many deniers or conspiracy theorists as you usually find them in abundance on national TV and elsewhere.

Over the months, one change my old blogger buddies must have noticed that I don’t write as regularly as I used to and secondly, my blogs are more about current affairs than personal ones. This shift wasn’t deliberate, it is just that at some point you grow bored of sharing every tiny bit of your life on the public forum.

Thank you all for visiting this blog. It feels good when you know people find your posts informative and helpful in any respect.

Note to self: I should be writing more frequently about various issues that I plan to write on but in the end never do. I must shun writing shyness.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 2:11 pm

    Mubarak! maintaining a blog is hard work. Here is to another 3 years!

    • May 27, 2011 3:32 pm

      Thank you.

      Once I mentioned completing 300 posts, a friend wished me reaching 1000. I am still at 477. Definitely, I have slowed down.

  2. May 27, 2011 3:48 pm

    Congratulation 😀

  3. May 27, 2011 4:57 pm

    Masha’ALLAH 🙂
    Keep sharing the faith 🙂
    Stay blessed always! [Ameen]

  4. May 27, 2011 5:23 pm

    Congratulations! :).
    I look forward to reading more of your blog.
    Have a lovely weekend.
    🙂

  5. May 27, 2011 9:30 pm

    @Dua, @Wasif, @Nas: Thank you for your kind wishes 🙂

  6. May 28, 2011 11:36 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY to CHIRYA’s BLOG…. Dear Bloggy, keep rocking…. 🙂 😀 😛

  7. May 29, 2011 2:47 am

    “In those three years, amazingly I, have more readers agreeing with me than disagreeing.”

    Probably because people who disagree with you are no more readers of this blog? 😛

    Anyhow, congratulations. Keep it up.

    • May 30, 2011 10:24 am

      Probably because people who disagree with you are no more readers of this blog?

      Or perhaps too lazy to comment 🙂

  8. Raheel permalink
    June 13, 2011 2:39 am

    Your poems, travelogues, literary and other similar humble posts were much awaited and I simply loved them.
    But about current affairs … well, plainly too much to digest. With dozens of TV channels shouting that Pakistan will be destroyed soon and tens of news websites spreading horror and dismay, I seriously need a break. I know Osama is dead and that our nation is suffering from hatred and extremism. But reading it again and again … No, I don’t want a headache, heart-attack or brain-haemorrhage.

    I used to visit your blog for posts with creativity, positivity and presenting the better aspect of life. These posts, unfortunately, have evaporated since a while.

    Happy Third Anniversary!

    • June 13, 2011 10:27 am

      Fiction for most part has moved to my other site. You can check it if you like. ‘To the imaginary world and back’.

      Thanks for wishes. And yes, I can’t help write about these issues. It is one way of getting over the sad feeling at least for a while.

  9. January 3, 2012 8:22 am

    well congratulations from my behalf because this is very hard work to maintain a blog

Leave a Reply

