Skip to content

RIP Michael Jackson

June 26, 2009

Michael Jackson: 1958 – 2009

MJI found about Michael Jackson’s death from a friend’s text message. For a while I couldn’t believe it because apparently he seemed fine, gearing up for a series of his come back concerts in London.

I admit that I have been grown out of MJ’s music long ago but in 90s like every other teenager around me I too was his die-hard fan. His albums, Dangerous & Bad became my all time favorites and in mid 90s I must have listened to them hundred times.

I think  I liked him because he was The king of pop with unique style and everyone was into his music, when you have so much fan following of someone around you it is difficult to ignore it. Eventually I too grew fond of his music but what enchanted me were his trade mark dance moves and remarkable on stage performance. There was a video tape of his concert available at the local video shop, I saw people fainting in his concert. And it was there I disovered he was one of those talanted pop singers who would enthrall the audiences with his live singing and dancing.

With time MJ started going in the background. His name would appear off and on in media but mostly for the wrong and bizarre reasons. In 2002 when there was an outcry for mishandling his 8-month old baby by dangling him over the balcony in the Berlin hotel and then in 2005 once again when he was accused of molesting a 12-year old child, subsequently he was acquitted of all charges or when he was accused of having a surrogate mother for his child. From all the glitter and glamour he moved to Bahrain. Some people suggested, the Prince of Bahrain helped him bail out of his financial troubles. And finally there were whispers of his conversion to Islam (which I believe are sheer rumors).

He had a tourbled childhood, strange youth with ever changing facial features and mysterious last years. But despite all this he was a great artist with a successful career that people can only dream of and he kept the world entertained for decades.

The death of MJ has effected me in the sense that you grow up on someone’s music, admiring him and then all of a sudden your childhood icon dies leaving you wonder that nothing is permanent in this world and we all are walking towards our end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ayesha permalink
    June 26, 2009 8:15 pm

    Assalamoalaikum,

    You know someone told me either this morning or last night, hey Mj has died, and I said yeah, so what and they said, “He was the King Of Pop” and Im like:

    *yaaawn.

    seriosuly, why are these people whoa re toubled, druggers, abusers, and in pukhtu we say “dumaan”:D singers and dancers a bit like I think panjabis say marassi? Im not sure.

    On top of that, they are disobediant to Allah.

    I would so like it if we made a big deal about the death of a local imam or something but then, perhaps we shouldnt as they are happy elaving the world and to face Allah.

    We maybe should be sad as one who dies as a disbeliever will be tormented in the grave, on the day of judgment and also in hell fire.

    For me this event means nothing. Only Allah knows of his faith, but I would say people, go and do something useful instead of grieving over or talking of MJ , hehehe.

    On a serious note, we are so extrmely inspired by western society, its sickening.
    I was telling my brother today how no pakistani abroad bothers to wear shalwar kamiz even outside let alone at home, they say husbands hate it. Now the pretty ones, imagine, fitnah all around. Abaya waghaira to door ki baat. we have mentally been slaved to this culture of infidels

    Im sure I cound like a grandma but I can udnerstan the hype abroad but not in pakistan about some MJ death!!!

    sorry ayesha its harsh 😀

    • June 27, 2009 6:26 am

      We cant say whether he go to hell or to paradise, its totally up to the Allah almighty. He got muslim, may be not, i dont know, but Allah may liked some of his act and may forgive him. We can never know what Allah knows.

      We can just say “may Allah rest him in peace”

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 27, 2009 12:53 pm

      Ayesha: Read the last line. It sums up all!

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 27, 2009 12:54 pm

      Khurram: Ditto!

Trackbacks

  1. RIP Michael Jackson « CrossRoads… | Bahrain Today

Leave a Reply

