Skip to content

My Fountain Pen

November 10, 2009

dollar717Do you remember writing those corny little stories or paragraphs about the corniest things and situations in the English composition class? Like ‘Rainy day’, ‘My birthday gift’, ‘Village fair’ etc. My blog title is so trite but I’ll try not to write worn out stuff about my fountain pen.

We had started using fountain pen in 6th grade. Before that we used to write with only pencil. Ball point chipped in much later – for me actually after 10th standard.

My first fountain pen was Chinese made [okay its nothing new as almost all fountain pens sold here are Chinese made]. I used it for straight 7 years. In the end its nib turned a bit, it could still write beautiful but used to run out of ink every 10 minutes. So I had to carry an inkpot during exams. Its nib was quite smooth and I could produce my better writing with it. Due to that reason I wasn’t ready to part. Finally I got sick of it and switched to ball points for writing exams.

During my early stint with fountain pen I had bought Dollar’s 717 funny looking and fat fountain pen too. It used to be quite cheap in mid-90s for Rs 6-10 but I never liked its nib. My writing from that pen seemed like someone had unleashed big (blue) ants on the white sheet.

dollar studentpenToday that pen came to my mind because it’s still being sold. In 2000-2001 I briefly used the variant of Dollar fountain pen (student pen) too but couldn’t connect well with it – besides I found it cumbersome to wash the pen and refill it periodically.

Actually I’m more of a gel pen person now.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:09 pm

    My kids – they dont use fountain pen in school – they need to. I am trying to get some good ones now.

    I improved my writing in BA – can you beat that? I was told to buy a Parker 45 number pen by my teacher in the academy I went to for extra help. I had that for years – It improved my handwriting. My final BA papers – especially the political science one was so neat that I patted myself on the back before handing it in – I got 132/200 in that I think – I forget now. Been too long! I had a great teacher. 😛

    I wonder if they have an education programme for my age group. It would be nice to do my graduation all over again at this age! I cant remember anything anymore!

    Kids older now – I have more time and could study again for my own personal satisfaction, but ladies my age would feel totally embarrassed studying with kids half my age! 😛 They will call me granny and make fun of me! 😛

    We need study programmes for the oldies too – courses women like me can take – its better than gossiping and backbiting and watching loser soaps all day!

    I remember – we used to get the end of the fountain nib cut from the market to write URDU in KHUSHKHAT. They use that style for Calligraphy too even now. I could write very well in Khushkhat.

    Good Memories! I loved writing and reading in school. 🙂

    • November 10, 2009 4:27 pm

      I did try several Parker pens but I liked none 🙄

      I don’t miss those school days or learning 😛 It’s over and gone… actually I can’t stand strictness that’s the backbone of junior school here.

      My bro used to skillfully alter the nib of that Dollar 717 pen and then it would write like a ‘calligraphy’

      I have used ‘takhti’ too in childhood to improve handwriting 😈

      Did you?!

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 10, 2009 4:31 pm

      I think we used to in class prep – thats the foundation class. I dont remember though – We had one at home I think. My first three years in school are hazy.

      What I did love most of all things was my blackboard. I used to have a big one at home in the veranda, made the kids(sisters and cousins) sit there and taught them maths. Maths was my real strength in school – and science. I loved poetry and English literature and hated history and Geography – boring!!!

      What was your favourite subject?

    • November 14, 2009 3:57 pm

      My favorite subjects were English, Urdu and Social Studies 😀

      Easy ones 😉

  2. November 11, 2009 5:29 am

    I’d use Dollar 717 with a slashed nib for Urdu writing and Eagle with a comparatively thinner nib for English. I’d try to write ‘nastaliq’ font in Urdu and my Urdu writing was always praised by my fellows and teachers. Its been ages since I last used a fountain pen.

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 11, 2009 5:50 am

      Hi Aadi – been a while. 🙂

      I am sure you write beautifully! You have a beautiful way with words – poetic yet practicla and realistic at the same time. 🙂

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 11, 2009 5:51 am

      Hey Aadil – We need a sample – please write on paper, take pic and put up on blog please. 😛

    • November 14, 2009 3:59 pm

      Yeah my brother would slash the nib too but I never liked it 😀

      I feel fountain pens are passe!

