Skip to content

Lisa Ray

September 10, 2009

She’s been diagnosed with multiple myeloma, a rare form of cancer and she revealed it on her blog two days back.

Myeloma is incurable. It’s a relatively rare cancer of the bone marrow that affects about 6000 Canadians. Every year, approximately 2100 more cases are diagnosed.

I’m a junior Member in many ways, having been diagnosed at 37, while the average age is 65. Makes the disease not quite as ‘Sexy’ as other Cancers. But we can change that.

She blogs at Lisa Ray I’d be visiting her blog often – though I admit it is heartbreaking reading a young person suffering from apparently an incurable disease. Cancer is so vicious – I must say. But it is great to see that she is battling it with courage.

I hope her treatment is successful and she has a long and healthy life.

lr

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 12:22 pm

    Having cancer might not be as painful as knowing that you have cancer :-(. Ameen to your prayers.

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 11, 2009 11:39 am

      That’s so true. The moment one knows he/she has cancer. Many lose hope and battle there and then.

  2. September 10, 2009 12:56 pm

    May Allah keep us all under His blessings and protection.

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 11, 2009 11:40 am

      Amen!

  3. September 11, 2009 8:56 am

    Assalamoalaikum first pf all,
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, Ayesha is back!! 😀

    Secondly,

    when i clicked your name in your comment on my blog, it said “invalid URL”, before it use to lead meto your blog.

    Thirdly, so many films n music posts 😛

    and finally about the cancer,

    My grandma had it. I was 5when she died, she was so young, about 39 years old!! ( she married very young so she had about 11 grandchildren and 6 children even at that age!! MashaAllah)

    I vagely remember her slowly and slowle going through very very bad times in the illness, her long black hair was gone, she had to go for chemo therapy, at that time there wasnt even any good hospital in Pakistan I think she mostly went to hospitals in peshawar and Islambad.

    That was such a torturous phase for us al that I still remember it!!

    May Allah give her peace in grave, ameen.

    As for Lisa Ray, I dont really know her, but may Allah redeuce the suffering of every sufferer, ameen.

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 11, 2009 11:44 am

      W’salaam!

      Thanks for the loud and cheery welcome. I was always around was just stuck in the maze of cyberia 😛

      Yeah, I visit your and everyone else’s blog using proxy so that is why perhaps!

      Well… music and movies … I was very passionate about them at one time. Now… ‘aisay hii kabhi kabhi’ 😛

      Sorry to hear about your grandma… must have been very tough. May Allah protect us from such incurable diseases.

      Amen!

  4. September 12, 2009 12:27 pm

    how come you got her blog address?[GOOGLED?] looks like she is fighting hard, anyway i am going to write her me and her has same blog theme:)
    Thanks 4 sharing her blog address…and WB.

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 12, 2009 7:35 pm

      I got her blog URL from the news item.

  5. September 13, 2009 1:42 am

    poor soul … wuwed her the most as kalyani … is she really 37? Just watched the news on ARY as well…

    & clicking ur name doesn’t lead anyone to ur blog … is that purposely? u better update ur profile with the blog’s URL so that we don’t have to rely on our bookmarks…

    • Ayesha permalink
      September 13, 2009 10:01 am

      She says she is 37!

      My name isn’t clickable due to using proxy server… I think 😕

  6. September 13, 2009 6:12 pm

    she’s gain weight now as seems otherwise earlier, i would have even believed had she claimed younger than 27. khair, they really maintain themselves n haf to …

    Your name isn’t clickable because you haven’t add the URL in ur profile as ur homepage, most probably. It hadn’t been clickable b4 the current issue as well …

    • September 13, 2009 7:13 pm

      Is it still not clickable? I’ve added the URL.
      She said she put on weight due to medicine or something.

  7. Asma Ahsan permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:25 pm

    Oh God!

    I like her. My husband is her huge fan.
    I used to tease him that i am jealous of her, but that was a joke really. She is a beautiful woman!

    I am very sorry to hear it.

  8. Asma Ahsan permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:43 pm

    Sweety – I visited her blog – I am really shocked!

    I left a comment too. You know me. My heart is very soft where illness is concerned.

    Cancer is a bad desease. There is usually no way out of it, but realistically, there is no expiry date in it either – so my advice ot my grandmother and my cousin’s wife and now my uncle’s wife who suffered the desease was always to fight it off by getting the right medicine and whenever able to have a normal routine, trying to achieve as much in life as one possibly can.

    Most people waste their life even though they have no desease.

    the one who suffers at lease has an appreciation for life and can try to make the best of it.

    No one knows how long they have to live. I have always found it nonsensical to be paranoid about death.

    • September 14, 2009 11:01 am

      I am paranoid about death 😦 😕 *_*

  9. Asma Ahsan permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:44 pm

    Posted without checking spellings – sorry for that. 😛

  10. September 14, 2009 6:49 am

    It’s saddening, no matter one is gorgeous or not, beauty of earth or ordinary, life is far precious for everyone. I can’t console anyone that’s my hardest weakness but the one who either suffers the disease and the one who doesn’t both are unaware of their end time; no body knows when the needles of time will stop ticking for him.
    Allah bless her.

    • September 14, 2009 11:02 am

      I too can’t console anyone… as such!

  11. Mishall permalink
    September 14, 2009 4:00 pm

    Hmmm God bless her with strength to fight this, as well grant her good health N long life, Ameen-sum-Ameen.

  12. September 14, 2009 4:51 pm

    To console someone is the toughest thing if i have to cross cause the pain of grief is felt in true sense by the one who owns it… and nothing can bring down his saddening.

  13. urbansapphic permalink
    May 21, 2010 5:32 am

    Prior to her diagnosis of the rare Cancer Multiple Myeloma, Lisa Ray had a successful career as an actress. However despite Lisa’s global popularity she is not well known in the United States except to her most ardent and truest fans. If Facebook could do it for Betty White the we can do it for Lisa Ray!
    Let’s Bring Lisa Ray to the:
    Oprah Winfrey Show!

    The Oprah Winfrey Show wants to know: “Who do you want to see Oprah Interview?” Why Lisa Ray of course! Lisa has touched the hearts of many all over the world and deserves to be spotlighted on the Oprah Winfrey Show!
    So Please Visit:

    https://www.oprah.com/ownshow/plug_form.html?plug_id=3337311

    and Let Oprah know how Lisa’s strength, courage and truth has inspired you! I am wring Oprah so join me and Let’s Bring Lisa Ray to the Oprah Winfrey Show!

Leave a Reply

