Skip to content

Of Cricket Kits

February 11, 2011

World Cup 2011: The ugly crescent won't matter much if we won.

Apart from performance, I’m always particular about the kit of our team. Quite honestly, I liked our team’s kit that was introduced in the Asia Cup 2010, although many thought it was bright and shocking.

Today, I came across Pakistan’s cricket kit for World Cup 2011 and I can’t explain how much I detested it. First, personally I don’t like that dark/tainted shade of green. Second, the sprawling crescent on the shirt not only looks displeasing but seems totally awkward and misplaced. Don’t you think it is just too big and unnecessary? I mean after all it is a shirt not a flag to flaunt that big crescent.

My most favorite kit in terms of color and design was the one used in 1999 World Cup. I don’t believe in superstitions as such but enthusiasts on cricket forums associate Pakistan’s good luck with the light color kit instead of the dark green one. They assert that Pakistan had light green kit in 1992 and we won the world cup. Than again we had light green kit in 1999 and we reached the final. Interestingly, Pakistan’s kit most of the times had been dark green mostly.

The idea of this post was conceived after reading this and I thought it would be apt to refresh the memory of the past World Cup kits.

PS: The views expressed regarding color and design of kits in this post are solely mine. You can disagree with civility of course.

World Cup 1992: We were the champions in light green kit.


World Cup 1996: What a bland shade of green that was!

World Cup 1999: Good memories. Good green. Good star.

World Cup 2003: What was the rationale of adding yellow to that ugly green?

World Cup 2007: Forgettable!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. jawad permalink
    February 11, 2011 10:38 pm

    I wanna know why the mannequin has blond hair.

    I was almost with you. There was even hope. Pakistan’s success is proportional not to the shade of green but to the ugliness of the uniform. But then I realized that you like the butt-ugly giant-star of 99 and the theory had to be abandoned. I think that Akram of 2003 with the scum-green and gold looks the best of all the pictures in your post.

    • February 11, 2011 10:52 pm

      That’s how the mannequin I’ve usually seen in Pakistan – that is why it didn’t strike me.

      Ah! ‘Butt-ugly giant-star of 99’ *heart broken*

      Thanks for the feedback! That’s supposed to be a fun post 🙂

  2. Shahid permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:47 pm

    Look at Akhtar. What a legend he could’ve been. Alas !

    • February 11, 2011 11:56 pm

      I hope he gets in groove this WC.

  3. Ugly Shoelace permalink
    February 12, 2011 4:13 pm

    Oh I agree. This year’s kit is horrible. The design – Eww.

    • February 13, 2011 12:03 pm

      I’m sure it won’t matter if we won. After all it is the title that counts.

  4. jawad permalink
    February 13, 2011 1:25 am

    Pakistan’s performance is proportional to the ugliness of the uniform. The 2011 uniform is worthy of at least a semi-final slot

    • February 13, 2011 12:07 pm

      I think in a reverse order. Check the 1992 & 1999 kits.

  5. February 13, 2011 4:28 am

    Well written 🙂
    The kit is just fine, nothing remarkable. I heard it was made after suggestions from public, and collaboration of PakPassion and BoomBoom.
    But it’s still better than 2007 wali kit. I still liked the light green kit, that they have been using since Asia Cup 2010.

    • February 13, 2011 12:05 pm

      Yes, that design was selected after inviting people to submit their ideas.

  6. February 13, 2011 3:43 pm

    I personally liked the kit of 92… it was graceful…

  7. February 14, 2011 5:27 am

    My fav. is 92 and 99’s kits; perhaps due to the reason that the Postiz did well. I like the artistic way PAKISTAN is written @ 99’s kit. This is just among the world cup kits otherwise there have been championships I like PK team’s kits more.

    I like the Kits by default, they have.

    Among all the teams, I usually like New Zealand’s kits the most esp. the feather…

  8. nick boy age22 permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:49 pm

    Dhro nhi Inshallah pakistan jete ga bus Aap logo ka dua hona chaiye or ap logo ka dua tab qabool hoga jab Aap log nazam ko Jari Rakho ge .Mashallah…
    03332467669..03422208412
    Hi i Am *Rasheed ullah from karachi*Swat.

  9. February 17, 2011 4:36 am

    I must say, the kit is pretty ugly in comparison to what I’ve come to expect in terms of our kits. Personally, I was a huge fan of the 99 kit. Then again, maybe its because of the performance of they guys who wore that kit.

    The way the star and crescent sit on the current kit is fairly disconcerting, and why isn’t there some white in the kits? After all, even with all the green in the Pakistan flag, there is also white to signify the diversity in our nation.

  10. February 26, 2011 7:56 pm

    the lime green’s a good sign? 😉

    2007 .. its like it never happened .. ive no memories of it when 1992 still lives in my heart 🙂

  11. March 9, 2011 9:40 am

    So razzaq got hammered for 28 in one over, akhter got juiced all over, conceded some 100 in last 5 overs, Kamran dropped absolute sitters, the openers screwed up, younus khan reminded us of his duck credentials, misbah played another solid test innings, and afridi played another solid T20 innings, summing up to a beautiful 110 run loss….BUT HEY, LOOK ON THE BRIGHT SIDE!………….Okay, there isnt one!

    • March 9, 2011 2:48 pm

      Stop scratching wounds. I’m trying to forget that match 😐

  12. March 12, 2011 8:30 am

    sorry 😛 but truth is truth,anyways the good side of the team is that we won three macthes and lost only one so don’t get upset =)

  13. Saim permalink
    March 23, 2012 12:16 pm

    Haha, I also thought the shirt wasn’t up to the mark last year. But after the 2011 WC i fell in love with it.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Of Cricket Kits « Sharp Perceptions -- Topsy.com
  2. 2011 cricket world cup team kits official 2011 cricket world cup uniform 2011 cricket world cup jersey australia | myrealsports.co.cc

Leave a Reply

