Skip to content

T20 & Random Chatter

June 8, 2009

Last night I was so disappointed to watch Pakistan’s match. It was 20 overs match and I expected it to be full of 4s and 6s. Instead, our team played as if they were playing 50 overs match. It was boring and slow and with poor run-rate Pakistan was bound to lose the game. I switched off TV when Afridi got out without adding any significant score.

I think Pakistan should have an aggressive start. Anyway, there is nothing pleasing about Pakistan sports (these days) as such.

Today, in the bookstore, while browsing the bookshelves a special number (edition) of children’s Urdu magazine Naunihal caught my eyes. I picked it up and sift through the pages. Over the years a lot has been changed, the style, format, drawings and content. Now, keeping apace with the new technology the stories do mention cell phones and computer frequently. I used to like stories from the histoy and folklores more. They still include old or historical stories.

Nostalgia is a word I hate but today after seeing that magazine I couldn’t help feeling a bit nostalgic. In 6th grade our Urdu teacher had once asked us to read that magazine because the last page of this magazine would include (still does) words from the Urdu Lughat (Lexicon) with pronunciation. I was already a regular subscriber and I believe reading such magazines helped improve my Urdu a lot.

Yesterday I got a forwarded email. It was about a young Pakistan army Captain Omerzeb, who sacrificed his life for the country. It had the story as to how he lost his life and how much his fiance misses him. I don’t know whether it was a real story or a fake one (the one about his fiance)… but the fact is that we’ve lost so many security personnel during this operation cum war. I hope their sacrifices would be fruitful. His photo could be checked here : Capt. Omarzeb

Update: Though a little late it is but our relatives are safely back to their home. After leaving our home, they went to Rawalpindi and spent about a week over there. Then they left for Lower Dir (when curfew was lifted for a few hours) and stayed at a place called Thana with their other relatives and finally they managed to reach home safe and sound. They still hear loud booming sound of mortars (or whatever) but in distance.

Since a few days I am reading about the green ribbon. It’s a symbolic ribbon to show your support for the Pakistan military. We indeed support our armed forces.

green ribbon pakistan

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 7:48 am

    I stop watching cricket after 1996 World Cup when Pakistani team disappointed the whole nation. But I rethink my ban after 20/20 tournaments that it won’t waste the whole day, just few hours. And yes Pakistani team proved that they waste our time.

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:16 pm

      I got into Cricket in 1999 when Pakistan played like a team in the World Cup and they made it to the final but what a bummer that turned out to be.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:17 am

    Assalamoalaikum,

    now mate, this is really getting weird:S:S:S:S

    just yesterday or day before I saw a story on a forum, and i was soo reminded of Naunihaal, I went through the whole nostalgia, I would wait for it every month, I would read it so eagerly, wuite a few times as I would finish it all in just one day, when I grew up, i would try and save some stories for later… Don’t tell me its all modern, I would like to keep that Image.

    P.S someone also sen tme a mail about the captain

    and I had exactly the same thoughts about cricket last time.

    Hence weird weird weird

    :S:S:S:S

    The only diference here would be Im a girl, you seem to be a brother, from your avatar.

    Iw ould also like to ask you Rora, how can you write a story, and put yourself into the man or woman’s mind, it is IMPOSSIBLE to guess your gender from the story, you get intot he charatcter so well

    INfact the masharaan story was exactly how it happens to us alot as well, it sucks BIG TIME

    Khair Rora, ka Khoore, MashaAllah der der talent de dasara, Allah de darla khushaliyani au kaamyabi darki, ameen

    n stop saying my thoughts:p

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:20 pm

      😀

      Well yeah it all sounds weird. And I am a girl… my long time blogger (and other) friends know that.🙂 I think my avatar (I created sometime back) is girlie… that was all I had to make my avatar look like a girl…

      Thanks for the best wishes🙂

  3. June 8, 2009 9:17 am

    Capt. Omerzeb, bilal zafar and others indeed were brave soldiers who laid their lives in the line of duty. We are proud of them. May their sacrifices never go wasted!

