Skip to content

Napoleon Dynamite

February 4, 2010

I have watched and liked several movies over the years but Napoleon Dynamite is one such movie that will always remain special to me for the reasons I can’t seem to explain in words. Napoleon Dynamite is an un-cool, unattractive, a dolt, and a bullied high school student. Yet he’s interesting beyond words. His best friend is a new student in the school who is a Mexican immigrant. Napoleon lives with his 32 years old; internet chat room obsessed brother – who stays at home – and an uncle who mentally lives in 80s while scheme to get rich quickly.

I don’t exactly understand what I liked about Napoleon despite the fact that I don’t identify with him. Wait! I think I do relate to him on one account and that is both he and I make retarded drawings. Such as he draws an imaginary animal – a mix of tiger and lion – and calls it a ‘Liegar’. Or when he draws the sketch of Trisha and upon her false praise of his effort, he replies:

Really? It took me like three hours to finish the shading on your upper lip. It’s probably the best drawing I’ve ever done.

Every time, every firkin’ time I hear or read this line it cracks me up! This guy amuses me so much! Man! It took me like three hours to finish the shading on your upper lip. WOW!

Though I enjoyed every minute of the 82 minutes runtime and I have several favorite scenes but I’d like to mention one where Napoleon and his friends are served egg-shake and the sandwiches buzzing with flies after day’s work in the chicken farm. Napoleons expressions – though mostly he has a deadpan face – are to watch out for.

All the characters, Napoleon, his brother Kip, uncle Rico, Mexican immigrant friend Pedro, Deb, LaFawnduh – Kip’s internet hook up and Tina the llama pet all are awesome!

Napoleon Dynamite (the movie) has been set and filmed in Princeton, Idaho. That potato state is and will always be very close and dear to me. According to Wikipedia:

Preston is a real town in southeastern Idaho, located near the Utah border. Since the release of Napoleon Dynamite, it has become a tourist attraction of sorts, with Preston High School being a main feature. Also with its premiere in 2004, Preston has held a Napoleon Dynamite Festival every summer to celebrate the filming of Napoleon Dynamite in Preston and nearby towns. In April 2005, the Idaho Legislature approved a resolution commending the filmmakers for producing Napoleon Dynamite, specifically enumerating the benefits the movie has brought to Idaho, as well as for showcasing various aspects of Idaho’s culture and economy. Most of the film was filmed in Idaho, except for the diner scenes in Richmond, Utah.

There are movies like Eagle Vs Shark , Harold and Rushmore that more or less fit in the same genre and I like these movies too but nothing can beat the magic of Napoleon Dynamite. ND \\m//

My favorite song from the movie is a hit of yesteryears:

If you need a friend
don’t look to a stranger
You know in the end
I’ll always be there

And when you’re in doubt
and when you’re in danger
Take a look all around
and I’ll be there

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 12:59 pm

    You rock ND \m/

    :mrgreen:

  2. February 8, 2010 6:38 am

    Nice review, love watching funny movies, i believe i have seen the glimpse of it when Napolean was cycling? will go through the movie now.

    • February 9, 2010 5:21 pm

      But it’s not like usual comedy movies! It is worth a watch though and remember I like crazy things usually! 😀

  3. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:12 am

    Interesting Post. Like the video too. People getting creative these days! 😛

    Listening to the song, I was struck by the words – I’ll make you fall for me – Hmmm – Wonder why men have a hard time saying – I love you – marry me. So what if your are refused. Its better to be with a woman who loves and wants you than be one who marries you just because she is feeling sorry for you or just looking for a partner to spend her life with.

    You cant make someone fall for you – they love you or they dont. You dont have a choice in the matter. Love is not forced – It is given freely. 🙂

    Lack of self confidence!

    No wonder they slam the door – hard – on the face of the man trying to woo them – tactless!

    • February 22, 2010 6:13 am

      The rest of the song was too good that I ignored those lines ‘I’ll make you fall for me’… 😛

Leave a Reply

