Skip to content

Google Wave

December 2, 2009

Just a couple of months back the whole world was buzzing in anticipation with two words: Google Wave. It naturally shot up my curiosity to the highest level. There was one hurdle, however, either the Google Wave team or some user would have to send me the invite. This made Google Wave even more coveted.

I clearly remember it was 2004 when I wanted to make an account on Gmail but the invite feature kept me from making one. I didn’t know anyone who would have invited me to Gmail. I don’t remember who finally sent me the invite a year or so later. But I made an account and immensely liked Gmail for its simplicity. I like using Google products and applications such as: Gmail, Google Talk, Blogger and Google search engine etc. while I have been an addicted user of Orkut at one time.

When I couldn’t resist anymore, I resorted to virtual (online) request. A couple of users responded and sent me the invite. Bingo! There I was using the much talked about Google Wave after a few days of invite. Like every new and innovative application it whirled my mind. I couldn’t make up my mind whether to watch some detailed tutorial or read an article in order to understand the use of it. And believe me, I’m still figuring how can Google Wave be put to a better and constructive use.

Google Wave has been described as a personal communication and collaboration tool. The interface of Google Wave is quite similar to any email application. But unlike email with the entire thread of messages the message documents on GW knows as waves could be easily sorted out. The interesting yet quite spooky feature is that if two or more people are chatting in real time, you can see the other person type and erase the message, while you can edit each other’s messages too. This makes it clear that GW would be best for the business collaborations.

A user can have a wave with friends in:inbox or go to public wave using the with:public. All one needs is to put the with:public in search with or without a keyword.

It can be used for sending messages (emails), chatting in real time, co-authoring and editing the documents, sharing photos and videos and communicating with customers etc.

The introduction of third party applications would make Google Wave more useful. It’s quite possible that GW would replace Facebook and email in future as social networking, email and IM besides real-time collaboration could be done at the single platform.

This application is in its initial or preview stage. So naturally it’s quite buggy at the moment. But all in all Google Wave holds less charm for a person like me who still prefers an IM instead of real time chat with no prospect of collaboration. It feels good to have an access to the talk of the town application but for now my interest ends here. Huh! Traditionalist I am!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 4:22 pm

    well the Google Wave Invitation was much easier to get than Gmail.

    • December 2, 2009 5:09 pm

      It’s been easier to get the invite right! Perhaps people were anticipating something wondrous.

  2. December 2, 2009 5:16 pm

    i expect gadgets and API would be available to all the users soon, so that we can explore it fully, your article is very nicely summarized 🙂

    • December 2, 2009 6:42 pm

      Yes, they’ve been working on different applications for GW.

      Thanks for liking the post! I could understand it better after communicating with you via GW 🙂

  3. December 3, 2009 5:10 am

    I lub GOOGLE in General. Google-wave seems ALL in ONE to me. I have full faith in Google’s team. It’s early to develop an opinion for me.

    • December 4, 2009 10:27 am

      I agree we should jump to conclusions that soon! 😀

  4. December 3, 2009 7:46 am

    I never knew how to bowl a googly although I was good at my wrist spin and I’m not at home with Google-Wave although I’m happily a part of a few other social networking sites 🙂 But all in all I can associate myself with what you’ve written in the last para of this rather impressive post 🙂

    • December 4, 2009 10:29 am

      LOL @ googly! I have heard of it but don’t know how that is bowled. I know what ‘dosra’ is 😉 😛

  5. December 3, 2009 11:38 am

    i waved at so many ppl … one or two responded …

    i waved back again … no one responded …

    I logged out ….

    never logged in since then …. guess this wave a googly for me .. 😀

    • December 4, 2009 10:30 am

      LOL everyone has been bowled by Google Wave 😀

      I too found it quite boring initially. You know never I might change my view a few months (or years later) 😛

  6. December 3, 2009 12:13 pm

    But i am still waiting for an invite!

    • December 4, 2009 10:31 am

      Let me see if I have invites left will send you one then…

  7. December 3, 2009 1:53 pm

    O, I see. so, this is the google wave my cousin was talkin about… 🙂

    • December 4, 2009 10:32 am

      Everyone is talking about it but most people disappoint after using it 😀

  8. December 5, 2009 7:25 am

    Hmm…

  9. December 7, 2009 12:27 pm

    your post made me have look at GW which I was ignoring for a long time.
    Right now I’m in process of exploration so not much to say about GW.

    • December 13, 2009 11:44 am

      Even after you explore it there wouldn’t be much to say! 😛

  10. December 11, 2009 7:20 pm

    Exactly!! GW was much talked about but as soon as people started getting invites, they stopped talking about it. The craze is now gone. I also havent signed in to google wave for quiet some time now, although I still use gmail and really like it. But I agree that google team is well aware of this and they must be doing something to revive the pre-launch fame GW had…

    • December 13, 2009 11:46 am

      People stopped talking about it because they were quite disappointed. This application might pick up later in popularity if they make it more useful!

Trackbacks

  1. Google Wave « CrossRoads… - Tech Gyaan

Leave a Reply

