Skip to content

Tweet Archiving

April 17, 2010

Twitter and Library of Congress have reached an agreement where every public tweet posted since 2006, when the Twitter had started, would be digitally archived. The private tweets are exempted. I appreciate that because my tweets are set to private and of course I wouldn’t like them to become part of archives in the Library of Congress.

Google will soon allow the users to search the entire twitter database. The users would be able to search all tweets related to certain topic.

A month or so back I was searching for one of my older tweets and at that time I discovered that although twitter keeps the count of one’s whole number of tweets but a user can surf through only 40 pages or 3000 plus tweets. I was a bit disappointed to learn that I could never check what my first tweet was. May be twitter will introduce archives or user friendly search (other than Google) sometime in future.

By the way, I don’t get the idea behind archiving every single tweet and gibberish. Well, it sounds invasion on privacy because many users decide to delete their cyber footmarks at some stage in life and even though they delete the account their tweets would still be searchable in the database of Google or that of the Library of Congress.

The way Twitter became so important and nifty tool in our lives boggles my mind. I am sort of addicted to it. But I’m not yet ready to make my timeline public. It’s better to keep things under wraps at times! :mrgreen:

Library of Congress to Archive Your Tweets

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 12:36 pm

    Nice information.
    Thankyou for sharing.

    • April 25, 2010 3:41 am

      I’m glad you found it informative!

  2. April 30, 2010 7:01 pm

    Makes no difference to me really. I mean, I don’t really put sensitive information on Twitter that I don’t want archived. Besides, like your blog is public, so is twitter. I don’t see any issues with it, you might disagree :)

    • April 30, 2010 7:08 pm

      Most of my tweets are of nature that I don’t want the whole world to read, remember and then later on quote. That’s why I’ve set my timeline to private.

      As for blog, I plan, think and then write. So I feel it makes a difference.

      The second thing is that women/girls are more susceptible to online stalking. That’s a personal experience! :P

      And I know your tweets are very general :D

  3. May 1, 2010 6:35 am

    hey chirya i added ur blog in networkedblogs on FB and added in my profile to keep updates from it. i am sure you wont mind… :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

