Skip to content

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan

November 13, 2009

rahat fatehI remember when he used to sing qawwalis along with his uncle Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. I would find his screechy voice in the background quite funny. After Nusrat Fateh Ali’s demise in August 1997, he continued his journey and emerged as a solo singer. In the beginning his voice failed to appeal me. The first time I noticed him was when I listened to Man Ki Lagan in 2003 end. I had bought the otherwise pretty average album of the movie Paap just for that song. The song was soothing and sensual. I think it was penned by Amjad Islam Amjad. So basically Bhatts (Pooja and Mahesh) had introduced him into the mainstream Hindi movie playback singing.

Then there was a long hiatus. In 2005 he sang, Jiya Dhadak Dhadak for Kalyug. He has sung many wonderful and super hit songs for various movies. But amazingly, I never liked his solo album Charkha which was a big hit. Below is the list of some of his most popular songs that are my absolute favorite.

1) Teri Yaad Saath (Namaste London)

2) Bol Na Halke Halke (Jhoom Baraber Jhoom)

3) Naina Thag Laingey (Omkara)

4) Jag Soona Soona Laage (Om Shanti Om)

5) O Re Piya (Aaja Nachle)

6) Teri Ore (Singh Is King)

7) Aj Din Chadeyaa (Love Aaj Kal)

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:07 pm

    His voice is a bit thin I guess, but melodious. 🙂

    He sang a new song recently, coming in a new film of Akshay Kumar – De dana dan – I think.

    Here is the link to that:

    http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=101670479853632

    Katrina Kaif is very pretty in the video. 🙂

    I think Katrina Kaif is very pretty, and has very good height. 5 foot 7 – he is over 6 feet tall. Perfect foil for each other. 🙂

    She looks good standing with Akshay Kumar – good chemistry too – on and off screen. Too bad he was already married to Twinkle Khanna when he met her – otherwise, no one can deny that his chemistry with Katrina is much stronger and more explosive on and off screen than with his own wife even – off screen.

    I have always liked Akshay/Katrina videos – great onscreen couple.

    I hope Salman Khan marries her. I wonder why he doesnt propose. He says he wants a wife who will be a good mother – hmmm – 😦

    She looks like a Barbie doll. So slim and fit!!!

    I am sure “Barbie” can be a great mother too. Maybe he should give her a chance. 🙂

    • November 14, 2009 4:17 pm

      Salman wants a woman who welcomes him when he comes back from all days shooting 😮

      That’s what he said in an interview on TV!

      Well, celebrity romance is so … so unpredictable.

      I had watched Akshay’s movie promo. It seems a laugh riot so I’d watch it 😀

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 14, 2009 9:24 pm

      Hmm – That is what my hubby says too. I should welcome him when he comes home – I seldon do you know – too bad I never listen to him. I am a bad wife!!! 😦

  2. Natasha permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:07 pm

    Ayesha seems to be a big bollywood fan.

    Here’s another good song by Khan being aired on tv these days :

    • November 14, 2009 4:19 pm

      I USED to be a fan of bollywood! Now I like only selective and quality stuff…

  3. November 14, 2009 4:23 am

    O Re Piya is one of my absolute favorite songs as well. I like singing as well and this song is really very difficult to sing, but Rahat has so beautifully sung it… I have heard many of his songs, and they make me listen to him even more every time but O Re Piya is just outstanding…

    And another nice song shared above (Y)…

    • November 14, 2009 4:20 pm

      ‘O Re Piya’ is very, very difficult to sing! If you can… then you must be really good at singing 😀

  4. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 14, 2009 4:48 am

    Ayesha – Samiya Mumtaz is such a fabulous actress! She becomes the role she plays. Very few actresses can do that. 🙂

    Did you see her interview on TV once? She and her friend, and both were inseperable in college too are doing a buisness together. Enterpreneurs!

    I ought to remember them since I had the privilage to see both her and Vaneezay in college plays. Vinny would recognise me if she met me again – I was the “shorty” in Reeboks and denim jacket all the time in the winters – as well as my specs and bouncy curls (now severely controlled by very cool stylers) who used to go up to her and tell her she did a great job in there! 😛

    As for Samiya, I always liked her cool and casual style – She is not ashamed to sit cross-legged on a sofa and can eat with her hands if needed. She wears Khaddi Kurtas too. She is an entire different class of classy casualness – a class of her own, and if I remember correctly, boys even back then used to have crushes on her because she is the type men respect a lot – a non-flirty type who can talk intellegently with anyone.

    She doesnt like to wear much makeup either – nothing false about Samiya Mumtaz. She is a very solid, very polished, polite person.

    I cant remember, but I think she was also the head girl of our school! Been a while so my memory is hazy on that.

