Skip to content

Stories to Ponder

November 9, 2009

Meeting the King

A Persian king asked Saadi of Shiraz:

‘On your wandering through the cities of my kingdom, do you think of me and of my works?’

‘Your majesty, I think of you whenever I forget to think of God,’ was the wise man’s answer.

© Paulo Coelho

The Perfect Woman

Nasrudin was talking to a friend, who asked him:

‘Have you never considered getting married, Mullah?’

‘I have,’ replied Nasrudin. ‘In my youth, I resolved to find the perfect woman. I crossed the desert and reached Damascus, and I met a lovely, very spiritual woman, but she knew nothing of the world. I continued my journey and went to Isfahan; there I met a woman who knew both spiritual and the material world, but she wasn’t pretty. Then I decided to go to Cairo, where I dined in the house of a beautiful woman, who was both religious and a connoisseur of material reality.’

‘Why didn’t you marry her, then?’

‘Alas, my friend, she was looking for the perfect man.’

© Paulo Coelho

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 1:41 pm

    Deep indeed. Nice share (Y)…

  2. November 10, 2009 5:40 am

    Perfect… Paulo lines always have deep meaning and touch the heart….
    Learned it and got the answer… 🙂
    I am happy…. 🙂

    • November 10, 2009 4:16 pm

      I’m happy that you are happy 🙂

  3. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:10 am

    Hmm – This writer, Paulo Coelho, is an funny fellow. Interestingly, his writings are normally related to spiritual stuff – something I avoid reading normally. I am not interested in spirituality like that really, even though Sufism is the accepted style of worship in Islam. Hence, I dont read him. I prefer reading non fiction stuff that deals with human nature. I am always interested to observe how the human heart and mind works.

    I like the first quote – It is indeed true that we tend to worship the rulers after God. Must be tough to be a king! I was glad to be born non-royal by the way, since the ordinary man has more freedom of movement than the celebrity even if celebs are revered more.

    As for the second quote – He deserved what came to him – Only fools look for perfection in this imperfect world. The artist longs to see and feel perfection so he tries to recreate his search for it in his work – the philosopher tries to devise theories on the nearest possible stage to perfection that one can reach.

    Had this guy been a man of science – or a mathematician, he would have married the innocent religious woman and taught her about the world just enough to be useful to him in his personal life – the third woman who rejected him as he was not the perfect man she was looking for did so after she had mastered the rules of religion and seen the world widely enough to have developed an ideal in her heart that was perfect in her eyes.

    Exposure does that to one – it gives one the vision that there are better options out there for one if one looks for them. Number three had an appreciation for good quality – a person like that wants a good option in their partner too. She rejected him just like he rejected the first and second woman. Divine justice. 😛

    The moral of the story is – What goes around, comes around! 😛

    That is why I have never looked for perfection in my life – My daddy always says that if the basic material is good, the subject can be worked on untill it becomes perfect, just like a rock is carved into a diamond – it takes the eye of a jeweller to spot value in a random piece pf rock lying around in a coal mine.

    This guy was blind in his heart – he couldnt see good quality when it had stared him in his face.

    Sounds like a loser! 😦

    • November 10, 2009 4:19 pm

      I have to ask, is he the same Mullah Nasrudin with whom too many jokes have been associated in Urdu literature?

      Paulo Coelho is an interesting fellow 😛

      A person/writer isn’t hundred percent right or correct but some of his philosophies are really uplifting.

      I believe perfection doesn’t exist in this world so why bother for it… (I’m talking about Mullah Nasrudin) He wanted the best of both the worlds 😉

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 10, 2009 4:24 pm

      He wanted the best of both the worlds

      He didnt get them now – did he – one can dream – Its ok to want the best for ones own self I guess.

      As for who he was – hmm – no clue – was he famous? Oh dear – I had no idea who he was!

      I must control my bluntness! 😦 Sorry Sir!!!

      I respect all writers so if I dont agree with the thoughts of one, I just stay dont read them – best to stay ignorant sometimes. 😉

  4. November 10, 2009 11:43 am

    How true!!
    We all forget so many times that before expecting the best from anyone, we need to analyze ourselves!

    • November 10, 2009 4:21 pm

      Right!

      We need to analyze ourselves. And I usually do that. I think I am quite realistic 🙂

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 10, 2009 4:41 pm

      Ayesha – You are very normal and realistic.

      I wouldnt be here reading you if you weren’t – 🙂

Leave a Reply

