Skip to content

Geo News

March 15, 2009

Can any of you living in Pakistan, watch Geo News on cable? I read a couple of days ago they blocked the news channels and Sherry Rehman resigned in protest. Well, my extension power line for TV isn’t working so I am really out of touch. Honestly, I don’t want to watch TV these days anyway. Because I tune into entertainment channel but end up watching Pakistani news channel and then get depressed.

Destruction, violence and chaos hurts too much. Our country is bleeding! 😦

Don’t know what tomorrow will bring? Huh, uncertainty rules!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2009 9:02 pm

    There’s no Geo, and yes, Sherry Rehman resigned from her post, perhaps out of embarrassment !
    Unfortunately, all we can do is pray…

  2. March 16, 2009 6:33 am

    First Geo was banned, then reopened and pushed to the last numbers on channel surfers so that people can’t figure out where it was.

    You’ve missed the real drama by not being able to switch on to our bubbling private news channels of late. It was both enthralling and depressing to see the events unfolding. Thank God, the climax was sort of very satisfying for the masses lest things would have been scary for the future of the country.

  3. bmk permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:50 am

    yes, u have just missed the fun… the show was not less than PK vs IND test match where things go down to the last over… bahut maza aaya… : )

    & Geo wasnt banned at my place… regarding number bhi, i found it on no.2 instead of usual #3. ulta asar hova tha hamaray cable operator pe, i gess.
    πŸ™‚

  4. March 16, 2009 10:10 am

    @ bmk .. Your cable operator, like the Punjab police refused revolted in favor of the Sharifs, it seems πŸ˜›

    What about the PTV? We switched on to it when the cable was shut down last evening and they were airing ghazals and all the usual stuff as though nothing important was going on in the country. One ought to watch PTV if one wants to escape from the reality on streets πŸ˜›

  5. bmk permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:21 am

    yes, lahore mein mian sb ki bahut chalti hay… : )

    i m still following the things… Check Hamid Mir now, tariq azeem ko liya hova hay…
    http://idesitv.com/geonews.php

    man, I just don’t understand how much I like the politicians being bistify by the hosts… : )

  6. bmk permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:29 am

    PTVnews… they sound so hilarious to me… the other day I just stopped to watch the news for fun… some 21 safeer were meeting Sadar… they were like

    flaan safeer aiwan e sadar pahuncay, guard of honor , chaaq o chauband daston ne paish kiya, ….

    2nd safeer aaya , same lines

    3rd aaya … same line again

    this went for 4/5 times before I switched the channel. πŸ™‚

    when i think about abu & older folks jo baRee betaabi se khabarnamay ka wait kartay thay… mujhay zehar lagta tha in childhood then… mujhay un par taras aa raha hay now k voh log PTV news ka wait kartay thay.. PTVnews. … πŸ™‚

    yes, I am huge fan of PTV drama…

  7. March 16, 2009 10:43 am

    Geo was just pushed to the farther end of the frequency band here. It is still there. Viewable but not clear.

  8. Ayesha permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:48 am

    I too did watch that ‘safeer meeting sadar’… It was so boring don’t ask. Well, watching PTV is a test of patience πŸ˜€

    I like watching movies but then my hands itch and I keep on flipping through the channels πŸ˜›

    I was hooked to Geo Audio last night for pal pal ki khabrain.

    I think they should resume the Geo News channel now. Things seem to be settling down.

  9. March 16, 2009 12:29 pm

    The Geo News Channel was resumed immediately after the haitus of a few hours, I guess.
    I forgot to mention the rise of ‘Dunya News’. What a refreshing channel that is! The italicized word is for bmk to ponder πŸ˜‰

  10. Ayesha permalink
    March 16, 2009 12:35 pm

    Dunya News??? Are you sure… never heard of that. πŸ˜€

  11. March 16, 2009 12:55 pm

    Yep, thats such a rising channel! Go surf it and you might like it.

  12. Ayesha permalink
    March 16, 2009 1:26 pm

    Will look for that!

  13. bmk permalink
    March 16, 2009 1:59 pm

    opti man, as I also told earlier that some FM channel interferes with Dunya News at my place, disturbing the audio. Therefore, I am mehroom to watch it. The people πŸ˜‰ in there seems pakkay lahori. I have friends who work for Dunya News, so un k afas ka chakkar lagta rehta hay. I get to see the things super- Live. πŸ˜‰ The studio they show when the news are over, is fantabulous.
    Did I tell that Sana Mirza had also accepted a position in dunya news which is owned by Mian Amir Mehmood – Lahore Nazim -e- Ala. Its a very tagRa group & they were offering her 350 thousand plus Honda Civic & Ghar etc. remember jab woh kuch arsay k liye ghaayab thee. But she made a wise decision to go back to GEO even before dunya’s launching. Javed Iqbal is back to Geo now. Few of GEO older team are still there including Aasma Choudry. I liked her, intervieving Salman Taseer, the other day.

    Regarding it being rising & good, i think it will take some time, provided the staff also remains there that they have higher ed at 2X/3X as compared to the market.

  14. March 17, 2009 4:13 am

    I quite agree to the Aasma Choudhry bit. She’s got an aura of charm to her persona; a smiling face giving sweet blows to the people she interviews πŸ˜‰

  15. Ayesha permalink
    March 17, 2009 2:08 pm

    Aasma Chaudhry? πŸ™„

    I should watch this channel too πŸ˜›

  16. RaiulBaztepo permalink
    March 29, 2009 12:24 am

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language πŸ˜‰
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  17. April 8, 2009 12:15 am

    Hello !! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you:)
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

Leave a Reply

