Skip to content

Block Checker

December 21, 2009

Phishing is the process to acquire someone’s sensitive information like passwords and credit card details. It is a fraudulent and punishable criminal act.

From the last two or three months I am receiving phishing mails in my hotmail account. The mails are apparently from senders who are in my contact list or somehow I know them and the text is something like that:

Greetings!

Howdy? Had a damn boring day today :s
Whats up at your place?
Anyway, I can bet you’re going to smile after reading this… 🙂

It’s Easy, Secure and Free!

Try it Now, Click Here

Thanks

I clicked on the link to find out where the heck it leads to. So it led me to that phishing page asking the users to check who have blocked them on messenger. Clever because people are always curious to know as to who have blocked them! About five, six years ago there used to be such websites who had those applications where you would enter your email ID and it would tell if any of your contacts were online. With time the MSN transformed to Windows Live Messenger and with the introduction of new and improved privacy it became impossible to know using those block checkers which of your contacts were online and had you blocked.

One should be careful regarding personal details online. That’s why Yahoo urges the users to make a special sign in seal for the Yahoo Mail page so that one could identify his/her page for the particular computer.

This shows that the cyber miscreants and the programmers are always trying to get the better of each other.

Confession time: I had been once the victim of a phishing website 😳

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2009 6:44 pm

    Ayesha: I got this mail three times. but somehow I didn’t open it. I just keep ignore it. Thanks for sharing with us…:P

    • December 22, 2009 11:49 am

      Such mails should better be ignored. What’s amazing is that the sender somehow uses the email IDs of one’s contacts so the mail doesn’t go into Junk or Spam folder.

      Hotmail should do something about it! 😐

  2. December 22, 2009 1:50 pm

    I have received these type of mails several times from the IDs of my friends and family, but thanks to my intelligence and my sixth sense :P, i came to know it is a pishing spam.

    and thanks Ayesha to create awerness, God bless you….

    • December 24, 2009 4:36 pm

      I mailed my friend for not sending me such links and also warned her from using such services but she told me she hadn’t sent me that mail and indeed she too had received such sort of mail by my name 😕

  3. December 23, 2009 9:00 am

    ahh kya yaad dil diya, i was also in that curious list who wanted to know who has blocked me, and damn i remember msnblockchecker alwyas gave erroneous result. it looks a female programmer/hacker has created the above phishing site which snapshot you have shown, cute girly pink.

    Out of the box post by the way 🙂 , keep it up (Y)

    • December 24, 2009 4:39 pm

      I too had tested those (old) block checkers and most of the time the results would be accurate 😛 😉

      Yes, the pink layout is too girly 😀

  4. December 23, 2009 1:56 pm

    Beware of phishing attacks, especially when it comes to bank accounts etc. You know you can report websites as phishing sites now to both Microsoft and Mozilla, and even Google so that it can be blocked or flagged as dangerous.

    • December 24, 2009 4:41 pm

      I know… once when I clicked on one of those links, McAfee warned me of site attack.

      Guess I click on everything… well not always but sometimes I do 😛

  5. December 24, 2009 5:57 am

    Haha…and its good you have posted it! I wanted to, no one was gonna read my blog anyway.

    • December 24, 2009 4:50 pm

      I didn’t thought of making a post about it but when I kept getting the mails for about 2 months I finally decided to write about it!

  6. December 25, 2009 2:50 pm

    These are softwares that access your contact list and impersonate your friends and generate automated emails that say they’re from people you know… Clicking these links run scripts at the back end and can trigger viruses in your computer and can access your other personal information etc. We really need to be careful in even opening such emails, let aside clicking on links in such emails. And NEVER EVER OPEN ANY .EXE attachments in emails.

    Great that you posted about it. This info really needs to be spread. God bless (Y)

Leave a Reply

