Skip to content

Animal Farm

May 28, 2009

theanimalfarmI was trying to read the book but the cheap double print caused me headache. Who suggested me to buy the pirated book? Ok, I admit no one did. It was my mistake to buy the 30 Rs. pirated version. I should better stick to the original books no matter how costly they are.

Actually I am not fond of pirated books it is that sometimes even the big bookstores don’t have the original ones so they present the pirated books. I remember when I was buying this book a few months back, there wasn’t the original one. And since it was so cheap in price so I thought to buy it.

This reminds me a totally unrelated incident. Once I walked into a big bookstore (I won’t name it), took out a list of books from my hand bag and looked around. I spotted a man in shalwar kameez  standing next to a book shelf staring at me. From his overall look he looked like one of the workers in the shop so I forwarded the list to him and asked, do you have these books? He smiled sheepisly and said I don’t work here. Well, well that was such a blonde moment but nevermind happens once in a while 🙂

I think the men (here) in the bookstores should wear some sort of uniform so that the customers could identify them. 

So are you people reading any book these days that you’d like to share?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. P.S. permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:37 pm

    So you didn’t read the book after all?

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:27 pm

      Nope I didn’t because I couldn’t. I should have pity on my eyes 🙂

  2. May 29, 2009 3:40 am

    Uniform might be too big a deal for the shop owners to provide …I always wish the shop employees may just wear a badge with the name of shop on it.

    It is really very annoying to try to keep guessing who is who in a shop. And at times it so happens that one of the shop guys is standing right next to you but you continue looking for someone who can help.And although that guy understands pretty well whom you are looking for, he remains quite until you go ahead and actually ask him, ” aap yahan hotay hain?” They don’t step ahead themselves because they are underpaid, over worked, mistreated and thus demotivated by now.

    As for the bad print of the books, there is a way in between the original version and the one that sells for as low as 30: a book that won’t be original but would still be quite good in printing quality and would cost between 100 and 200.

    READINGS on the Gulburg main boulevard is one place that a book lover must visit in Lahore.

    Excessive time spent on the Internet has sadly affected my pace of reading books 😦

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:26 pm

      The idea of wearing badge isn’t bad at all and I am sure that would save the customers from pain.

      I totally relate to the last part. I think I don’t read much because most of my time is consumed by the internet 😦

  3. May 29, 2009 11:29 am

    aaaahhh i hate the piracy print

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:26 pm

      Me too!

  4. May 29, 2009 1:04 pm

    I agree with Americanising Desi; I also hate the piracy prints. I think it’s always better to buy an original. It’s an investment that pays off in the end !

    As for Animal Farm, it’s an intriguing read throughout. I like it because of its allegorical style and for Orwell’s satire on class previliges and political lies that infest the politics even today. I think you must finish reading it…and that means you ve to buy a newer copy of the book ! 🙂

    If you have an interest in literature, I suggest you try reading Joyce’s <emUlysses if you haven’t read it already. Also, I remember you remarked about Marquez’s ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’ on my blog. I suggest you read Mario Vargas Llosa for a change. I like his style. And I have another suggestion too > read Calvino’s ‘If on a Winter’s Night A Traveller’ — one of the best novel’s I ‘ve read todate, you’ll love it because it is written in a very different style and is based on a ‘novel’ idea.

    Even if you can not find some of those books in a bookstore, you can always find an etext (in case of older books because the copy rights ve already expired). I can email you Ulysses in pdf format, for example, if you want it.

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 29, 2009 11:30 pm

      I’ve made a note of your recommendations. (Thank you) Mail me the pdf file. I’ll give it a try although I am not a fan of e-books at all. I love paper and print 🙂

  5. May 30, 2009 11:08 pm

    i didnt like the book much

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 31, 2009 11:55 am

      I think I’ll like it 😛

  6. P.S. permalink
    May 31, 2009 7:45 pm

    Its great, you should read it.

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 7, 2009 1:49 pm

      Yes, I will.

  7. June 1, 2009 9:24 am

    I’ve read ‘Animal Farm’ in my B.A. it’s in our course of English Literature.

    I simply can’t read books but once my teacher suggest me a book to read, after that I’ve started reading books. Not everyone’s books but especially that Authors book. He just says what I always think of, exactly like my nature, his books are mostly on ‘fulfilling your dreams at every cost whether it goes against society’.

    Author name is ‘Paulo Coelho’ and the first book I read of him was ‘The Alchemist’

    Then ‘Victoria decides to die’ is also a nice book by same Author and I haven’t got his last book yet which is published in April ‘The Winner Stands Alone’

    For daily dose read his blog http://paulocoelhoblog.com/

    • Ayesha permalink
      June 7, 2009 1:50 pm

      I’ve read some of Paulo Coelho’s books. They were really interesting. It is I think ‘Veronica decides to die’ which I have to read.

      I know about his blog and I often visit it 🙂

Leave a Reply

