Skip to content

Day Light Saving

April 9, 2009

I simply hate it! This time the clocks will advance one hour from the 15th of this month.

Can someone elaborate how it helps save electricity in Pakistan? 😈

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 3:59 pm

    Saving electricity through DST in Pakistan seems like a grand illusion to me 🙂

    acha waisey why do you hate this advancing of clocks? Please, if you can, elaborate how this annoys us in day to day life.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:34 pm

    This one hour advancement of clocks kicks off confusion in my mind as I always think it’s actually 9:00 AM instead of 10:00 😛

  3. Ayesha permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:34 pm

    It’s so boring don’t ask! 😀

  4. April 10, 2009 4:18 am

    I hate it for I’ll have to wake an hour earlier than routine and I know I won’t go to bed an hour earlier than routine due to my roommates late night tv addiction. To the decision won’t save that much electricity but will surely increase peoples’ frustration.

  5. bmk permalink
    April 10, 2009 6:58 am

    I didn’t change my own clock & cell phone timing last year. Don’t intend to change as I get confuse w.r.t namaz timings particularly.

    Also while booking tickets or finalizing some event, I have to confirm always about , naya time or purana time. 🙂

  6. bmk permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:01 am

    Vazir-e-bijli O’ pani or ittelaa’t think that we ‘l save 450 MW power by DL saving…

    How, maybe factories & such units close early … though sochnay vali baat is that k chalaingay tau close hongay na…

  7. bmk permalink
    April 10, 2009 7:01 am

    offices & so on…

  8. Ijaz permalink
    April 10, 2009 11:14 am

    In my opinion our government lives in fools paradise. If it is so easy to save electricity in this way then shouldn`t our government advance clocks by 4-5 hours to get rid of load shading altogether?

  9. Ayesha permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:30 pm

    Aadil: I agree!

    BMK: I too don’t change my clocks except for the wrist watch that I often forget to wear 😛

    Yeah even the obituary in Urdu newspaper say that the funeral would be held at 10:00 (purana time)…

    That saving electricity slogan sounds very bogus. Last year when we were following daylight saving we were having the worst load shedding too. So how could it save electricity.

  10. Ayesha permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    Ijaz: That makes sense 🙂

  11. April 10, 2009 4:08 pm

    its not to save electricity but to make the day longer in a sense,

  12. April 12, 2009 5:32 am

    Dont know about you, but I like it when I get back home from work with the sun out 🙂

  13. д§mд permalink
    April 28, 2009 11:49 am

    Well it was a great advantage for office goers at least .. you return to your homes in day light 🙂 So the happy spirit lives :>

Leave a Reply

