Skip to content

Oldsmobile 442

February 10, 2010

I am not much into automobiles! Such as I don’t understand the features – difference in models and makes and I am not very crazy about having a particular type of a car. By the way, most women I know love to own SUV. Strange that sounds but true!

I think SUV is always the best bet for the long road trips. It gives me the feeling that I am travelling in a secure (read that tough) vehicle that wouldn’t break down anywhere in the long journey where there is nothing but bareness on both sides of the road.

Despite my nil interest in automobiles there is one car that I always liked for its design. I know there are better cars available but if I ever had means I’d like to own one as a vintage car. That is Oldsmobile 442 (1970-1971) model. Now these cars could only be found with collectors or in the junkyard. But in its times it was almost a sports car – you can say so by looking at its design. Though the common notion in US is that American made cars are not good! But I like strange things! Yes, I do!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    To me too an SUV symbolizes safety: you sit higher and thus can have better visual coverage of the traffic and road ahead. Also, the psychological response from a driver who views an SUV in his back view mirror is more accurate and swift compared to how he reacts upon seeing a three cylinder hatchback following him.

    Olds 442 is surely one heck of a classic. They don’t build the likes of it anymore. What’s more, GM is infact in dire straits now.

  2. February 10, 2010 11:16 pm

    Same old womens’ security issue!!…,,,,,,,

    • February 11, 2010 6:31 am

      Women’s security issue or the car’s security issue?

  3. February 11, 2010 11:23 am

    hahah, I got myself a suv before I could drive!! and my husband really likes old cars too, and of all of them, this shape is my favourite, like the jaguar s type old models, but then, I dont like american cars or anything for that matter, AT ALL😀

    • February 11, 2010 11:26 am

      oh,a nd it reminds me , my husband and I were once having a walk with our oldest son, and we saw an old jaguar in mint condition, deep green colour and it was so very pretty, I never saw a car like that again,w e tried to find it to offer to buy it, but the peopel had moved out😀, I can never forget that car…

    • February 11, 2010 12:42 pm

      Thanks for your honest confession about SUV. See every woman (except one who used to prefer beetle car) loves SUV😀

      As for the old cars they do look so appealing at times despite the fact that the speed and comfort doesn’t match the latest models.

  4. February 13, 2010 2:44 am

    These SUV cars are so strong even these days some old white guys drove them in summer cuz they won’t work with this snow.😀

  5. 442 permalink
    November 19, 2010 8:02 am

    I was just searching for 442s in PK on the web and came across your blog.

    I just happened to finish restoring mine. Its a 1969 but looks practically the same.

    Its taken me almost three years and a lot of effort and dedication to restore it. But I’d have to say it was well worth it.

    I was just thinking, what were the odds of me finding a blog dedicated to the 442.

    Interesting choice of vehicle.

Leave a Reply

