Skip to content

I am not a kite runner yet…

April 5, 2009

From February to May end people like to fly kites here. I remember, when I was a kid I used to find kites stuck in the trees and branches. Sometimes it would be easily retrievable at times it would tear off. Very rarely the floating, dangling kite would land in our lawn.

The same thing happened (after a real long time) not once but twice yesterday. In the afternoon, I saw a flowing, wavy kite in the sky and then all of a sudden it fell into our lawn. The wind direction was such. It had ample red color, crisp thread too.

kite

Then a few hours later another kite came down in other part of our house. That one was green in color and had green thread.

The kids (not mine – relatives’) had fun yesterday when I gave them the kites. They were runing all around, trying to fly them.

I miss flying kites 😦

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 6:50 pm

    The title of this post reminds me of that movie once again.
    I have yet to see the movie in full.I think I should complete the viewing one of these days:)

  2. bmk permalink
    April 6, 2009 4:41 am

    This one’s a pretty kite. I just love the scene when it’s cut & floats in the air… like that feather in Forest Gump.

    They have no ban on Kite Flying in Peshawar? Theek hay vaisay as people there are not mad about it like here in Lahore. I haven’t heard about any incident as well.

    Also, thanks for clarification about the kids. πŸ˜›

  3. Ayesha permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:46 am

    BTB: I have read the book. I think the book is better than the movie. I haven’t watched the movie though πŸ˜›

    BMK: Yeah me too and I invariably looks up in the sky trying to figure where will it go. The kite flying isn’t banned in Peshawar.

    Is that true that people in Lahore use metal wires to fly the kites? If so then these wires cause the maximum damage than anything else.

  4. April 6, 2009 10:57 am

    I’ve got an incomplete poem with me, inspired by the soaring, dipping, diving kites but am not been able to complete it which is a frustrating thing. 😦

    In my hometown there too is quite an atmosphere these days in evenings when the sky is full of the colorful kites. I enjoy having a ramble on the rooftop amid the craziest of children my cousins are πŸ™‚

  5. Ayesha permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:20 am

    I know how it feels πŸ˜• but I am sure you’d be able to complete it soon.

    Yeah… kite flying is so much fun especially when there are kids around πŸ˜›

  6. bmk permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:50 am

    Yahi tau reason hay, metal wires. The old traditional thread had limited strength but metal wires & certain type of chemical-ed thread being used lately…. LESCO is also upto here with these metal wires as they short the transmission & distribution lines…

    I personally am not against kite flying if it’s done the traditional way. It had been happening for quite sometime & it used to be real fun around basant in Lahore.

    I am told that the fine & very light metal wire is taken from old motorcycles Tyre after burning them.

  7. April 6, 2009 6:12 pm

    @bigtugboat
    Kite Runner is an awesome watch. Loved the kite flying scenes. Perhaps those scenes are the all time best when it comes to showcasing a flying kite. It looked so real. You feel like a kite yourself, glued, sensing air. WOW!

    @bmk
    People are mad about kites here. Well, technically, they used to be. πŸ˜› Time has changed everything. I remember my cousins and neighbors were pro gudee baaz. I was all mad about kites once. Great memories. Tension free πŸ™‚
    Use of metal wires is really really bad.

    @Ayesha
    Never passed the 50 pages mark. Though it was not bad.

  8. Ayesha permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:20 pm

    BMK: That was very informative. Damn these people… they kill others for their pleasure. πŸ˜•

    Bilish: I believe the movie would be depressing. Am I right?

  9. April 8, 2009 5:43 pm

    @Ayesha For a movie shot in 3 countries, i.e., Pakistan, Afghanistan and US, it was a very good effort. Engaging, brutal and entertaining.

  10. Ayesha permalink
    April 9, 2009 11:18 am

    I might watch it but I try to stay away from ‘brutality’ these days… πŸ™‚

  11. April 10, 2009 4:06 pm

    they keep landing in ur house
    how is big is ur house? lol

  12. April 11, 2009 4:12 am

    I’d do the same πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

