Skip to content

Paranormal Activity Vs The Blair Witch Project

January 19, 2010

Paranormal Activity

I always like spooky, haunting and horror movies. Unfortunately most of the movies that come out of the world’s prolific film industry in the name of horror are full of blood and gore. I find such movies morbid and sick. Among the run of the mill horror flicks, Paranormal Activity was like a whiff of fresh air. The movie released in US theaters on October 16th 2009.

The movie has been made on the budget of $10,000 only while it made $22 million at the box office. That’s what we call hitting a jackpot!

The story of the movie revolves around a young couple Micah and Katie living in the suburban house in California. The young woman, Katie claims that she’s been haunted by an unknown spirit since childhood. Her partner gets a video camera to film any suspicious activity at night in their bedroom. The couple also contacts a psychic who tells the woman that she had been possessed by some demonic forces and leaves the house in haste.

Micah keeps on filming night after night. And soon he notices a paranormal activity going on with his wife in their bedroom. How they manage to get rid of those demonic forces is what the movie is about. The movie was shot with two different endings. I have seen both and I liked both.

The entire movie has been shot with Micah’s camera in the form of a mock documentary or mockumentary. The dialogues are spontaneous because the director claimed they didn’t have any script as such to follow. The amateurish filming gives a real feel and one thinks as if the couple is really going through all that. It’s a totally enjoyable and scary movie.

The Blair Witch Project

This horror movie was released in 1999 and it is also a mock documentary. In 1994 a group of three students set out to make a documentary about the fabled Blair Witch. On their way they interview local people about the legend. However, during their expedition in the woods they lost their way. How they become the victims of an unseen and vicious force one by one is what this movie is all about.

I had been reading articles and reviews where both these movies, Paranormal Activity and The Blair Witch Project had been mentioned together. The only similarity is that the style of movie making is very similar other than that there is nothing that could be compared.

I did watch The Blair Witch Project after watching The Paranormal Activity and I clearly felt that the latter was way superior to the former. The Blair Witch Project is full of F words which made my ears bleed. The woods where the movie was shot were enchanting and creepy.

I had quite enjoyed Paranormal Activity and now the production team is working on the sequel. It might be interesting since the Paramount Pictures has been involved in the project!

Did I say that I love horror movies?! :mrgreen:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 1:22 pm

    same pinch there about loving the horror movies …

    once i finished all 8 hellraiser movies in 2 days …

    i watch all kind but some how … can’t resist zombie movies …. there’s something about a epidemic and apocalypse… which spooks me and that’s why i love those kind of movies …

    By the way there are three more movies viz. cloverfield, diary of the dead and Quarantine all of them are made is same format … and IMO .. makes good horror timepass

    • January 19, 2010 2:41 pm

      I have noted down the titles would try to watch them!

  2. January 23, 2010 3:24 am

    I do notice that you do review of movies a lot these days… Well Its fine if we have time for it to watch them… I like to watch movie with my friends during the weekends…. Its fun though…

    • January 23, 2010 6:23 pm

      I’m reviewing movies because I’ve nothing better to write :mrgreen:

      On a serious note: Yes, I do like watching movies and sometimes like to share my views regarding them.

  3. January 27, 2010 3:24 am

    I too totally loved paranormal activity!! And what fascinated me about it was the budget vs gross earning 😛 Am so gonna direct one myself now 😀

    • January 29, 2010 7:50 pm

      Oh! I too thought making one myself but we would have to come up with some other novel idea in order to succeed! 😀

  4. February 8, 2010 7:27 am

    horror movies always scared me ouch, or may be i don’t like em, or may be i never took a go ahead on them because some time un-real graphics and kind of abnormal activities in the film make me say WTF, give me a break, though after reading your review on PA, i think it looks super interesting, on the other hand we tend to give names to our projects in IT fields, i think soon i am going to announce a blair witch project 😉 lolz.

    Nice reviews, enjoyed reading (Y) 🙂

Leave a Reply

