Skip to content

Paint Me Green

March 15, 2009

Note: That is one of my old posts. I wrote that on 14th of August last year for one of the websites. I am posting it here for my record.I hope and pray our country find it’s way out of the crisis.

Pakistan FlagI am obsessed with green. I adore white star and the crescent. Perhaps I am also one of those who vehemently criticize every negative thing about Pakistan but still somewhere I love this country a lot. I grew up here – where my ancestors lived. How can I dislike the country in whose lap my ancestors are sleeping the sweet eternal sleep?

I remember mom used to say with teary eyes (upon seen the scenes of destruction) it takes ages to develop a country and minutes to destroy everything. She loved the country as much as she loved me. At the time of partition she was too young but was one of those fortunate people who didn’t have to migrate. Her neighborhood was mostly inhabited by Hindus. Though they would live peacefully but in the wake of partition almost all of them migrated to India; so did their next wall neighbors. They left everything behind – the house, he didn’t get a chance to sell off, money – expensive items everything. My nana jee had ordered his domestic helps not to break into the abandoned house, whose knows, he said, they might come back… and it’s incumbent upon as to guard their belongings.

I often think is the feeling of patriotism innate or can be learned from others – from the environment. If the later is true then I sure have got this sense from not only my parents but from the books I read in my childhood and the way Independence Day would be celebrated with national unity and fervor. I would also like to decorate the walls with small paper flags. Big (fabric) flag would be hoisted on the roof. When it would flutter – I would feel an immense sense of pride to be a Pakistani.

Now that I have grown up, I don’t celebrate it the same way but as John F Kennedy had said, “Ask not what your country has given to you. Ask what you have given to your country.”

My country has given me an identity, the sense of freedom, abundance of resources and a chance to study in the best of institutions. I can’t ask for more but what have I given to my country. Nothing! I have a long way to go before I’d be able to pay back but yes, I have never snatched, looted, plundered the resources. I have never stolen anything that belongs to people, to all of us. I never will. This is a commitment to myself and to this country.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 11:48 am

    Awesome …

    very well written …

    we have almost the same saying here …
    rang de basanti … color me saffron … 🙂 !!

  2. Ayesha permalink
    March 22, 2009 3:23 pm

    Thank you so much!

    I see… ‘color me saffron’ cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

