Skip to content

Finally it rained…

August 6, 2009

rainIt rained cats and dogs. It was sort of mini rainstorm. But things seem fine at least in our area. Like the power lines are intact. I haven’t witnessed fallen trees nearby etc.

The last one week was so hellish in terms of weather. The city was simmering like an oven. People would sweat for no reason right under the fan and the moisture in the air had made the breathing difficult due to which one would feel suffocated. People would be in bad mood all the time, I think for the obvious reason and after exchanging greetings, everyone would think it mandatory to comment on the weather. This is the easiest way is to whine to each other. As for me, I remained quiet… yes, I become so quiet in such weather (partly because I feel drained) that my family thinks I am brooding over something.

So this afternoon out of nowhere (so typical of Peshawar, the weather here always deceives the forecasts… or perhaps this city’s weatherman is so incompetent) thick clouds started to converge right over the Peshawar skies. It became so dark in a while that afternoon (1:00 PM) looked like an evening.  And finally it started to pour. Prayers had been answered. It is quite pleasant now.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 7:09 pm

    I witnessed to bath in heaviest rain ever in my life today at islamabad. Predictions, forecasts, …ahhh none can tell whats going to happen in future…. 🙂 Very nice blog…. Loved your blog’s header….. woww

  2. August 7, 2009 6:15 am

    We are looking for one more rain here in Karachi

  3. August 7, 2009 6:52 am

    Now that’s cool… thx for the good news. I was very worried about the no-rains in Peshawar. It would still be humid yet the nights are much better when it rains.
    I will be leaving for Peshawar tonight, insha Allah. Yeeey!!!

  4. August 7, 2009 12:36 pm

    Same was the case here in Islamabad; it poured and poured very heavily post the sunset. It was after a long long time that I took a bath in the mild rainstorm. As soon as it started heavy, we climbed onto our shorts and went out and roamed and enjoyed like crazy in a state of pure ecstasy. There were lots of people out there to do the same. It all reminded me my childhood when we’ll go out and soak in the pouring rain cherishing the divine drops.

    Earlier a friend in Peshawar smsed me about ‘da peshogano awo spo baran’ over there and I wanted it to happen it here as well which did to our satisfaction.

  5. August 14, 2009 6:20 pm

    please submit your stories on http://www.pakblend.com digg like storry submission websites for Pakistanis

  6. August 15, 2009 10:27 am

    ab tau loadshedding bhi reasonable hay n garmi too is little, i guess in psh… may be the tufani barish has damaged your telephone line… so you are absent.

    & inspired by whom?

  7. Ayesha permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:06 pm

    Help! I can’t log in to wordpress from my computer using any of the browsers. What should I do? It is tough to comment from cell phone.

    • August 16, 2009 8:48 am

      since you can logon from cell, hence noproblem should be from wordpress hacking etc. problem is either with your computer or ISP. as bmk said clear cache cookie blah blah. if nothing works u should have a seperate blog on technology hence you can learn about it as well;)

  8. August 16, 2009 5:55 am

    So the today’s rain made you comment from Cell phone… Rain power…. 🙂

    You must have already cleared the cashes, cookies, offline data etc; The first step everyone needs to take. You might want to check that data is not stored offline. Have you tried the thing with different ISP (or other than Telenor if you are using GPRS)? At times pages are stored locally on ISP’s server as well for ready access.

    I faced this sort of problem with Netzone psh some 4 yrs ago. Chowk folks told that there is no issue at their end. When I tried Brainnet, it worked. Then I wrote to Netzone to exclude Chowk’s site from cashe-ing.

    Also try logging-in after Tick marking the ‘save password’ box if you haven’t already.

    Wordpess had issues with editing posts & profiles lately… You may want to drop am email at wordpress helpdesk, mentioning complete URL of your blog. voh Russian hacker ki karastani na ho, lately.

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 17, 2009 4:13 pm

      Did all that you suggested but of no avail. I think the issue is with my ISP. I can access http://wordpress.com and sign in but then I can’t access my Dashboard or blog. I can’t access my blog even when I enter the blog URL without signing in.

