Skip to content

Sesame Street Turned 40

November 10, 2009

sesame streetThis popular show for children was premiered on 10th November 1969 and it is the longest running American TV show. I remember watching this show on Fridays (weekly holiday) in school days. There would be only one channel (PTV) and we all know it offered very little for kids to watch. I was never a huge fan of Sesame Street. Actually I don’t like puppets much. But I would love their how-to segments. Like how chocolate is made, how recycling is done or how crayons are made. I would adore that part and would wait for it.

But this show is nothing without the various puppet characters such as: Elmo, Bert, Ernie, Cookie monster, Big Bird, Elephant, Oscar the Grouch etc. countvoncountMy favorite character was… hold your breath… Count Von Count (The Dracula). He would be obsessed with counting stuff around. I could identify with him because I too would like counting things… money, coins etc. Okay that was a joke! I would like it so much the way Count Von Count would rise from his coffin!

For me Friday afternoons of childhood and Sesame Street are synonymous.

This show is still running and it is because the kids do watch it and they quite like it. This show has been serving generations. I reckon PTV still telecast it! You can check out the various characters here!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 10, 2009 8:27 pm

    LOL – Its good to see you writing.

    Count Dracula indeed – you are such a baby!!!

    Anyways – this is the one I liked…

    Please check height difference between the two.. 😛

    • November 14, 2009 4:14 pm

      I don’t get much time but I try to write… about one thing or other 🙂

      Hehehehe Big Bird is a funny fellow 😉

      I like Count Von Count… and I adore the story (legend) of Count Dracula 😀

  2. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 14, 2009 9:22 pm

    Dracula was a dangerous guy…

    You should see TWILIGHT then. The sequel coming soon. Even though its a teen movie and more fit for my kids than me – I rather enjoyed it too. Very good effects in there.

    • November 15, 2009 12:23 pm

      Dracula is the best character ever 😛

      I’ve never read the Twilight books or watched the movies. I think I should, if you so say 😉

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 17, 2009 8:49 am

      My daughter is reading the books – I get to hear the story all day, in great detail, with her critical remarks on it – in between an update on every possible game invented for PSP, PS3, Nintendo DS, Wii, XBOX 3, PC-ROM and every action movie that is doing to be released in the next five years – an update given by my son from the moment he wakes up to the moment I scold him to sleep!

      Please dont expect real details or references on the above mentioned from me – I am outnumbered now in my own home as far as trivia on movies and other entertainment ventures are concerned. 😛

      Deep down I am so darn proud of my kids for their knowledge on stuff. They are much more enlightened and well-grounded than I ever was. Kids today are so chilled out and cool. 🙂

      Just watch to first part of TWILIGHT quickly as the second is releasing this weekend I think.

      will ask kids exact date of release and post it – 😛

  3. November 20, 2009 7:39 pm

    when sesame street used to go onair when I was a toddler, I somehow never like the puppet part of it … but then when I grow up and was in class 6th and 7th I became addicted to it. Even saw teh urdu re-run on NTM too 😀 those were the days when no evening would go without an hour of two of continuous cartoon watching. No one sould see anything because asma’s cartoons were coming 😀

    Life.

    I used to love that ice age kind of elephant too with real big lashes 😀

    • November 21, 2009 1:38 pm

      Yes, Cartoon Network on NTM 😀 Those were the days…

      I used to like that elephant for his big feet (remember those) and of course his eye lashes. He had a kid (elephant) too 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Jill’s Whatever Site » Blog Archive » Sesame Street Turned 40 « Crossroads…

Leave a Reply

