Skip to content

Twist in the Tale

February 6, 2010


Attention: Before reading that post please check the tags. Or you may accuse me of making up things!

Last night I was in LA. Smog, crazy traffic, hurrying people! For a moment it looked like Peshawar – or maybe it was that my soul was there so everything looked like sweet home. It is the same as they show in movies when you love and think about someone all the time, you end up seeing that person’s face in everyone else’s face.

I could hear Shahid practicing in the background. He had to croon that evergreen love duet, pehla nasha pehla khumaar, live in front of the 4K spectators and the margin of error was nil. His voice was like darn good – sort of that makes you croon along the singer.

A few hours later, the curtain raised and the show began. The crowd went crazy with Shahid’s performance. He had that sweetness in his voice that makes you pine. I was backstage when I bumped into Kareena. She requested me to tell Shahid that she was waiting to see him backstage. I did tell him but Shahid vanished after his performance. Later, I asked Kareena did you meet with him and she said, aray woh tou chala gaya (He left!) She was clearly disappointed. I said if you wanna catch him get onto twitter. He tweets as @shahidkapoor (In my sub-sub-sub conscious I was trying to persuade her to join twitter). She didn’t pay much attention and began to leave with a confused mind as if trying to digest Shahid’s rudeness. Hey! I shouted it’s a one word ‘shahidkapoor’. I smiled upon giving her that piece of info. Yeah as if she didn’t know that Shahid tweets with that nick!

She was leaving. Paused and turned back. She said that was rude. I said text him. She said forget it. I said happens! I felt bad! Awfully bad when I was packed in a capsule and left in the space to float. You neither die nor live. In simple words, I have been there. The feeling is quite relatable. Never mind! She said and left! Oh well, she was clearly disinterested in my rant. How typical! I was left alone with the surge of memories. I thought about that ‘incident’. I felt as if we were movie characters. Some mean person got the remote and hit the pause button. Everything was still since then. I am keeping the record of days and months till I forget the numbers. What amazes me though is that there is no bitterness. Nothing at all!

‘Hey you!’ Cindy yelled from behind. Her deep voice brought me back into present. Prick! Did ya call me slut or somethin’? No! No! No, that wasn’t me. That was my sicko roomie who tends to suffer from frequent bouts of bi-polar disorder. That dyke Cindy was about to grab my color when… the scene changed!

It’s pretty unclear what actually my role was! A friend? A spectator? PR? Backstage worker OR just a wandering soul of Junoonistan who happened to land in LA last night!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 5:17 am

    i felt junooni being in Junoonistan 🙂 nice satire, it’s difficult to write satire though, keep it up….

    • February 7, 2010 12:58 pm

      I’m glad you get it! 🙂

      That was just a small glimpse of ‘Junoonistan’ for my readers… 😉

  2. February 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    Seems real? The Shahid and Kareena and LA and backstage and floating in capsule are used excellently to describe the situation (Y)

    • February 9, 2010 5:28 pm

      Thanks! I too thought it to be real (well almost) :mrgreen:

  3. February 10, 2010 5:49 am

    kareena K better don’t join twitter & keep her mouth shut. she didn’t seem someone with an opinion on C.wid Karan to me.

    I wud lub to hab Kajol, Tabbu, Nandita, Vidya Balan n da likes on twitter …

    • February 10, 2010 12:56 pm

      I don’t think Kareena would ever join because she’d once said that she doesn’t feel comfy sharing much about her on such forums! 😀

      I agree with your choice of actors. All are my favorites too!

Leave a Reply

