Skip to content

All About Hobbies

October 2, 2009

Once upon a time there was a little girl who read about hobbies in the book. (The word ‘hobby’ didn’t feel trite at all). At that time she would play random games of childhood or simply be destructive by breaking the branches, clipping leaves, killing wasps or at the most enjoy swinging in the long, hot summer afternoons.

So after reading about the positive beneficial effects of having a hobby she got restless and started scanning her mind for a possible hobby. That book mostly talked about hobbies related to collecting items. She thought of collecting matchboxes. What a brilliant idea that was! But in no time she realized that was actually very boring. What was fun about collecting the ship logo matchboxes with corny jokes at the back? She dumped that hobby in a week.

How about collecting postal stamps?! Her brother already had a tiny collection. Why not expand that? She vigorously started collecting postal stamps. At that time snail mail was the only way of long distance communication (of course other than the good old but expensive telephone). She would ask the postman for stamps when he would come to deliver the mail. He would skillfully peal the foreign stamps from other people’s mail. Doesn’t sound a good today! But postmen back then would do so without any remorse. She carried on that hobby for a long time but what a tedious sort of hobby that was. Seeing and appreciating the stamp collection once in a while was good but beyond that it failed to serve any purpose for her.

stamps

Then she thought to give postcard collection a shot. She did collect about 30 odd postcards from across the world and that was it. Whimsical she was! She thought to change the line of her hobby once again.

Damn that book which only spoke of collecting items! Yes, it did mention writing journals or keeping a diary of day to day account but heck she had no knack of writing so dropped the idea even without trying.

Time went by and the habit of collecting things stuck to her. She started collecting music and movies for she used to like them too much. She used to love reading stories; the only thing that always unconditionally appealed to her. The habit of reading stayed with her and she started buying, reading and hoarding stories, books and magazines and she never got fed up of it.

Do I need to say that capricious hoarder was me?!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. azure permalink
    October 3, 2009 6:08 pm

    what a coincidence… just yesterday i was going through my own little stamp collection… a little book with “158” clearly written on the front cover with a permanent marker… it was fun peeling off the stamps from envelopes that my dad got me from his office mail and the usual mail that came to our house.

    • October 4, 2009 9:22 am

      I think I have more than 158 stamps 😛

      I have a small stamp album and then I ran out of space.

      I remember I would collect them like money at one time 😀

  2. October 6, 2009 7:38 am

    Well, at least you ahve a hobby. I am not that consistant, I do some excercise then got bored after a few months ( or start fainting :P) or I grow plants n then forget about them or I write and then stop.

    I guess changing hobbies is my hobby, hehehe

    a nice post 🙂

    All those words and ideas flowing into your mind must have made you very .. alert.

    Good luck with your rreaing and films hobby! 😀

    • October 6, 2009 5:35 pm

      I used to have hobby. Now I laugh when I hear this word because hobby for me is synonymous with collection. I don’t collect things as such now.

      From what you’ve written about yourself it seems you are a very whimsical person 😉

      I wonder if watching movies or listening music can be counted as hobbies. I place them in the category of general interests 😀

  3. October 18, 2009 4:37 pm

    oww … that was totally me 6-7 yrs ago ….

    still have that collection at home. ..

    I used to call it collection of collection …. containing
    1. stamps
    2. matchbox
    3. currency notes and coins
    4. postcards
    5. sports cards
    6. toffee/chocolate wrappers
    7. newspaper cuttings …

    oww … i so miss that…

    • October 22, 2009 2:41 pm

      So I wasn’t the only one! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. All About Hobbies | Long Distance Inc

Leave a Reply

