Skip to content

The Prisoner of Past

August 2, 2009

girl

I was the prisoner
Of past
Clinging to an ex’s thoughts
Drawing involuntarily comparisons
Between you and him
How I wish I were
Present in my present
Mentally and emotionally
When you were with me
So past has frozen my feet
What a misery!
Some people never move on
Now that you’ve gone
I am still the prisoner
Of past
Languishing on your memories

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 3:37 am

    WOW!!!! Super, MashaAllah…

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 4, 2009 7:12 pm

      I am glad you liked it! 🙂

  2. ykhan permalink
    August 3, 2009 10:32 am

    Past Cannot be changed, future is yet in your power…

    if at first attempt we don’t succeed, destroy all evidence that we tried…

    Life can be full of comparisons, but i don’t compare, coz i am already implementing above quotation of success, at the same time comparisons can lead to confusions and i am not a confused person…

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 4, 2009 7:13 pm

      Agree! And some say though past can’t be undone but one should learn from the mistakes.

      Present is a gift, future is mystery. The viable thing is to live in present 🙂

    • August 10, 2009 9:35 am

      Lot of people say lot of things:) Not neccessarily to give a thought to those which put one in stress…but i remember one Abraham Lincoln Article published in Dawn in which he wrote a letter to his son’s teacher and wordings like that if i remember accurately

      “Teach him to listen all men and women but teach him also to filter all what he hear through a screen of truth and keep only the good that comes through”

  3. August 3, 2009 11:33 am

    It was beautifully melancholic! Though ideally, one shouldn’t compare but I too am the victim of this nuisance which often leads to frustrations.

    The picture complemented the poem very well! Good choice! 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 4, 2009 7:14 pm

      Thanks Aadil! And yes, one shouldn’t compare two people or two situations. Everyone and everything has something new and unique to offer.

  4. spotlesssoul permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:33 pm

    This is one awesome poem indeed!:) The beauty of some article/poem lies when a reader gets able to connect/relate to words written there. And your poem has got this beautiful ability, mashAllah 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 4, 2009 7:16 pm

      Thank you! Mostly people don’t get my poems because a) I write poems for myself b) because I am not a skilled poet so I usually fail to send my message across. But I am glad you liked this one! 🙂

  5. August 3, 2009 10:41 pm

    If you’re comparing, you’re hurting yourself already :-(. Comparing only means you haven’t been able to come out of your past, as you say… and thats what hurts the most…

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 4, 2009 7:17 pm

      Yes, it hurts when people compare. And interestingly this poem negates my previous one ‘Intricacy’! I like experimenting with different dimensions of pain 🙂

  6. August 5, 2009 11:53 am

    “Past nostalgia is a panic; forget it. Memorize the lesson and Move on cheerily” is my theme of breathing.

    Words have been artistically meshed, though! Nice Poem.

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 6, 2009 2:17 pm

      Thank you for stopping by! Yes, one should live in present fully and happily!

  7. August 5, 2009 1:14 pm

    “The past is history, the future is mystery and today is a gift. That’s why they call it present.” Master Oogway. 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      August 6, 2009 2:18 pm

      Thanks for the lesson! 😀

  8. August 12, 2009 11:09 pm

    I echo Aadil’s comment !

  9. Irum Gul permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:34 pm

    Hi Ayesha,
    Hope you are doing good.I have a question and I am going to ask you with a great apology. Is it okay with you if I can make some corrections in your work. I hope you will not mind it.

    sincerely yours,
    Irum

Leave a Reply