  3. Natasha permalink
    November 12, 2009 12:01 pm

    Nostalgic.

    Miss using fountain pens and the horibble smelling ink erasers.Used them upto my O levels after which I got stuck to the blue and black ‘picasso’ ball pens.Dont get to write much now unfortunately.

    Nice post Ayesha.Brings back memories.I can still smell the eraser and feel ‘yuck’ about it.Remember the ink drops thrown on the floor of the classroom in trying to make the pen work – and my middle finger of the right hand that remained blue most of the times!

    • November 14, 2009 4:02 pm

      Yeah those (German) or whichever country made erasers would smell bad! There were two types of those… one was the white paint type the other one was in the form of pen with eraser at one end and special pen to write on the erased space at the other end! 😀

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 14, 2009 9:13 pm

      i called them life-savers!!! 😛

  4. November 13, 2009 7:47 am

    some how i never got along with fountain pen …

    I rmr I was so excited when i moved to 4th standard and was allowed to use ink pen… but quickly switched to those pilot pen…

    My collegeue still uses a fountain pen … Although, I rarely use any pen … its all virtual text now

    • November 14, 2009 4:04 pm

      That’s true! I am so used to typing (virtual text) that my writing sucks beyond imagination. I use gel pens mostly!

  5. November 13, 2009 12:24 pm

    Erm.. and what is a gel pen? I rarely use any kind of pens since long
    I do use pencils though… I just love penning down my thoughts about work and others stuff with wooden cased lead pencils… Speaking of “penning” I think I should have said ‘penciling’? 😀

    • November 14, 2009 4:07 pm

      Go to any good bookstore and ask him to give gel pen 😛

      Pencils… I have too many (unused) but I don’t like using them. Should give them to kid cousins 😀

  6. November 13, 2009 8:04 pm

    Ohh what good memories!! ‘nib’ sounds so familiar. And we used this word so frequently in urdu as well didnt we. “Meray pen ki nib toot gayi”… etc

    I have also used Dollar’s calligraphy pen, the one that had a wider nib. Our urdu teacher asked us to bring that in class…

    Fountain pens definitely make your writing much neater and a lot better but ball pens are so easy to use arent they. I mean it takes so very long in writing if you’re using a fountain pen. You somehow cannot buildup speed, not as much as you can with a ball pen. Besides, as you mentioned, you have to refill ink and all in the fountain pen…

    And that reminds me, dollar ki ink wali thaili bhi aati thi :-P. I used to refill my ink pot with that :-D. does anyone remember that ink wali thaili?? 😛

    • November 14, 2009 4:09 pm

      LOL @ ‘meray pen ki nib toot gayi’! When some girl would say that we’d assume she doesn’t want to lend her pen hence making excuses 😀

      That’s what our teachers thought and urged us to use fountain pen since it makes handwriting neat. Perhaps that’s true!

      I don’t know of dollar ki ink wali thaili… we used to have plastic inkpots (bottle) 😛

  7. November 20, 2009 7:45 pm

    My dad had a few Parker pens with gold nib and all that. And oh man, they would totally transform what you’ve written. It all looked so beautiful, specially the flow and the right written accentuation. But since in schools, good pens last not very long so I rarely took it to school for teh fear of getting stolen. Sigh.

    I miss writing with fountain pens. I even used them in university too … the page would automatically go clean and neat. Ball points are meant to make your writing look like rubbish.

    • November 21, 2009 1:33 pm

      Oh God! I’d forgotten about the ‘chor girls’ in school 😀

      My father too had Parker pens and I did use them but … didn’t like them much! I’m on a little strange side 😛

  8. ajmal khan achakzai permalink
    January 28, 2011 3:31 am

    i was so excited when my uncle sent me a parker 45 pen.i love to write a writting by parken 45 pen but sheafer was much betten then all the parker except parker 45.

Leave a Reply

