Skip to content

Why?

September 14, 2009

Have you ever wondered why the preachers usually have stern countenance? My Arabic teacher was one such person. Arabic and me? No doubt this language has always intrigued me and I felt its importance even more on my visit to Saudi Arabia where no one spoke English. I took that course thinking in all my naivety that by the end I’d be able to speak and if not that at least will understand. But guess what! I ended up cramming several 300-word Arabic essays for the exam.

My teacher was strict, uptight and sarcastic all the time. In my life, I got the real doses of sarcasm in her class. Once I was attentively listening to her lecture – my palm was resting under my chin and my elbow was on the table. I was sitting in the second row close to the rostrum. She fired a vitriolic shot – out of nowhere – there are some people who sit like this; she imitated the gesture, and think they are attentive but they are just wasting time. I got startled and changed my position to what is usually conceived as an attentive. I did respect her, like I do all my teachers, but she had never been my favorite. I would always be uneasy there. Besides I believe one should respect other out of love and not out of fear.

Coming back to the main point why the preachers become so vitriolic, bitter and rough when they should be humble. I believe it is because they expect people to think and act exactly as they say. They want to impose an unintelligent, unified code of living which of course is not possible because ‘human mind is condemn to be free’ and every free mind thinks and acts in a separate way. When they fail to achieve the desired result or to bring forth the expected change they become sarcastic and critical of everything that others do. Some of them may have the sense of being righteous so others naturally seem wrong to them.

Preaching is a holy job that demands oodles of patience, humility and tolerance. If someone is capable enough and has God’s help, people will follow him even without anyone’s asking.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 2:12 pm

    Teachers teaches to pour everything they have in the mind of their student without bothering whether one can digest the enough teaching or they need to give little breaks.
    Another thing they use to freak out students by giving them stricky stubborn looks to make them sure that they must be attentive and not absorb the reality that this sort of behaviour can make the one uneasy and respect the teacher cause of fear rather likeness.

    • September 16, 2009 11:25 am

      I believe at college level a teacher should be more friendly 🙂

  2. September 15, 2009 5:05 am

    Role Model for teachers. 🙂

  3. September 15, 2009 8:56 am

    Assalamoalaikum,

    I think it is the feeling of detachemnt that they have. the greal preachers, the good ones.

    One must always be humble and never rude, there is no room i Islam for rude and hard speech and attitude.

    Some people are bitter because they ahve been “puched” into preaching or religion as a way of life/profession when they think they could ahve done something else. The bitterness of that always stays with them

    Dedicating oens life to religion or living it in a certain way reuires a LOT of sacrifices, that automatically makes you humble, not strict/hard/tough…

Leave a Reply