      I would have emailed the WordPress helpdesk but I can’t access any of their services. Now that is very weird. How will I update my blog and everyone else’s work? 😦

  9. August 18, 2009 9:06 am

    hmm, we need to narrow down the problematic region; try Hit & Trial.

    1) If you are able to sign-in successfully to WP from cell phone; they are clear, I guess.

    2) Have you tried to login in from an alternate PC; if unavailable at home, u make seek a Chaddi-friend’s help whom you could trust sharing the credentials. 🙂

    3) You also need to try an alternate ISP.

    4) Do you remember installing a new software or upgrading/downgrading any particularly application; JAVA or FLASH ones… u may want to try the RESTORE function of windows to earlier dates then.

    5) Does it give error message when you enter incorrect username or password.

    6) try this proxy: http://www.breakfence.com

    I can access my page via this & posting this entry through the same.

    btw, my bongi-khana doesn’t require authentication… khair khabar se tau aagah kar liya karo vahan. 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 18, 2009 8:11 pm

      1) Yes, I can log in from the cell phone. I can read stuff and comment but I can’t post entries (opera mini has certain limitations).

      2) I asked my brother and he successfully logged into my account (from another computer and location). He checked the dashboard. Things were working fine for him.

      3) I don’t know how to try another ISP. I have DSL from BrainNet.

      4) I haven’t downloaded anything lately. I can’t access my blog since 8th of August.

      5) I haven’t tried that.

      6) The proxy worked when I entered my URL but when I tried singing in it didn’t allow me.

      I am glad that I have reply to comment via email feature on. So the amazing thing is that all the websites load and work fine except any of the WordPress sites or links.

      I’d visit ‘bongi khana’ when I sort this issue out. Otherwise will visit it using cell phone 🙂

  10. Ayesha permalink
    August 18, 2009 8:14 pm

    Testing using proxy!

  11. Ayesha permalink
    August 18, 2009 8:15 pm

    I can comment using ‘break fence’ but how to access my Dashboard?
    How will I update my blog? 😦

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 18, 2009 8:21 pm

      And this proxy could be used only for a limited time.

  12. August 19, 2009 3:52 am

    yes, true enough, Proxy sites are not wise to use as well due to their questionable status w.r.t security, adwares etc…

    A proxy go and another comes so no worries about their limited life. But may be you are able at least contact WP Helpdesk through them (try alternate proxies). I wonder though, if yo can post comments then why can’t you post new posts & manage the dashboard. Lately, all comments on my blog with very few random exceptions would go to the spam folder. It got sorted out on itself in a week time or so…

    Here is the list of some available proxies ….
    http://www.tech-faq.com/proxy.shtml

    good luck!!!
    btw, are you interested to be a part time editor in the mean-while. A very attractive offer!!! 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 19, 2009 2:50 pm

      I reply to your comments via email. (I had activated this feature a couple of months ago) that is why I can make elaborate comments.

      What part time editor? Tell me the details 🙂

      @ Raheel: I did flush dns but of no use. I am also wondering what the hell is wrong. My browser can load the page ultimately but it takes eons. Now that is something I never experienced even with a dialup connection.

  13. August 19, 2009 7:30 am

    WordPress, definately, has been having severe issues lately.

    I encountered a similar issue but not serious enough; initially because I have different ISPs and IPs available. Secondly, one of wordpress blogs opened (luckily) and clicking the “dashboard” on wp-bar enabled me to access the admin section.

    You have to bear pop-ups; otherwise http://www.freetoview.net works well. You can login, read and post using this proxy server.

    I would suggest, make repeated efforts using “Internet Explorer”. Try browsing a FEW other wordpress blogs and if you are able to access any of them, use wp-bar to access your dashboard.

    I am not sure whether you ISP has granted the permission to clear dns; You can try this.
    Go to start menu > Run and try this command “ipconfig /flushdns”

  14. August 21, 2009 1:38 pm

    At last the rains came … yah folks back home were telling how the monsoons delayed their arrival but finally they are here 🙂

    Good for humid days in Ramadhan

    ps: and Ayesha I’m loving your header picture 🙂

  15. August 25, 2009 6:02 am

    ping aeysha dot peshawar -t

    no reply from a d p…

    you must be doing something to get the issue resolved.
    hope you are are composing things locally on your PC & will post sab k sab ik saath … & not only kaancentrating on Sahariz & Aftariz?

