Skip to content

Dhoop Kinare

June 10, 2010

It is like you stumble upon something long lost. I found out this clip while looking for Tina Sani’s Bol Ke Lab Azad Hain Tere I was very young when this play (Dhoop Kinare – written by Haseena Moin, directed by Saira Kazmi) was telecast the first time. I watched the re-runs later on. In my view, this is one of the best and evergreen plays produced by Pakistan Television (PTV). That was PTV’s golden era in the real sense. However, I am confused about one thing. I believe this play was released during the rule of Zia when the worst kind of censorship was prevalent. When the virtuous people would hate to see Nazia and Zoheb (the sister-brother duo) perform together. So how come the hand in hand (in this scene) was allowed?

I remember later plays of early 90s like Kasak etc. where Rubina Ashraf and all the female actors would cover their heads like the monotonic PTV newscasters. Attires and covering head or not were inconsequential as long as PTV would come up with such solid and entertaining plays. It’s been 10 years I haven’t watched a single (new) serial that are found in abundance on every Pakistani entertainment channel these days. I am sure I am not missing out anything special anyway. Enjoy the clip!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Ugly Shoelace permalink
    June 10, 2010 3:19 pm

    That’s the only Pakistani drama I remember watching :D.

    Also, I know someone who got inspired to become a doctor just because of the hot pediatrician 😛

    Nayarra Noor is plain amazing.

    • June 10, 2010 3:35 pm

      Wow! I bet this play would have inspired many people to become docs or… to look for some 😛 🙂

      I like everything related to this play!

  2. June 11, 2010 9:21 am

    True .. I remember how in our childhood almost every 8 pm drama on PTV was a must see and its been ages now that I have actually watched a drama now. The star plus alikes, all characters in dramas having weird grey and blue eyes from maasi to malkan’s just too much. I miss the homeliness in our dramas like you’d find in Khawajja & Sons, Sona Chandi kind of dramas … and the beautiful scripts and remarkable acting …

    Beautiful clip … I loved loved dhoop kinaray

    • June 13, 2010 4:35 pm

      People say the roads would get deserted at 8:00 PM because no one would like to miss their favorite plays on TV. There was no concept of repeat telecast or 24/7 TV channels at that time!

  3. June 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    I was wonderful wonderful Drama… I just LOVE it…you know I have saved the whole Drama in my Laptop and watch it whenever i want to…. and everytime I watch it like watching it for the first time….. It’s more than beautiful, i must say 🙂
    Asma is right… there were Dramas which are true legendry… Unkahi, Sona Chandi, Khawaja and Sons, Waris etc etc…worth watching 🙂

    • June 13, 2010 4:36 pm

      I thought I should save it on my (imaginary) iPod Touch and then I can watch it whenever I like… 😀

      I like all the plays that you’ve mentioned here. They are classics!

  4. June 15, 2010 4:50 am

    Dhoop Kinare is a classic just like many others by Haseena Moin. I just wuw anything by Haseena Moin. One of the cable network is showing AANSOO aaj kal….

    Her Ankahi is my all time fav…. Shahnaz Sheikh becomes an instant crush whenever I watch that serial.

    • June 16, 2010 2:16 pm

      I don’t like just anything by Hasina Moin. I don’t like too many characters in the play… it makes me confuse and you can’t focus on the main characters in the given episode.

  5. Usman Chaudhry permalink
    June 16, 2010 2:46 pm

    Long gone are the days when we had dramas like ‘Unkahee’, ‘Tanhaiyaan’ and my favourite ‘Dhoop Kinaray’. The last one is an ever green performance and a classic piece of Sara Kazmi/Haseena Moin. I have special place for Dhoop Kinaray DVD in my collection cupboard (at the top) and last but not the least the attraction in the music and ghazal by Naira Noor has a nostalgic grip over me. Every time i listen to that sweet music reminds me of my childhood days when the whole family and relatives had actually watched that drama together. The drama, sequel, family – relatives, gone days, music …… I think i should stop living in present and go back 22 yrs. Lovely. Hats off for Saira Kazmi for converting and bringing life in a script.

  6. June 17, 2010 2:51 pm

    Thanks for the clip 🙂 I still remember how I used to like Mareena Khan’s hair 😛 I used to say I can never imagine having this hair cut but yeah It suits her. Great Drama this one is.

  7. K. Asif permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:58 am

    hi , i need khawaja and sons and Ankahee dramas dvd
    please contact me at my email ID kasif20@gmail.com or send me the links
    this will be heartly appreciated
    thanks

  8. ashima permalink
    January 3, 2012 7:13 am

    can anyone tell me which year and date this series was first telecast ed in pakistan?

Leave a Reply

