Skip to content

The Bomb Goes Off. . .

October 28, 2009

peshawarblast DAWN2

Every time the bomb goes off
I feel being blown into smithereens
Look! A piece of my charred flesh sizzling on the charcoal road
Brother, be careful, you’ve stepped on a brownish mass
That’s slowly palpitating counting its last beats
That used to be a heart once
Full of life and zest
There you rescue worker
Collect my severed leg and keep the shoe for
My dear ones to recognize
The fingers flew everywhere… some are burnt and crushed
Some rotting in the drain close by;
Some are picked up by the investigators
Take a close look that’s NOT how suicide bombers hellish fingers would look like
Clutching the necklace, that had to be bought after a brief bargain
The melted eyes mixed with dirt, blood and smoke
Used to weave dreams are blind
I see, still, I can see
Myself in pieces, scattered all over
The good thing, however, is that now there is no pain

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 3:59 am

    That is a heart-wrenchingly powerful poem drenched in pain!
    The trueness of the emotion makes it one of your best poems that I’ve come across!

    Bless you!

    • October 29, 2009 10:29 am

      I was quite depressed yesterday. I still am but the resilience is taking over me now…

  2. October 29, 2009 4:04 am

    Ayesha…as i said I am speechless….and now i feel I couldn’t say a word about….
    the expression you put in your lines is truly the voice of our heart, everyone’s heart….

    Allah may bless us All…we are desperatly looking for his mercy upon us…

    • October 29, 2009 10:30 am

      When will He have His mercy? I’m waiting too.

    • October 29, 2009 10:59 am

      Well Ayesha.. keeping in view the current situation around the world, we are surely in a state of war and passing through the phase which was predicted years back….
      history is about to come true…Allah’s signs of dooms day are coming near day by day…. we are moving towards a big Ghazwa….
      the only thing is we need to realize…….

  3. Natasha permalink
    October 29, 2009 9:26 am

    Heart-wrenching.

  4. October 29, 2009 11:29 am

    😦

  5. usman permalink
    October 29, 2009 2:12 pm

    @ captureuniverse
    GHAZWA is not the right word to use …

    ayesha, that’s a great effort

  6. azure permalink
    November 1, 2009 10:35 am

    Very gory! Scared the masala out of me!

    • November 1, 2009 10:44 am

      This poem is a perfect Halloween stuff. If I set aside dark humor… the blast incident (in the market) was very, very gory hence this poem.

  7. Irum Gul permalink
    November 1, 2009 10:10 pm

    It is heartbreaking! whoever, has done it is more than a barbarian.Your poem has made me cry it is the true picture of whatever happened in the Downtown area, poor and innocent people lost their lives just for nothing.I live far away from home but I love Pakistan alot and I don,t want to hear anything bad about it. May Allah save my beautiful Peshawar! Amin

Leave a Reply

