Skip to content

Being Late

September 21, 2009

Being late in life is an awful feeling. Sometimes I am late due to my own procrastination. I admit. But sometimes things just don’t happen in time. This reminds me a story which roughly goes like that:

There a young man once, who falls in love. Their love flourishes like the typical, non-physical, rooftop, summer romance. At the end of vacation she leaves for her city with dreams of their union in her eyes. The man hesitantly talks to his mother. She agrees and by the time she takes the proposal to the girl’s family she finds her to be already engaged to one of her cousins.

The man grows out of his youthful romance as well as salad days and begins a job hunt. He manages to get an interview for the job that he always dreamt of. Due to sheer excitement and anxiety he sleeps close to dawn. Gets up late and misses his bus. When he reaches the office all the interviews were already done and his humble plea to let him in for an interview falls on deaf ears.

He grows old, lying on his bed paralyzed with mind as active as ever. His front wall becomes a virtual screen where he keeps seeing snippets from his past. One day he overhears his yelling 12-year old grandson who wants to have his own room, instead of a shared one with his grandfather in the crowded joint family house. The tears stream down the old man’s wrinkled face when he thinks rather a heartrending thought that he is late as ever even in embracing the death.

So do you ever feel being late for anything in life? Do you ever feel if you had made it a little earlier things would have been different and better in your life?

PS: The above (in fact an incomplete) story I quoted is one of my own when I used to write in Urdu.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 12:07 pm

    Hmmm so sad, I actually felt bit sad for grandfather – but this is what happens almost everywhere now days. hmmmm – N well I don’t think this way, I learn from everything gone N try not to make the same mistake again. So life is beautiful N I beleive in being grateful no matter what. 🙂 God bless.

    • September 22, 2009 12:52 pm

      Thanks for the input! And that’s a nice & positive attitude. One should always live like that 😀

  2. September 22, 2009 1:12 pm

    I have been late often BUT who cares after realizing that it’s not only me or my fault… beating raher competing ghulam gardish is not that easy…

    interesting story, i must say & would like to read the complete one.

    • September 22, 2009 5:52 pm

      Ghulam Gardish? Read this word after such a long time. What does it mean?

      BMK that story is still incomplete (like many of my other works) and I have no idea when will I be able to complete it 🙂

  3. September 22, 2009 5:28 pm

    Hmmmm….. Being late means being late till death….crying over and regrets…. It’s pinching reality but don’t you think you have become realistic more then you should be…. What if Miracle happens…. 🙂
    Once late is not ever late…. Possible? 🙂

    • September 22, 2009 5:53 pm

      I too abhor regrets! And yes, miracles do happen 🙂

      Once late is not ever late…. Possible?

      Very much possible!

  4. September 22, 2009 10:03 pm

    Assalamoalaikum,

    A nice story and I too felt sad for the grand dad.

    I think Alhamdolillah that there is nothing I can say that about. Ia m too accepting about things, and generally make an effirt exceot for today!!!

    I asked the dad of my sons friend to take my son n daughter with him in the car for the football coaching/match.

    And normally they would ahve left right after his kids came out of the school but he had to wait for 10 mins more for me to struggle with my three kids. AsI walked to his car to put things in, he showed me the parking ticket he had got, just 2 mins early and he may have dodged he police man 😦

    I felt so extrmely sad. I asked him a few times to pay half of it but he said no.

    I think i should have taken the kids myself, I followed them later anyway, grrrrrr I just thought theyll tired due to the walk with me n the friends dad will save the walk in his car.

    just 2 mins earlier and we wouldnt have had the ticket.

    • September 23, 2009 4:15 pm

      Thanks for sharing your experience!

      I think such moments, when our minor decisions turn unfavorable, happen quite a lot and as long as the end result is not devastating it is fine.

      Life is more important than money!

  5. September 23, 2009 6:33 am

    Many times. Many many times. I’d rather say that I have been early a few times as well, where I could have delayed a few matters to my benefit, but lost what I wanted the most (because of being early). So time does matter :-). But one should learn from the mistakes and try avoiding them in future. thats the only options we have.

    • September 23, 2009 4:16 pm

      You’ve pointed out an interesting thing. At times being early could also turn against us. So yes, one has to be at the right place at the right time 🙂

  6. September 23, 2009 6:47 pm

    Agreed. At the right place, at the right time… 🙂

    • September 24, 2009 3:35 pm

      It’s the rule of success 😀

  7. September 23, 2009 9:01 pm

    Well, when u cause money damage to a almost total stranger, then even 6000 rs is alot:D

    • September 24, 2009 3:34 pm

      You can always pay back in some other form 😛

  8. October 2, 2009 6:14 am

    Its better to be late than never 😛

Leave a Reply

