Skip to content

Randomness at its best

September 23, 2009

Today during my routine bits of exercise a thought of doing a somersault struck me. Let alone performing a somersault even the thought didn’t occur to me in years. I tried and I failed miserably. I mean I have totally forgotten how to do it. I thought I might break my neck while attempting. Ah! This is yet another thing from the childhood that I have forgotton.

BTW, if you are interested here is how to do a somersault 😉

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 2:54 pm

    My somersaults have grown more lopsided with time, but the basic idea is still there. If you want to feel really lame, try doing a cartwheel.

  2. September 23, 2009 6:45 pm

    So you wanted to take a qalabazi :-P. I didn’t know qalabazi was called somersault :-). And yeah, I guess I have forgotten it as well, didn’t even try it for several years now…

    • September 24, 2009 3:39 pm

      I’m not acrobatic anymore 😦

  3. September 23, 2009 7:12 pm

    Ab tou Qalabazi ka soch k hansi aati hia. Childhood never comes again

  4. September 23, 2009 9:27 pm

    I did it last year!! tried htis year ut Im too heavy now:D

    hahaha how funny things come into your mind, if you;re more than 14, Im sure you cant do it:p

    • September 24, 2009 3:41 pm

      I tend to agree with you. Post 14 one loses touch with such things unless someone is an athlete 😛

  5. azure permalink
    September 24, 2009 5:00 am

    hey ayesha, it’s called a tumble, not a somersault 🙂 a somersault is a more difficult thing in which only your hands and your feet touch the ground.. the rest of your body stays in the air..

    the correct way to do a tumble is to push with your legs when you are in the tumbling position.. make sure you don’t touch your head and neck on the ground, and that the push by your legs gives you the momentum to land your back safely on the other side.. it does not have to be a splat type landing.. curl your body and be as close to the ground as possible.. but don’t touch your head or your neck on the ground..

    happy tumbling!

    • September 24, 2009 3:43 pm

      Thanks for the clarification! 🙂

      You’ve written entire technique of tumbling… I doubt I’d be able to do it (especially on the carpet) 😀

  6. September 25, 2009 10:36 am

    reminded the qalabazian, at times for fun in the lawn (grassy one) & at times as a saza by our posti PTI in school on the kankarion se bharra hova football ground.

    I don’t remember the last qalabazi I took, except the involuntary ones in a bike accident last year.
    I am still kaanfident to do it on a soft surface. 🙂

    • September 25, 2009 4:18 pm

      kankarion se bharra hova football ground

      That’s cruel 😐

      Bike? You mean motorbike? That must have been serious 😮

  7. September 26, 2009 6:46 am

    yes, ANY accident on motorbike is serious. it was fortunately in january & extreme cold days. i had put on everything double; a tracksuit under formal trouser, leather jacket & gloves. The ooper wala trouser tore down completely around the knees.
    Another posti bike-vala was blindly entering the main road from a service one …

    • September 27, 2009 10:55 am

      You must have got tetanus shots too? 😐

      The good thing is you were safe because motorbike accidents are usually very serious.

Leave a Reply