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:21 pm

      Ameen!

  4. June 8, 2009 9:33 am

    As for Pakistan’s defeat last night, that was utterly disgusting! They seemed like a bunch of part timers clueless as how to handle the pressure of international cricket. Their fielding was below par, their bowling erratic and their batting clueless.

    In wake of all gloom, I actually pinned high hopes in this Pakistan outfit to do well and bring some joy to our aggrieved masses but alas!
    Do have a chance?

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:22 pm

      Yes, the fielding was poor. They dropped a couple of regular and easy catches. I don’t know what else to say. The skipper had claimed that in the trying times they’d try to give the gift of T20 World Cup to Pakistan but now Pakistan is in a shaky situation.

  5. June 8, 2009 10:41 am

    Indeed Pakistani team was playing like a roadside team of peers, very unorganized and amateurish performance yesterday. But hope for good always, there is no dead end for anything….

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:23 pm

      ‘There is no dead end for anything…’

      That is what I always think about any sport in general and about Cricket in particular but it’s been a while they always end up disappointing us😕

  6. bmk permalink
    June 8, 2009 11:38 am

    I was afraid of the result, hence didn’t watch the whole match. Enough bad news around already…

    The poor souls are still under the dehshat-gardi effect. dee baadi language waz very different. perhaps Englista’n mein memma shemma naal encounter nai hoya, abhi tak.

    They better include M. Yousaf, Imran Nazir, A. Razzak & Co. asap.

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:24 pm

      If they are under ‘dehshet gardi’ effect then they should hire the best psychologist😦

      I believe they are under the effects of nasty PCB politics.

  7. June 8, 2009 3:00 pm

    i gave up on cricket ages ago!
    it is sorta like a dunno dun care situation!

    may the best players win!

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:30 pm

      I too gave up long ago but yesterday tuned to it hoping to see some good cricket🙂

  8. Ayesha permalink
    June 8, 2009 3:18 pm

    Come on Brothers,

    We should not always criticise our country, this post ahs turned into a pessimistic comment page!!

    I think the more we are proud of ourselves and our fellow people, the more it will shine, InshaAllah

    We do not realise how important it is to have an identity, all of us run after foreign countries,, maybe ONE day we will realise self worth is the only solution to our problems.

    JazakAllah people.

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:28 pm

      I am bitter about Cricket because it is in doldrums since long.🙂

  9. sameer khan permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:59 pm

    after seeing the first couple of wickets fall, i knew pakistan was doomed. it seemed that they tried to hit chukkas (sixers) but obviously lacked the energy since they would not reach the boundary and be caught by the opponent fielders. I personally think that a night or two before, they must have been drinking and visiting clubs and getting laid, no doubt they didnt have enough energy and strength to hit the sixers and instead would be pathetically caught out and dismissed.
    Regarding our army jawans, yes the average soldier is suffering unlike the generals who are enjoying life to the fullest, making money, going abroad on sex tours and sinning galore!!! its always the common man who has to show their patriotism, isnt it??!!
    anyways, whether cricket, cinema,politics, internal affairs, diplomacy, pakistan isnt really doing good in anything these days, is it?? sometimes, its becomes so depressing that its better to turn on bollywood music to soothe ones nerves after a stressful day.

  10. June 9, 2009 9:19 am

    I think this format Always works as for as time shortage and globally situation is concerned. Hunger for wealth have already shortened the things around so i can say its a good way to entertain oneself

  11. June 10, 2009 5:29 am

    I think in coming year we should spend more money on Football except Cricket.

    Or Hockey is another alternate so v have to adopt Football or any other game except Cricket.

  12. June 10, 2009 11:34 am

    I didnt know about Capt Omer’s shahaadat. I’m at a loss of words……😦

  13. July 15, 2009 9:07 pm

    Format changed scenario changed. We are again back to our losing habit🙂 Well i am talking about recent PAK V/S SRI test series hoping we ‘ll do good in one days if not there is a T20🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      July 17, 2009 8:25 pm

      I know😀
      And amazingly no one is bothered about that loss👿

Leave a Reply

