Skip to content

A Piece of Tin

May 4, 2009

rain

It was a piece of rusted tin, originally white in color, used to cover the back of AC. Whenever the rain would start to fall the entire tin would come to life with the pattering raindrops. Many a times, sound asleep, I would wake up hearing the falling rain drops. At that time my imagination would take me to the soaked streets of London – resounding with the horses’ hoofs. I had watched that scene several times in the Sherlock Holmes series. That sound of pouring raindrops on the tin shed would also take me to Nathiagali and those small huts with tilted tin roofs.

The tin piece – that had unintentionally become so dear to me has gone. Times have been changed, the told AC had to be replaced, the tin shed wasn’t needed any longer and now when the rain hugs the thirsty ground at night – I don’t wake up from the slumber with a smile, thinking that… it’s raining!

Photo from: Flickr/Google images

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 9:21 am

    Bichara tin…

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 5, 2009 11:52 am

      Yeah!

      *Sigh*

  2. Asma Ahsan permalink
    May 5, 2009 5:08 pm

    Dekho na – Tauqeer ka dil kitna naram hai. 😛

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 7, 2009 3:27 pm

      No one is feeling for me… I have lost that tin 😉

  3. May 6, 2009 5:43 am

    Ji Asma…aap to janti hi hain mjhey 😎

  4. May 7, 2009 4:50 pm

    ur post takes me to Murree and Nathia Gali too .. I can even smell the sweet smell of pine here 🙂

    • Ayesha permalink
      May 9, 2009 12:55 pm

      I miss that place 🙂

Leave a Reply

