Skip to content

Dhundley Raaste – Vital Signs | دھندلے راستے

September 6, 2010

Dhundley Raaste is an old PTV long play that features Vital Signs the band. After years of searching I finally found it online.

With much anticipation I watched the play about a week or so ago and felt so cheated. Dhundley Raaste boasts big names like Haseena Moin as a writer and Shoaib Mansoor as director besides the four handsome hunks of the most popular band of yesteryears.

The play has a very mundane, almost preachy story with a bottom line that the superstars (in any field) belong to everyone yet they belong to no one. They have to carry on with their journey ahead and suppose if they don’t it may lead to their downfall.

The young girl – the protagonist –  in Islamabad arranges a concert for the band which get them popular overnight and as a result the band bags a lucrative contract to perform concerts abroad for a year. The girl who was smitten by the lead singer of the band wants to go with them on that tour. Her family can allow her only if she gets married. The problem is that the flirt lead singer (Junaid Jamshed) wasn’t that serious about her to settle down and take her along. When the girl knows his true intentions she slashes her wrists. She survives but the moral of the story is – not to get involved with would-be celebrities.

Ah! The play was painful to watch. The typical magic of Haseena-Shoaib was absolutely missing from the word go. Hoping that it might pick up – I watched the whole play but it remained a dud. Besides the acting was a let down. I can ignore that as none of them were professional actors – except Salman Ahmed who can act a bit. I gambled on 60 minutes and yes, lost the precious time.

I wonder what inspired Shoaib Mansoor – the guru of Vital Signs – to come up with such theme when he had created much better tiny love stories in Geetar ’93? I know, I know these 4 people especially JJ were the most sought after in their times. Did Shoaib want to discourage their female fans who would dare to cross all limits? Interestingly, JJ’s antics during the (real life) concerts included asking for duppattas from the female volunteers, tapping his sweat away and then throwing it back after a while, so all the girls would get the essence of JJ, if not the whole of him. Tantalizing to the core right, but I also wonder how many of these women secretly thank their lucky stars for not getting married to JJ given his transformation and much rigid perspectives regarding certain things in life.

The play has some of the songs from Vital Sign’s first album and that was the only saving grace. Everything aside, skip this play if you don’t have time to spare. Believe me you won’t miss much!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ugly Shoelace permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:57 am

    oO. I had watched it a bit on youtube and then forgotten all about it.

    JJ used to ask for dupattas :(. Haw!!!

    • September 7, 2010 9:11 am

      Yes, in good old 90s when things weren’t not that bad as they are today in every sense!

  2. Asma Ahsan permalink
    September 21, 2010 1:56 am

    LOL – Zabardast lagta tha JJ apni jawaani mein. 🙂

    Waqt waqt ki baat hai. Ab MAULVI Junaid Jamshed Sahab ne apnay gunaahon ki muaafee maang lee hai aur tamaam BEHENOUN aur BETION ke sur par dupatta udha diya hai. 😛

    Allah ne JJ SAAHAB ko seedha raasta dikha hi diya. 🙂

    Hey Sis. 🙂 Havent read you for a while. Glad to see you havent lost your sense of humour.
    Take care.

    • September 22, 2010 5:55 pm

      Hey Asma! It’s good to hear from you after eons 🙂

      Well, I like the JJ of yesteryears, couldn’t identify with his sudden shift! 😛

  3. Asma Ahsan permalink
    September 24, 2010 2:11 pm

    🙂 He has changed radically. 🙂

    Its personal choice I guess. I know a lot of people who practice Islam on the dot 24/7, but looking at them you would never realise they are so religious minded.

    This one fellow I know, he looks like a GQ model but knows and understand the
    Quran like an 80 year old really wise religious Muslim scholar – 🙂 You cant find a better practicing Muslim than him – so basically, I cant judge anyone these days on looks. 🙂

    JJ is still the same guy. He has just become a religious scholar now. He changed his career path. 🙂

    He is doing good work in this field. I have heard him on TV – his facts are well researched and solid – that makes one respect his opinion on religion.

    As for me, I dont come on line much now. That is why I havent checked up on anyone for a long time – got busy with personal stuff at home. Also been stressed out about the bad stuff happening in Pakistan. I dont feel like writing now. No point really in it anymore….

    Instead, I am praying for all back home. May Allah show some mercy on us – Ameen.

  4. September 26, 2010 12:43 am

    all the post was okay…but at last u pointed that he(JJ) changed himself to a rigid one…..better reconsider ur lines.!!

  5. Jeff G permalink
    February 16, 2011 6:41 am

    I am a fan of Vital Signs from India. I had read about the drama/telefilm online and I was thrilled to find it on youtube some time back.
    I agree the story and acting is bad,, but it is still good enough for a fan who never got to watch Vital Signs on TV.
    On the other hand I am really curious about Geetar ’93,, I came across this page searching for that. Any idea where I can find it online?

  6. Salman permalink
    May 10, 2011 6:12 pm

    A very well written article sister if you don’t mind my saying so.

    Jeff G! I have been looking for this video for over 15 years now. Believe it or not, I once had the original master copy straight from Pakistan television (PTV) studios. I made copies from the master myself. I don’t have them anymore. I have all the top video encoding equipment ready, should I ever get my hands on it, to transfer it to DVD. Wish me luck!

  7. atif bhutto permalink
    September 5, 2011 1:45 pm

    yeah trying to find geetar! just can’t get my hands on it!

  8. December 2, 2011 1:18 pm

    I miss my old days back in late 80’s and early / mid 90’s … i used to listen VS all the time in fact till now i remember all the songs and words and compositions by heart. golden time and golden age for music. today it’s all fake and crap 😦

    http://www.facebook.com/humawaz

Trackbacks

  1. Dhundley Raaste – Vital Signs | دھندلے راستے

Leave a Reply

