Skip to content

A Note Under The Pillow

November 1, 2009

starry night by van goghPeople sleep walk and I am sure I sleep write. I have said this on a number of occasions that for some reason when at night the lights are off my mind wanders in the alleys that lead me to creativity. Ninety percent of my fiction pieces have been written that way. For that reason a drafting pad always stays on my side table because such lyrical themes and thoughts are fleeting and I don’t remember a bit when I wake up the next morning. I attribute my mind’s better functionality to the serenity and calmness that prevails at night.

I have a bitter-sweet relationship with night. I like it since it precedes the day – the day that usually cheers me up unless it is marred with some bad news. I don’t like it since my mind becomes quite active so much so that it pushes me into uneasiness.

So I discovered a note cramped under my pillow. It read:

Sometimes I miss you the way

Oasis dwellers miss the rains

My nights are shrouded in strangeness because I miss people at that time. I can write better, plan better and even the oldest and remotest things rain on my mind until drowsiness steals over me. I don’t remember when and how I wrote the above mentioned note. I do miss certain someone but the astonishing thing is that I don’t remember jotting down these lines. That truly makes me feel that I sleep write. I am sure I do.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 4:33 pm

    wow what a note!

  2. November 1, 2009 6:09 pm

    Interesting and the poetic line is beautiful.

    I too feel that the little creativity I may own, starts peeping out during night. May be it’s the peace and smoothness during night that encouraging the mind to think good. Day time is full of distractions; the presence of sunlight, the noise and other routine activities; they all distract.

    Unfortunately, I don’t pen down thoughts, sketch lines, capture moments and write memories at night time and I don’t know what to write in the day. So, at the end of the day, I don’t have anything to create.

  3. November 2, 2009 7:39 am

    it’s all because night has cherisma of peace and silence which fully allow one to bring up all his conscious and unconscious mind and push pen on the paper whatever whatever creativity he has.
    🙂

    • November 2, 2009 11:44 am

      I love night for all its soothing effects and I wish I could write in the serenity of night but my stupid buddies doesn’t let me concentrate; tis a curse of living in a hostel place 😦

    • November 2, 2009 11:54 am

      Night is not always soothing….. it’s a curse too…. better is to take pillow and blanket…and Lambi taaan kar so jao…. 😀

  4. November 2, 2009 3:55 pm

    yeh nahi pata chala note tha kitnay ka 😀

  5. November 3, 2009 6:04 am

    I think we should steal that note… might figure out what’s the real meaning on…. 😀

  6. November 5, 2009 8:00 pm

    i thought i commented on this but ok so i didnt!
    sowwieeeee

    hey were you not leaving for hajj?
    ok i m going insane if it isnt you whom i wrote that mail to. what is wrong with me.. grr!

    so you do what i do. seems like our minds work on a similar spell 🙂

    • November 5, 2009 9:08 pm

      You were the first to comment here 🙂

      Hajj? Me? No. You are mistaken!

      If our minds work the same more or less it’s because we both write 🙂

  7. November 5, 2009 8:01 pm

    and see i m losing my mind. i did comment 😦

  8. November 7, 2009 12:49 pm

    Great writing indeed. Though I think the best time you get your mind working is in solitude. Night just happens to be the time when we’re alone. Thats what I think…

    • November 8, 2009 10:48 am

      Solitude doesn’t always work for me! 🙂

  9. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 8, 2009 10:08 am

    Uff!!! *open-mouthed!*

    Kya accurate sheir hai meray liye! 😛

    “Oasis” is the name of the company what supplies water in my area – i have to call them to leave me some water too – I keep forgetting – they always miss me or I miss them!

    Sometimes I miss you the way
    The “Oasis guys” miss finding me at home

    I need the water supplied regularly – One cant survive without bottled water out here – but I keep forgetting to call them! Then I buy regular bottles and drag them home – talk about short memory – 😦

    Yours cant be as bad as mine! 😛

    On a serious note – if you wrote a note that you were missing someone and forgot about the note and when you wrote it – you have already gotten over them!

    Congrats! 😛

    Nice header! 🙂

    • November 8, 2009 10:52 am

      Welcome back after a long time! You’ve become eid ka chaand 😛

      Okay I admit you are very funny 😀 Yes, it is tough to survive without water. I consume a lot and need free and uninterrupted supply 😛

      Your point about getting over makes sense!

      Thanks for appreciating the header. It’s 50% mine. Actually the picture belongs to someone else 🙂

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 8, 2009 1:15 pm

      Been busy with hubby’s busy work schedule – and school activities with kids.

      I was also ill for a while – Who gets Bronchitus in Dubai? I DO!!!!

      I must be the only abnormal person out here… 😦

      Anyways – I made a photo blog – check out some new photographic styles I have been trying out.

      Missed you too! 😉

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 8, 2009 1:16 pm

      http://www.photoblog.com/asmaahsan/

    • November 8, 2009 1:27 pm

      You had told me about your busy schedule… I remember!

      The good thing is that now your are feeling well. Everyone’s sick around these days 😦

      Let me check the photos 🙂

  10. Asma Ahsan permalink
    November 9, 2009 5:00 am

    Hey guys – made a new blog on WordPress. I havent used WordPress for a while and I think the dashboard has become easier to manage now – good speed!

    Add me to the blogroll please – drop in and check out the funky theme I put in – good colours in there.

    WordPress has improved a lot since I started using it!

    http://mysecretdiaryonline.wordpress.com/

    • November 9, 2009 10:38 am

      I’ve problem accessing WP blogs. Yeah the same old problem 😦

      Anyway, welcome back to blogging 🙂

    • Asma Ahsan permalink
      November 10, 2009 9:14 am

      Drop in anytime – you are on my blogroll now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