    I never heard either her or Vaneezay in college, (and I was in the sets team of some of the plays they did back then,) ever utter a rude word, or a make a sleazy insinuation about any girl in the rest of the cast and crew.They are that responsible and good-mannered as artists. Home training really counts I guess. My mother would slap me if I ever raised a finger at anyone – so to speak! 😉

    Well-brought up, polite and very very cool in my eyes, Samiya Mumtaz and Vaneezay are two women I always liked on the Pakistani media. 🙂

    Now that some writer has mentioned her in the post, it reminded me of a clip I had seen some time back –

    http://vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=24085

    I havent seen the play though, as I never get the time to sit and watch evening plays. My hubby has a free hand to watch whatever he likes, and when he is not around, the kids like to use the TV for XBOX or Playstation3. 😦

    Planning to buy a HD Sony TV now now with a BLU-RAY DVD player. I have a SONY BRAVIA(41 inches) which is good to play games on but its not HD. The Playstation3 can play the movies in Blu-Ray, but I would like the Blu Ray DVD player now.

    Since we only buy stuff for the house that comes from the money my hubby earns – my refusal to take “financial aid” from my parents or his, due to personal pride and integrity, we need to budget better for it. 😛

    Yeah – Like that’s ever going to happen – more installments!!! 😦

    • November 14, 2009 4:24 pm

      Who is Samiya? I don’t know her 😳

      What’s the difference between normal and Blu Ray DVD players? I’d like that player which can play the world’s most scratched DVD as well 😀

      HD TV? Sounds great! I like machines and gadgets! 😛

    • November 14, 2009 4:25 pm

      I like Vinny! She is so fit though I know she is almost in late 30s 🙂

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 14, 2009 9:31 pm

      Vinny is superb. she even went in material designing. I have one suit from her collection – it is so easy to machine wash – we dont handwash much here.

      Samiya Mumtaz hasnt worked too much. I know her from school and college. By the way – She is fabulous as a person.

      Nadia Jameel was in my school – she played THE BEAR when she was doing her Senior Cambridge there and looked like a doll in her pink long fluffy dress and long curls – very victorian and a fabulous actress!

      Hadiqa Kiyani was in my school too – I swear I have heard her read the dua at the end of the milad. We were in class 7, she was two years my senior I think. She used to recite – Karam maangti hoon atta mangti houn – gave me shivers – you cant imagine how good her voice really is when she is not putting up a fake accent – The whole faculty cried tears when she said the dua.

      She inspired me to say dua at the end of milad at every milad in Kinnaird – 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992. 🙂

      People remember my voice. 🙂

      I am very religious you know. Dua kiya kartay thay nation ke liye. 😛

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 14, 2009 9:32 pm

      Will find exact info on BLU RAY and post it on my blog – read it. 😛

    • November 15, 2009 12:27 pm

      You grew up among future celebrities! Wonder why aren’t you famous? 😀

      I remember a little of Hadiqa when she used to sing/host the children music show. She didn’t have accent at that time and her voice was really nice.

      That were interesting tidbits 🙂

      Blu Ray! I want you to experience the difference and then write about it…

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 17, 2009 9:15 am

      Hmm – Why I wasnt famous? I was the loser who just sat in the crowds and cheered on the team. 😛

      I am not ambitious that way and I hate being the centre of attention. I had rather project my hubby and kids than me in public.

      Also – My family is very religious and conservative. I took chaddar from the day I grew up to the day I got married because before my mother’s generation, the women in my family never showed their face even in public. We are from the Saudi Arabia basically(Syeds), so the values from that house came down generations to us as well. It is a custom in my family for girls to cover up – we do it without question.

      We were told to cover up, keep our eyes lowered, get educated for personal development only, get married and have kids. 😛

      I went to an all-girls school and college, so talking to strange boys was a real impossibility in itself for me untill I got married. My hubby was the only one I was allowed to talk to.

      Things changed as I grew up. Thankfully, my younger sisters got exposure that I never did. I learnt from them about modern society, and then my brother in law lived with me for a while and kept me in touch with modern trends of his generation. He is like my brother – five years my junior, old classmate of Atif aslam 😛 and Gohar from Jal, who personally knows me and my hubby as we used to drop him home from college sometimes. 🙂

      See, I am not allowed by my family to come in the media – because I have to maintain a certain distance from the spotlight due to family rules, but no one ever told me to not watch the media or appreciate it. Restriction is on me – I never expect others to follow it too.

      The media is there because people like me watch it. What good would the media be if everyone got famous and there was no one left – non famous – who would praise or criticize them? I just like to watch and listen – not be a part of it.

      I have known and met a lot of celebs in my life, and appreciate their hard work and talent. The only medium I got permission to work on is books and writing on the internet.

      I do a lot of photography too – I recently made a phot blog too on that as an experiment. The blog is not online anymore since my husband has now decided to help me go a bit professional in my photography skills. I took off the pics incase I want to use them in my sample portfolio.

      I could never be an actress or a show host. I stink as an actress, and as a show host, I would be the only one talking, as I am very dominating that way.

