Skip to content

In Specific Proportions

September 11, 2009
You always loved me
On your own terms
In specific proportions
In calculated phases
First you got high on me
Then addicted
Finally fed-up
My words and convos
Compliments and wishes
Became unpalatable
I sensed our affinity creeping
Towards the stage where the indifference
Devoured the link that existed between us
On this solitary eve
I thought, ‘Do all relationships wither that way?’
And then… something struck my mind
I said, ‘You always loved me’…
Did you really love me?
Or was it all merely a gratifying ‘dream’?You always loved me
On your own terms
In specific proportions
In calculated phases
First you got high on me
Then addicted
Finally fed-up
My words and convos
Compliments and wishes
Became unpalatable
I sensed our affinity creeping
Towards the stage where the indifference
Devoured the link that existed between us
On this solitary eve
I thought, ‘Do all relationships wither that way?’
And then… something struck my mind
I said, ‘You always loved me’…
Did you really love me?
Or was it all merely a gratifying ‘dream’?You always loved me
On your own terms
In specific proportions
In calculated phases
First you got high on me
Then addicted
Finally fed-up
My words and convos
Compliments and wishes
Became unpalatable
I sensed our affinity creeping
Towards the stage where the indifference
Devoured the link that existed between us
On this solitary eve
I thought, ‘Do all relationships wither that way?’
And then… something struck my mind
I said, ‘You always loved me’…
Did you really love me?
Or was it all merely a gratifying ‘dream’?
You always loved me
On your own terms
In specific proportions
In calculated phases
First you got high on me
Then addicted
Finally fed-up
My words and convos
Compliments and wishes
Became unpalatable
I sensed our affinity creeping
Towards the stage where the indifference
Devoured the link that existed between us
On this solitary eve
I thought, ‘Do all relationships wither that way?’
And then… something struck my mind
I said, ‘You always loved me’…
Did you really love me?
Or was it all a gratifying ‘dream’?
11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 4:23 pm

    Thats a nice piece of writing (Y)…

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 12, 2009 7:36 pm

      🙂

  2. September 12, 2009 12:35 am

    Words as divine truth… 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 12, 2009 7:36 pm

      Words are indeed!

  3. September 12, 2009 4:56 am

    Thats beautiful; I especially liked its transition which you’ve managed quite skillfully. I can feel the emotion oozing out of it.

    You’re on a poetic spree it seems; a good thing that it. 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 12, 2009 7:38 pm

      Thanks Aadil! You are such a wonderful (and much better than me) poet so your words mean a lot 🙂

  4. September 12, 2009 3:19 pm

    I think I can relate to ths poem very well, sometimes I g through this, sometimes the other…

    Well expressed!! MashaAllah.

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 12, 2009 7:39 pm

      So this means it is a common feeling!

  5. September 15, 2009 8:51 am

    I dont knI would get excited about somene and then feel so close and then suddenly , the novelty wears off 😀 somehting happens and the other person would still feel the same while I would not.

    Sometimes and recently someone did it to me !! it was horrible. But they didnt realise it was happening to them,most people dont know its happeneing , they think nothing is wrong/different….

  6. September 16, 2009 7:21 am

    Excellent!
    Poem has been written with outstanding artistry.

    Love is unconditional; hence too infrequent. Love is if you can die for acclaimed without thinking. Like a mother loves a kid, overlooking the fact he is a physically abandoned, mentally paralyzed, a criminal, a weirdo or whatever. Your actions, term & conditions and stance should only be in benefit of dearest.

    Though at the same, its appreciated to be sane enough to differentiate between love & superficial magnetism. Love is happiness and spark; not gloom and pain. Unfortunately, these days latter is being considered as love either.

    • September 16, 2009 11:23 am

      Love is a spark but when it fuses one instantly plunges into darkness 😀

      Just kidding!

      Thanks for the appreciation 🙂

Leave a Reply

