Skip to content

E-Book or the Real Book?

July 10, 2009

booksI am traditional. I like and prefer real books. I like the feel of real page, print and the usually colorful cover of the book.

I can read an article or small tidbits online but reading a whole book in the PDF format online or reading it on the e-reader is something I am not very used to. The idea of compact computer, notebook, palm PC sounds good because you can not take the desktop to bed and work on it while lying in an easy position. But book is something that could be taken everywhere. I, however, see only one benefit of the e-reader that it can store up to hundreds of books while it can play the audio book  as well. So it could be really handy for those who travel a lot.sony ebook

While traveling I’d prefer an audio book. I have never listened to the whole audio book but once I tested it and listened to a chapter. It was a great experience. And guess what hearing a tale in an audio format lulled me to sleep too.

What is your choice? E-book or the real book?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. bookbooks permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:49 pm

    I choose both: ebook and real book

  2. July 10, 2009 11:56 pm

    Assalamoalaikum,

    I could NEVER read an ebook. i remember as a child, when I use to go to school i florida, they would make us read books while listening to them, I hated it:D

    Later on papa would get us listening books but I still didnt like it and even today it is the same.

    There is nothing like reading a hard copy in your head voice in your own privacy deducing your own meanings and making your own imaginations..
    and I cant even imagine reading aPDF book, it is the ultimate form of laziness and computer addiction 😀 How can anyone? doesnt it give them a headache staring at a screen for a long long time? seriously!

  3. July 11, 2009 5:33 am

    my first priority is the real book, than ebook or kindle, but i am never interested in audio book…

  4. July 11, 2009 6:45 am

    I’d second what ayesha (the commenter) has to say 🙂

    Reading a PDF book is almost impossible for me to concentrate for longer whiles. What I’ve done is printed a book I downloaded a few days back and to me its a good idea especially for the books not easily available in the market.

  5. azure permalink
    July 11, 2009 7:30 am

    There is no substitute for the real experience. When I hold a real book in my hands, I first dig my nose between the pages to ‘smell the words’. The smell of the book really gets me into the mood for a long read. There are new gadgets out there like Amazon.com’s Kindle reader which can be a good companion when you want to carry a lot of reading material around, but reading a real book is pure pleasure.

  6. ykhan permalink
    July 11, 2009 8:40 am

    depends on your profession too, i haven’t read a hard-copy book since 4 years i.e after graduating, although have finished plenty of e-books, also it is easy to search for content on e-book as compared to real-book….hence e-books wins over real ones in modern day in terms of feasibility and when you are short of time and running in madness to complete your task for finding a particular reference or code it’s easy to search through in e-book…:P

    Just my opinion lolz

  7. July 11, 2009 8:58 am

    i can read only traditional book
    most of the times e-books are the only option when you talk about technology or recently published foreign books
    or when you are in office 😀

  8. July 11, 2009 6:52 pm

    A real book definitely! a book brings with it experiances that an ebook can never rival. Both new and used books have their own charm.The fresh from the press smell of a new one is intoxicating and the ‘I’ve been places’ smell of a used book is well… real.
    Now, I’am a tech freak and i’am all for new technologies but where books are concerned I like to read them as they were meant to be read!

  9. July 12, 2009 4:57 am

    Real book 🙂

  10. July 12, 2009 11:58 am

    I shared your opinion until a lil while ago. Now, the problem is there are books only available as etexts and I can NOT get all of those printed, so, I made myself get used to reading etexts too ! And it’s working for me. Although, real books still get my priority ! 🙂

  11. July 13, 2009 5:02 am

    There are pros n cons of both. If given a choice between a real & ebook, the real one gets priority.

    Sardion mein lihaf mein baiTh kar reading ka apna hee maza hay.

    I tried JANE EYRE reading online but had to give up soon. I would take print outs then but the feeling of wasting the ‘sarkari’ pages was not a good one as well…

  12. Ayesha permalink
    July 14, 2009 6:46 pm

    Thank you all for your views! So basically majority of us prefer the real book 🙂

    Azure: Amazingly I do the same. I too dig my nose in the pages :=P

  13. July 15, 2009 9:26 pm

    That’s true real books make reading more delightful but the need of hour we can have lots of ebooks in same price as one original real book cost. So for more knowledge on lower rate we have to move for ebooks.

  14. February 6, 2010 11:35 pm

    The best website to get ebooks and softwares is http://www.ebooksforcents.com

    I have been using it for more than six months and it is amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

