Skip to content

We Change

May 14, 2009

We change over the course of time. I am no exception. Like just three years ago I would watch movies religiously. There wasn’t a single movie that I had missed. Yes, even the B and C grade movies would entertain me. And now I don’t care much even if the movie is starring one of the top Khans or is a huge success. I watch it just by the way and mostly online.

Chameli
I remember I was so excited about Chameli’s (the movie) release that I phoned Shabana Video (now Bilal Video) in Nishterabad a number of times to know when the movie would reach the local market. By the way, it is one of my favorite movies even today and I must have watched it ten times.

I would buy two film magazines a month and read every article, interview, each piece of news and gossip about the actors. When the internet came to my home I started visiting film and trade websites. I had become a walking, talking movie encyclopedia so much so that the amount of info I knew would amaze me.

Now when I look back at those times I marveled at the intensity of my interest. I am glad that I didn’t curb my desire to buy/collect and watch movies and magazines at that time because with time when the number of responsibilities and worries grow we distance from things that pleased us at one time.

Life’s become so entangled that I know I would never be able to regain the same sort of passion for these things at least. It will only remain alive in my memory and journals now.

movie-collection

PS: I opened the drawer after such a long time to take the picture and it astonished me that I have some really junk movies in my collection as well 😕

These are basically video CDs.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 3:50 am

    This is what we call personality development. But not everyone is blessed with such intellectual progress.

    It is a good thing to get to outgrow some of our interests and pastimes over a period of time.

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:22 pm

      I agree!

      Though I had never imagined I’d outgrow such interests ever 🙂

  2. May 15, 2009 8:37 pm

    So they on sale?:P

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:22 pm

      Someone already asked for it 😛

      I think I only know how to spend 😀

  3. May 18, 2009 3:52 pm

    ahh the passions 🙂 I laugh at myself sometimes when I see my slam book 😀

    btw I can see “may madhuri dixit banana chahti hoon” in there too 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:24 pm

      I never had a slam book 🙂

      LOL @ Main Madhuri… You might notice many other junk movies too.

      I liked / still like ‘Pinjar’ and some others.

    • May 18, 2009 10:18 pm

      what a reminder .. I absolutely loved Pinjar and its sweet melodies too 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 19, 2009 1:20 pm

      Yeah awesome soundtrack… lyrics by Gulzar 🙂

  4. bmk permalink
    May 26, 2009 12:09 pm

    One of my fav. movies as well. pretty engaging. I like very few films by Kareena Kapoor, Chameli being the first & then Jab We Met, bas.

    Jaane Kyun (song) is meldious…

    buying CDs is such a waste of qeemti budget. Milk shakes, Burger, chips etc are much better options. Movies & songs tau muft mein mil jaatay hain from friends. Hamaray wing mein, only one person would pay for any new release. baaqi sab muft mein dekhtay thay, copy kar K. Perhaps, You need to improve your PR in muhalla. 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 28, 2009 10:53 am

      Our mohallah isn’t the typical one. I don’t even know who lives next to us 😛

  5. May 28, 2009 8:44 am

    yep, its really a wonderful art movie

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 28, 2009 10:54 am

      I thought you guys would’ve hated Chameli. I am glad so many people here have a good taste 🙂

  6. Anonymous permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:30 am

    Hey..if u don’t mind, i would like to ask you that:

    how do u read those Hindi lines/signboards or some other scripts which they show sometimes in these movies..
    for instance: the railway station mentioned as “Ramgarh” in “Sholay”

    I may sound stupid by asking this question..but i would really like to know that !! 🙂

    • March 2, 2010 6:04 pm

      We can’t read such sings etc. unless it’s been translated in the (English) subtitles 🙂

      The rest of the language when spoken is pretty understandable even the Sanskrit words too! Thanks to StarPlus soaps! 😛

Leave a Reply