  16. August 25, 2009 8:57 am

    Rain and Peshawar are sometimes felt 2 reciprocated things….
    but what if it starts raining in the melting heat of summer….. wooooooooo……
    Rain eventually brought the relaxation season… 🙂

  17. August 26, 2009 5:24 am

    Well the ultimate solution of blog access issue (and you wouldn’t believe, so simple it is):

    The same issue occurred at my office, IP. Cybernet control settings were not allowing to access anything hosted by WordPress. I thought, I would need to call the ISP to get the issue rectified. Hence, was waiting for some spare time. Meanwhile I dropped a line about the problem at their email “info@cyber.net.pk”. To my surprise, within 15 mins they approached me and issue was resolved within an hour. The trouble-shooting engineer was also intimated & kept ready if they couldn’t troubleshoot remotely.

    In your case, access brain.net ( your ISP)! Nothing can resolve the issue at your terminal.

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 28, 2009 8:06 pm

      Guess what! I mailed them as you suggested. It worked fine for an hour when I came back later to post a blog and answer comments it was again acting up. I’ll call them tomorrow and if that too didn’t work then I’d visit personally. That is so lame and frustrating really! 😦

  18. August 26, 2009 3:22 pm

    Seems like you’re not even readng the comments anymore, hope youre problems resolves soon, I kinda miss your blog 🙂

  19. August 27, 2009 4:56 pm

    problematic issue…hope it would be resolved soon or i will surely miss a girl around….
    ur blogging line is nice enough…

  20. August 29, 2009 9:32 am

    This technical glitch from your isp is frustrating for us readers as well coz its been ages since you posted your last last entry on this blog.

    Come back soon!

  21. September 4, 2009 8:01 am

    I was expecting your issue had been resolved while I couldn’t hover around blog. Your comment at Alhamdolillah surprised me that you are still unable to do continue blogging.

    Firstly, I don’t know whether they responded, after first ‘one hour resolution of issue’.
    Please Forward your first mail again, let it be a polite but RIGID one this time, since more than two weeks issue is still pending. Actually, these emails directly go to their Operating Center (NOC) and they have to resolve the issue. A copy of email goes to the bosses as well. So, I would suggest ‘email again!’ Hadn’t been privacy matters, your direct teleconference with technical guy would have resolved the issue better while Helpline Calls are received by CS Representatives.

    Anyhow, Please also include below information in your email to BrainNET. Tell them that your_IP_Address is trying to access domains hosted by “wordpress.com” while BrainNET server is blocking the request. Hence brainNET has to change server settings to allow Your_IP_Address to access the domains.
    You can get you IP_Address by visiting showmyip.com.

    I have never been satisfied with work of most of people working at ISP/Computer related offices, you need to guide them bit by bit to get things right.

    Best of Luck! Otherwise you have to change your ISP. Do add this caution in BrainNET email :-P.

  22. September 4, 2009 8:13 am

    Mean while, you can access your blog dashboard by follow steps.

    1. Open freetoview.net
    2. Open wordpress.com using this proxy.
    3. Enter your user_name and Password to login to wordpress.com

    Now, if you are not be able to access your dashboard from here (it happens sometimes as proxy server don’t run some scripts).

    4. enter this address into adress_bar of freetoview – this appears on top of page.
    https://ayesha5.wordpress.com/wp-admin/

    You are into your dashboard then.

    Also, I can provide a few good proxy softwares. But let’s hope your ISP wakes up before these are needed.

  23. Irum Gul permalink
    November 3, 2009 7:02 pm

    I was in Pakistan on vacation in August, it was so much fun I enjoyed it alot…hope to see Pakistan and my own people again and again.

    Good Luck and have a good weather!

    • November 4, 2009 7:57 pm

      ‘You enjoyed your trip’?! Okay I heard this statement after a long time from any visitor to Pakistan. Those who visit want to leave asap 😀

Leave a Reply

