Skip to content

Of US Open Finals

September 17, 2009

This year I couldn’t catch the live action of US Open on TV. So I was getting all the updates through various news sources on the Internet.

kcKim Clijsters was the wildcard entry in the tournament and perhaps no one expected her to reach the final and then win the title. Kim has always been my favorite tennis player. Two years ago when she had announced retirement from tennis – comeback as a player in the mainstream tennis was nowhere listed in her priorities. She had expressed her wish of either opening a tennis coaching academy after retirement or be associated with tennis in some administrative role. I wasn’t happy to hear about her retirement because she was playing strong at that time. Post retirement she settled down with an American basketball player Brian Lynch and subsequently gave birth to a baby girl. Sports fan usually have short memory (at least I have) as I had almost forgotten about her until in the second quarter of this year I heard the echoes of her name in the sports news again. Her return was a pleasant surprise and her winning the US Open title was a pleasant shock. She defeated Danish Caroline 7-5, 6-3 in the final.

At age 26, married and a mother, after two years of hiatus, being unseeded, she won the grand slam title (in fact she successfully defended it) and wrote down the history. Kudos to her for her perseverance and confidence.

delpotroMen’s final on the other hand was not less exciting. I really don’t know much about this 6’6 gigantic Argentinean called Juan Martin del Porto. All I know is that he beat Nadal in straight sets in the semi-final and when people were expecting the oft-repeated result of yet another grand slam final in favor of Federer; this 21-year old stunned everyone with his glorious victory. Scores: 3–6, 7–6(5), 4–6, 7–6(4), 6–2

Changes are good. Better luck next time Federer!

Overall, it was a memorable victory for the super-mum (Kim) while not-a-perfect-end for Federer’s quest of another feather in his cap.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 12:23 pm

    Im not that into tennis, but the place where I live, everyone is so into federer and nadal and I dont know who else that sometimes it makes me think I miss something big…

    • September 18, 2009 12:13 pm

      I like tennis better than cricket because while watching tennis I don’t expect some particular player to win. I just enjoy watching nice and thrilling match.

      I like cricket but when Pakistan team loses it puts me off. Emotions run high and it rather becomes pain 😛

      It’s all about interest. People go crazy on soccer matches too that I never follow. So this means I too miss something big. Well, what I miss in that case is that I can’t hold a discussion with soccer enthusiast because I don’t understand that game 🙂

  2. September 19, 2009 7:45 am

    Tennis is such a great game, i am following it since when agassi and graf were ending their careers and i still remember my first tennis love martina hingis when she won and opened her tounge while celeberating, that was the instigating force that pushed me towards tennis ssshhhhh:)

    Clijsters is an awesome player, but i always feel hewit helped her and she dumbed him:(… del porto played well but i think it was like one of those finals when Pete Sampras got surpurisingly beaten by Marat Safin, and then we know safin couldn’t do anything better after that victory.

    Also I believe my favorite player federer wouldn’t have lost if he would have kept his cool.

    By the way i also couldn’t watch live matches because of rain interruptions and after that unknown schedule:(

    • September 19, 2009 12:03 pm

      Her and Hewitt’s relationship was bound to debacle because he was an active player from Australia; she was an active player from Belgium so it becomes difficult to maintain the balance.

      Martina’s career came to a sorry end when she was blamed for doping 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Posts about sports as of September 17, 2009 - Video Blog And Arcticles
  2. Of US Open Finals « CrossRoads… < World Sports Update-..

Leave a Reply

