Skip to content

I am thinking

May 14, 2009

It’s getting so hot here wonder how those IDPs will be putting up in tents? Given the fact that they are from the cold areas.

I am sort of running away from the reality since it bites. We are taking good care of our guests but they are so considerate that they don’t allow us to turn on A/C for them. They think our electricity bill will shoot up. Today the auntie was asking me if there was any news of ceasefire, I told her unfortunately ceasefire isn’t in the offing.

She called up her husband in the morning who told her that last night they couldn’t sleep because of the heavy shelling that continued all night.

I had never imagined that those areas would become a war zone one day. This region was always peaceful and there were a number of private English medium educational institutes in Swat and people would send their children for better education over there – more or less like Murree convent.

When I see this situation I think what if in a year or two Peshawar also become a war zone. Because militancy is something that can’t be crushed in a month. It takes years to wipe out the miscreants and such elements.

Some people say that is the genocide of Pukhtoons. Is it? Or this is just another political statement?

Our guests await their return to homes I wish the war ends soon and they get back to their homes and inhabit the deserted villages and towns once again.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 3:44 am

    I really wish and pray these displaced people can get backto their homes as early as possible.

    While visiting those beautiful parts of Pakistan, I also found that these people are not rash and aggressive. I found them calm, polite and helpful.

    A few days ago a gentleman from Swat called me. I had met him in Saidu Shareef PTDC 5 years ago.

    He was telling me that his family members have left the place to seek refuge in Nowshehra and other towns.His voice was clearly reflecting deep pain. He asked me to hear the sound of weapons being fired near his house. That deadly sound was clearly audible on the phone line.

    From what I have understood so far, yes, this seems quite credible that this is a planned genocide of Pakhtoons 😦

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:23 pm

      Hope things improve. There is still curfew and the military hasn’t given green signal for the return yet.

  2. May 15, 2009 5:28 am

    A very sorry situation, indeed. My heart aches when I see the well off people of Swat turning to beggars. Most of them were hosts of the tourists visiting the erstwhile heavenly valley and its so ironic that that are left to seek refuge in the hellish hot camps in Mardan and its suburbs.

    I’m clueless what to think of the future! 😦

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:26 pm

      I’m also clueless 😕

  3. May 15, 2009 8:33 pm

    Lets hope soon inshAllah they all can go back to their places.

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 18, 2009 7:26 pm

      Yes, fingers crossed!

  4. May 16, 2009 12:45 pm

    genocide of Pukhtoons ?
    & then this comment saying it’s a planned genocide of Pukhtoons??
    well Ayesha, I am only hoping you will let my comment stay here.
    Firstly, I AM NOT A NATIONALIST (& I DO ACTUALLY HATE ‘EM WHO ARE).
    Secondly, I want to ask bigtugboat — whoever he/she is — if you ve ever been into a combat zone? Have you ever been to where this fighting is actually taking place? Any personal losses?
    I’ve a few dear sire/ma’am. I wish I could narrate to you a few wonderful accounts here but I can’t.
    Thirdly, What high sounding terms would you use for those who get KILLED & SLAUGHTERED while they are fighting this war — I mean people other than Pukhtoons? And what would you call those Pukhtoons who are a part of the institution fighting it? Those Pukhtoons are also probably part of this PLANNED genocide, eh? Oh what a revelation.
    Fourthly, if you can NOT MAKE A RESPONSIBLE STATEMENT in this time of chaos, you BETTER STAY SHUT !!

  5. May 16, 2009 12:53 pm

    I remember, when I landed in FATA for an attachment period I was quite upset myself, not knowing if what we were gonna do there was right or wrong. And I remember being recieved by a senior (who happened to be a Pukhtoon) at our HQ. The first thing he told me was this >> You better get over this frustration of yours and do the locals some service while you can.
    This senior I’m talking about belonged to para chinar in case you’re wonderig where he came from to have made such a statement.

    ps: It’s been quite a while since I returned from there & I ve NO GUILT. I saw things for myself and knew whatever we were doing there was justified and in the best interest of the locals as well as the country we live in.

    Thank you !!!

  6. May 17, 2009 8:29 am

    🙂

  7. Amna permalink
    May 22, 2009 4:47 am

    As your fellow Pakistani, I want to thank you for hosting your relatives over at your place and for providing them the comfort and security of your house. I think it is important to understand how much the on-going fighting has affected these people and how radically their lives have changed and in such a short span of time. It is absolutely crucial that as their fellow countrymen, we extend our brothers and sisters from Swat all the help we can at their hour of need. News comes daily of foreign aid for them, but I find it difficult to believe that any little portion of it will ever make it past our greedy leaders’ pockets. At this time it is only the people who have to come forward, and take the financial responsibility for the internally displaced. It would be the least we could do to ease their suffering and trauma which after all is of our own making.

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 28, 2009 10:55 am

      Thank you Amna! And I share the same concern. The foreign and local aid comes in abundance but I believe it’s been abused.

  8. May 28, 2009 8:47 am

    I personally visited a camp nearby sawabi and believe me the situation is really really bad. Lack of food, fans, medicine, doctors, tents,…
    ppl are in really bad situation. may there be a way that aid reaches the right ppl

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 28, 2009 10:58 am

      I know the local Urdu paper every day carries articles about the plight of IDPs and the situation in those camps. I hope the conflict ends soon so they could return to their homes.

Leave a Reply

