Skip to content

Just Moi

September 16, 2009

On the (informal) request of my friends I have answered the 22 questions. I bet this must be my 30th tagged post😀

1. Grab the book nearest to you, turn to page 18, find line 4. Write down what it says:
[The pale-skinned dog would start] licking her. The White Tiger by Arvinda Adiga

2. Stretch your left arm out as far as you can. What do you touch first?
The curtain

3. What is the last thing you watched on TV?
Promo of the movie ‘Wanted’

4. WITHOUT LOOKING, guess what the time is:
8:35 perhaps

5. Now look at the clock, what is the actual time?
8:34 PM

6. With the exception of the computer, what can you hear?
Someone pulled the door of another room.

7. When did you last step outside? What were you doing?
About 2 hours ago. I was just catching some fresh air.

8. Before you came to this website, what did you look at?
Jang website

9. What are you wearing?
What everyone usually wears!😉

10. Did you dream last night?
Yes, I did. It was sort of nightmare and I woke up instantly.

11. When did you last laugh?
A while ago. I saw a sweet baby! :-*

12. What is on the walls of the room you are in?
Basically the walls have just paint on it. Really there is nothing fancy or worth mentioning🙂

13. Seen anything weird lately?
Define weirdness first. If it has a broad definition then it should cover me as well.

14. Last movie you saw?
Fox – I couldn’t watch the full movie due to time constraint.

15. If you became a multi-millionaire overnight, what would you buy first?
I’ll buy myself a nice package for a holiday in some picturesque location of the world.

16. Tell me something about you that I don’t know.
Is it must to know me?!😛

17. If you could change one thing about the world, regardless of guilt or politics, what would you do?
I’d like to make Pakistan a welfare state in a true sense. Basic necessities for all!

18. Do you like to dance?
I pretty much like to but I can’t. So I never try it.

19. George bush: is he a power-crazy nutcase or someone who is finally doing something that has needed to be done for years?
His presidency is history but he left no stone unturned of screwing up people’s lives in as many as three continents.

20. Imagine your first child is a girl, what do you call her?
Ayesha junior😀

21. [Same question for a boy]
Jibz [You know… short and cool nick for Jibran]

22. Would you ever consider living abroad?
I need 1000 nights to think over it. My time starts now!🙄

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 4:55 pm

    Lolz on Ayesha junior….jibran is cute name…

    1000 days, Aren’t they max at extreme? Rolling eyes….

    • September 17, 2009 6:41 am

      No, not much time to think over such question where many get really hypocritical😉

  2. September 16, 2009 6:59 pm

    How come everyone can guess the time so accurately?

    • September 17, 2009 6:42 am

      It is perhaps we keep checking the clock time and again and not just that we tend to remember the time too😛

  3. September 17, 2009 4:33 am

    Arvinda Adiga’s the White Tiger .. hmm .. I’ve read quite a few reviews about the book and the writer’s quite a revelation. This book’s on my ‘to buy’ list. I’ve got interesting comparisons in mind of Arvinda and a Pakistani young writer Ali Sethi whose first book ‘The wish maker’ has just been published. I’m desperate to read both of em.

    Gibran’s one of my favorite names; my 3 months old nephew is Gibran and one of my favorite writers is Kahlil Gibran🙂

    • September 17, 2009 6:49 am

      The White Tiger is a Booker prize winner novel. It is quite engaging and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      I have read about Ali Sethi’s novel. But haven’t read any reviews as such… so I don’t know what to expect from it. Besides I am really careful buying books by Pakistani authors that have been reviewed by the Pakistani newspapers. Because usually it lets you down. Although Mohsin Hamid’s ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’ was short-listed for the Booker prize but I didn’t like it as such. I enjoyed his first novel more.

      There is another writer ‘Daniyal Mueenuddin’ who last year came with his anthology of short stories ‘In other rooms, other wonders’. I did read a couple of stories. He writes well and received really wonderful reviews from the Western critics.

      I’d like to read him!

  4. September 17, 2009 7:15 am

    Hmm .. incidentally, I’ve read the interviews of both Daniyal Mueenuddin and Ali Sethi in different publications of The News On Sunday. Yes, Daniyal’s book’s been rated very highly in a few reviews. My ‘to read list’ is a huge one; I seriously need some time management to start my reading. Hopefully the eid vacations would do it for me.

    • September 18, 2009 12:08 pm

      Just posted my wish cum ‘to read list’. I really want to get hold of these books and read them asap!🙂

Leave a Reply