      I love taking pictures and designing stuff, so if I ever did try to work professionally, at my old age that is (why anyone would hire an oldie like me when the young generation is a million times more talented than me is boyond my understanding!) I would probably just stick to trying out new styles in photography or edit books as I did before. That much I can manage at home since my priority is not to work for fame or my personal image. I work because it makes me happy to be creative. I design my time to be able to be a full time wife and mom.

      I just do a lot of creative work just to kill extra time at home. If I can find freelance work that pays – no harm in it – but a regular job is not right for me as I get too committed to what I do and am unable to balance my priorities if I am on two timetables – one for work and one for home. I am not “Supermom” you know. 😛

      I have seen sample of BLU RAY in a showroom and its clarity is amazing. On my Bravia which is non HD, we play a few movies in BLU RAY on the PS3. Its not as clear as the HD TV result, but still better than average print – the clarity is AWESOME!!!

      I love modern technology. When 3D TV comes out, I will probably be first ot buy it. 😛 Also waiting for VIRTUAL REALITY movies and TV. I am hooked on that concept too!

  5. November 14, 2009 2:54 pm

    i put “o re piya” on number one

    • November 14, 2009 4:27 pm

      I’ve listed the songs in chronological order instead of order of preference 🙂

  6. November 17, 2009 7:21 am

    he has fine tuned himself 🙂

  7. November 17, 2009 9:51 am

    yes he has grabing quality and rythm…

    do listen, “Tumhey dillagi bhool jani parey gee”

    • November 21, 2009 1:40 pm

      Noted! Will listen to it sometime.

  8. November 20, 2009 7:25 pm

    wow post parhoon ya comments 😛

    I think like most of the people here, I always find RFAKs voice very soothing and somehow his songs have great music and lyrics too 🙂

    Teri ore so reminds me of my wedding and aj dinchareya is oh-so-romantic .. heheh 🙂

    ps.. ooh ive lots to see on ur blog

    • November 21, 2009 1:43 pm

      He’s good! 🙂

      I sometimes gain momentum and post blogs left, right and center 🙂

      Good to see you back!

  9. November 23, 2009 6:20 am

    i liked his song lagi tum say maan ke lagan i am not sure whether is this sung by him or not 😦 not being a lover of love songs though i have listened all his songs you mentioned except 4,5,7, that shows how great singer he is 🙂

    did you watch his show this Eid on Geo when he was singing and Reema was dancing, i had to laugh like crazy when i saw that, it must be on youtube 😀

    • November 23, 2009 10:54 am

      oops sorry u did mention maan ki lagan, sometimes i am a skimmer 😦

  10. aiasha permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:58 am

    @ asma Ahmad: your posts are very interesting! and wow you know so many celeberties. makes me jealous
    im a huge fan of SAmiya Mumtaz shes such a pure modest woman! and you personally know her! thats awesome
    ive always fantasized of working in pakistani dramas, but seems like that will just remain dream.
    my parents are very conservative but im sure they wouldnt mind, if i wanted to do drama. but i just want to do one for the experience. seems so cool to me.
    you can be great help as you have so much knowledge.

  11. aiasha permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:59 am

    sorry its Asma Ahsan

  12. Ardelia Detrolio permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:00 pm

    Guys!…… good publication…. I post at this place because you probably may be able to help me. I know, it’s not the exactly exactly area to publish but … I want to find a really free hosting company that accept Javascript and Ajax. Have you a trusted source or at the best a first-class free hosters database or something like that… ,,, for what I want ??? ps:: Do you know totally free ads free hosting ?? How have you built your blog ? Bye

  13. May 16, 2010 6:35 pm

    What template do you use in your site

  14. May 21, 2010 6:11 pm

    You post great posts. Bookmarked !

  15. October 2, 2010 12:49 am

    Hello i’m so happy I found your blog, I really discovered you by mistake, whereas I used to be looking Yahoo for one thing else, At Any Price I am here now and would similar to to say thank you for a wonderful weblog posting and a all round intriguing blog (I additionally love the theme/design), I do not have time to learn all of it on the proper now however I have bookmarked it andNice info, this really useful for me. There’s nothing to argue about.

  16. Jane Doe permalink
    May 28, 2011 12:53 am

    Hi,
    @ Asma Ahsan: All you are talking about is that you know certain celebrities and you are from a very respectable family( it seems as they are not) and you are this and you that blah blah blah…. try to talk about something else. Do you even remeber those classmates who are not celebrities? how mean…. Thats why i hate such people…lost in thier grandiose and narcissism. Get real and a get a life.

    • May 28, 2011 2:27 pm

      Asma is not active in blogging world but I can say this that what you are implying is not correct.

      Thank you for stopping by.

Trackbacks

  1. Rahat Fateh Ali Khan « CrossRoads… | Palestine Cities

Leave a Reply

