Skip to content

Entreaty by Ghani Khan

May 30, 2009

 

I do not need your red sculpted lips,
Nor hair in loops like a serpent’s coils,
Nor a nape as graceful as a swan’s,
Nor narcissus eyes full of drunkenness,
Nor teeth as perfect as pearls of heaven,
Nor cheeks ruddy and full as pomegranates,
Nor a voice mellifluous as a sarinda,
Nor a figure as elegant as a poplar,
But show me just this one thing, my love,
I seek a heart stained like a poppy flower –
Pearls by millions I would gladly cede,
For the sake of tears borne of love and grief.
ghanikhanI do not need your red sculpted lips,
Nor hair in loops like a serpent’s coils,
Nor a nape as graceful as a swan’s,
Nor narcissus eyes full of drunkenness,
Nor teeth as perfect as pearls of heaven,
Nor cheeks ruddy and full as pomegranates,
Nor a voice mellifluous as a sarinda,
Nor a figure as elegant as a poplar,
But show me just this one thing, my love,
I seek a heart stained like a poppy flower –
Pearls by millions I would gladly cede,
For the sake of tears borne of love and grief
12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 3:29 pm

    Immense!!!

    Loved Ghani Khan featuring on your blog! 🙂

    A very impressive trans-creation!
    Is it yours?

  2. bmk permalink
    June 1, 2009 5:31 am

    at times, I doubt if this man really belonged to this family.

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 7, 2009 1:52 pm

      My father says he was very different from his father and brothers.

  3. June 2, 2009 5:19 pm

    beautiful beautiful words. i ve never known this poet before. thanks for sharing ! 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 7, 2009 1:53 pm

      He was Pushto’s famous poet and intellectual and was Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan’s son.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    June 8, 2009 8:31 am

    Ok weird thing no infinity, I LOVE Ghani khan too,

    Thanks for the sharing, I think this one is one of my favourites, although i strongly believe that like any other poetry, pukhtu otery loses its flavour COMPLETELY when translated

    za khapa ye khwa la laram ma wi Ah! zama pashaan
    ta hum khcule badnaseeba rwak da zulf da janaan

    turns into:

    Sadly, I approached and sighed, “Ah! Of my kind
    Are you too – a hapless flower from a beloved’s hair.

    the substance almost disppears..

    I lvoe that whole poem in general the Poppy Flower

    da raday gul

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 8, 2009 3:09 pm

      That’s true translation often kills the essence of the poem. But then I can see your Pushto is much better than mine. I have to rely on English translations besides the original text to understand it fully 🙂

  5. Bakhtiar Safi permalink
    June 21, 2009 4:30 am

    Grani Salamona, I am also good in Trans. let me know if you need my hand.

    regards

  6. kashif permalink
    August 2, 2009 6:56 am

    Mujhay bhut khushy ho we.Ghani khan baba mayra pasand deda shair tay.woh hamesha zinda rahay ga ham saray puhtoonu may.
    Kashif Anwar
    Australia Brisbane
    Griffith University

  7. F KHAN permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:06 am

    MERI DUWA HAI AP KO

  8. February 8, 2010 8:53 am

    i love philosophy,,,,,,, of ghnai khan baba …. i listen all of poems of ghani khan as a sardar ali takkar,,,

    da da shunde shunde na di armanoona de masti de yawa patta mehana wee pa har sazz k wee toffan,,,day nazek niyazbeen jahan k domra toor woo dranoo grunna a da srro gulabo sangay sta ho laray day hazan,,, nore shell parday day pregda da da gum parda krra laray chey handa rashi gulshen ta chay rohana shee jahan,, woose ta naye da butt buth wenza sta pa stergo ka ranna da ta saqi ye ta sahrab ye ta humar ye ta janan,,,,,,,, i have a bundel of information about ghani khan,,,,,,,,

Leave a Reply

