Skip to content

3 Idiots

January 2, 2010

I did watch 3 Idiots recently without having any expectations. And I am simply blow away by the amazing performances and powerful script of the movie.

Aamir Khan starring ‘3 Idiots’ is loosely based on Chetan Bhagat’s novel, ‘Five Point Someone’. The story is about three engineering students from different social backgrounds and the issues they are coping with in their personal and student lives. It is a kind of movie that I usually like because it is not only entertaining but also raises some important questions regarding students, teachers, student-teacher relationship, suicide trend in students, rat race to get good grades by cramming text books and career choice and following one’s dreams. The movie also emphasizes on true friendship.

Aamir Khan is 44 but he successfully pulled off a role of 20-something college student. He lost weight for this movie and it shows. Besides, he is such a powerhouse of acting that you literally forget about the age factor.

Rajkumar Hirani has been turning into one of the finest film makers in the industry. I did like his ‘Munna Bhai’ series but 3 Idiots is from a different league. However, where through ‘Munna Bhai’ the director popularized Gandhism in fun way, 3 Idiots has the mantra that ‘all izz well’. By telling yourself that ‘all is well’ may not solve the problem but it will give you enough strength to cope with it.

It is a must watch for all those who like nice family movies with several social messages being nicely incorporated in the script.

PS: The tug of war for credits between the movie makers and the author, Chetan Bhagat, is really getting annoying. One hopes they could share and digest such a phenomenal success with some respect.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 1:42 pm

    already heard world praising it, I’ll definitely go over it,also i can watch Aamir/Salman andaz apna apna as many times as i can, mine all times fav movie. just glanced your readers 101,462 clicks, so congrats on getting 6 figures 🙂 party time 😛

    • January 16, 2010 1:44 pm

      ‘Andaz Apna Apna’ is also one of my favorite comedy movies! 😀

      Thanks for noticing that my clicks reaches the six figures 🙂

  2. January 2, 2010 3:31 pm

    Aamir Khan’s movie is a must watch for me, by default. I just don’t like him at times when he tries to mess with SRK.

    I copied 3-Idiots yesterday along with so many others from a friend. Looking forward to watch it tonight. If it’s based on that novel then I am def. going to lub it.

    I had been waiting for the DVD print actually but I am afraid to learn the films story from somewhere iss liye yahi dekh longa.

    • January 16, 2010 1:45 pm

      I too usually don’t miss movies by known actors. I think they have something interesting to offer especially Aamir for being very selective with movies.

  3. January 5, 2010 5:33 am

    1st half … totally worth your money …

    2nd half … too filmy …

    over all … good ..

    • January 16, 2010 1:47 pm

      I didn’t like post interval revelation much in the beginning but then this darn thing happens too much in India and Pakistan where someone else takes exam for a person.

  4. January 7, 2010 7:13 am

    Liked your review on the movie, i too recently watched it.. and my all time favourite song is “give me some sunshine” .. I love listening this song again and again..
    http://onlyhits.blogspot.com/2010/01/give-me-some-sunshine-3-idiots.html

  5. January 8, 2010 2:30 am

    I am going to watch it this weekend with my friends. I heard its a good movie… Thanks for the post I have learn more from you… So for me it will be easy to understand it while I am watching it…P

  6. January 8, 2010 7:32 am

    really nice movie..
    hey u told bout Aamir but didn’t mentioned bout the powerful supportin roles of Madhavan and Sharman without which u can’t xpect the movie to b complete….

    • January 16, 2010 1:48 pm

      Yep sorry I didn’t mention the rest of the two actors. In fact, they too made the movie interesting and watchable.

  7. January 11, 2010 7:38 am

    Finally I watched it… 😛
    and I must say it was good movie though it has few flaws (indescent language) but overall cocept is great…
    Give me some sunshine… I can’t resist to listen it again and again.. really gives me feeling of my own time 🙂

    • January 16, 2010 1:49 pm

      Indecent language?! Why I didn’t notice it? Am I too used to it? 😉 😀

  8. January 11, 2010 11:48 am

    I also watched it on saturday. It was worth waiting for the DVDRip. I had the other print as well but I am sure I wouldn’t have enjoyed it that much.
    It just made my day. Pretty relate able, the univ. times part. The 2nd, usual filmi part was equally entertaining.

    Boman Irani is versatile, no doubt. Sharman Sangakara did excellent too. Induction Motor scene is awsome. & so many tuhfay presented for qubooling. 🙂

    CU, ‘Give me some sunshine’ is a lubly saang. Rest of the songs were pretty avg, I would say as compared to Aamir Khan’s movie standard. The answer sheet submission scene have been already known to kaafi saaray loog so …

    Found similarities w.r.t few things to AK’s earlier movies like 3 friends here too as they were in Dil chahta hay. Story proceeded in Ghajni’s shtyle…

    • January 16, 2010 1:51 pm

      ‘Dil Chahta Hay’ was based mostly on relationships and focused on friendship.

      ‘3 Idiots’ carried several messages.

      I like both the movies… 🙂

  9. January 17, 2010 12:19 pm

    watched again last night with friends … liked … and i guess i must mention SILENCER’s acting too. 🙂
    mei uss ka acting bi, baRa innjoy kee. 🙂

    • January 17, 2010 1:25 pm

      Hehehe! He was one funny chap! 😀

      That movie sure has a repeat value…

Leave a Reply

