Skip to content

Of News Channels

September 22, 2009

In 90s, when dish antenna could be seen on every other rooftop, we had access to three basic news channels: BBC, CNN and Zee News. While watching these channels I used to think Pakistan should have 2 or 3 private news channels of its own. Then in late 2001 the Pakistani private news channels with (mostly) its base in Dubai started surfacing.

9/11 provided conducive environment for these channels to thrive. I too at that time heavily relied on the alternate (read that Pro-Pakistan – Islam) viewpoint so I took instant liking for these channels. At one time these channels become my favorite so much so that I started watching them more than any other entertainment channel.

Over the years all types of news channels started springing up from everywhere. I believe running a news channel must be a lucrative business. But that race of quantity killed the quality. Remember the alien found in Lahore story that AAJ TV ran.

Besides, the ex-generals, politicians and ministers, blah, blah come on air and make revelations from the past as if they were not the partners in crime back then. Information is good but when a person can’t do anything to correct things even after having knowledge, it only raises the level of frustration.

9/11 brought instability like never before in Pakistan. Bomb blasts became the routine occurrence. I grew fed up of the news media and felt it getting on my nerves. Imagine the 6 news channels simultaneously showing the scattered limbs and blood on the road, demolished buildings, fire and crying people etc.

Having said that, I am not writing off the news media totally because after all we do depend on them for every news and happening but I have gone from small-dose to no-dose. I prefer reading news online with only selected footage (if available for viewing) and I am at peace. Ignorance is bliss some
times! 😀

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 8:29 pm

    The alien or so called “bona” used to be a fantasy character for me when i was a kid, i tried to find one but never successful…

    And if you talk about TV channels, i have left watching most of the TV channels. The reason is whenever i watch them I get overloaded with continues repetition of the same news. Therefore, I prefer reading news and articles from some authoritative news websites, and of course blogs – blogs are the greatest source of information these days…

    • September 23, 2009 4:19 pm

      Such supernatural things always fantasize kids but running a fictitious report on the national TV is abhorable 😐

      I am glad to know that I am not the only who have shunned watching news channels 🙂

  2. September 22, 2009 10:04 pm

    I dont even watch tv, i only have peace:D Alhamdolillah

    • September 23, 2009 4:20 pm

      Hehehehehe! What are your interests then? 😛

  3. September 23, 2009 6:28 am

    You’re right. Quantity has now taken over quality. You must have seen many news channels claining every now and then about the who broke the news first and would spend at least 30 seconds only telling that their channel brings news first to its viewers. And I agree that no TV these days means some peace 🙂

    • September 23, 2009 4:22 pm

      Good point! I remember after 7/7 bombings in UK the Geo TV ran a footage of some young guy and claimed that was one of the bombers and had visited Karachi. It was a case of mistaken identity 😕

  4. September 23, 2009 12:03 pm

    If a channel is repeating a news again and again, whats bad in that ?? its good … by doing so the news can reach to those also who have switched on the TV late …
    News Channels are benefitial to watch then any other channel, but in our country the news channels give too much preference to their business then conveying a news , i mean they portraits all the news in the spicy form … thts bad ..

    • September 23, 2009 4:25 pm

      That’s what I am saying. These channels don’t know how to present the story.

      Besides there are so many miseries in Pakistan. Crime, poverty, injustice, terrorism, ethnic issues so I know beforehand what the news be and how these channels are going to present it…

      I think reading news is much better than watching them.

  5. September 23, 2009 9:00 pm

    I think I will start reading again soon.

    For now, kids, husband, home, picking them from school, playing wiht them, etc, they take 23 hours out of 24 of my time

    My interest is blogging. which developed recetly, the only thing I do for myself.

    thinking to enrol in frnech lessons soon.

    • September 24, 2009 3:38 pm

      Well, kids, man, family and home become mundane after a while but one should have something as a hobby… like some constructive activity. I think blogging is cool similarly reading habit is good.

      Learning French would be awesome too because it is one of the widely spoken languages. I just know a word or two of French 🙂

Leave a Reply

