Skip to content

Emoticons

February 11, 2009

yahooemoticonsed1I had started using internet around 1998-99. Naturally being curious the first thing I did was to join the Yahoo chat rooms to interact with myriad of people from across the globe.

It took me sometime to getting used to the chat and net lingo such as “a/s/l”. I would get too many PMs asking me this direct question. While I had no idea as to what on earth that meant. Slowly and gradually I learned the things related to net chatting like the meaning of “a/s/l”,  “LoL”, the outrageous use of the letter “Z” with the words ending in “S” etc.

It was during chat I saw emoticons the first time. I was chatting with an American teenager so I asked him how he made these smileys. At that time PM windows used to be basic with very limited features. So as much as I remember there wasn’t any emoticon tab.

Emoticons are something I use a lot. In the cyber world where the entire communication is carried out through typed words; intent, meaning and tone could easily be misunderstood. These emoticons help understand the message in a better way. Especially if you are bent on pulling someone’s leg, you’ve got to use emoticons or else get ready for the consequences. 😛

Sometime back I noticed that Gmail has also introduced two different sets of emoticons.

I want to know one thing. How can you type this :l I mean it’s the simple line but I don’t know how to type it. Anyone know about it:?:

PS: You can check it in the image next to “rolling eyes”.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 7:07 pm

    Please type the usual bracket ) to type the line as seen in “rolling eyes” in the image.

    8 – ) would make rolling eyes 😎

  2. Ayesha permalink
    February 12, 2009 7:34 pm

    😎

    Thanks!

  3. Goonga permalink
    February 13, 2009 2:04 pm

    In case of rolling eyes, BTB is right but in some cases this is not same as 🙂 & 😐
    I think you wanted to ask about rolling eyes only otherwise you could type all the keyboard to find which key pressed bar line 🙂

  4. Goonga permalink
    February 13, 2009 2:08 pm

    Recently a couple of friends happened to use IMs after a long time and they were amazed with usage of Audibles. Hope you like the Hindi & Punjabi audibles on Yahoo IM. They are real fun sometimes:
    “tainu is din layi paal pos ke wada kita si!!”

    “bolo bolo, tell tell helloo…ki kiya………?”

  5. kashkin permalink
    February 13, 2009 4:06 pm

    Punjabi audibles on Yahoo IM. They are real fun sometimes:
    “tainu is din layi paal pos ke wada kita si!!”

    “bolo bolo, tell tell helloo…ki kiya………?”

    klassics

  6. bmk permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:05 am

    Yahoo msngr is a heavy application. I feel like it engages half of the PC’s resources so it had never been a first choice. But it would work for a good back-up when MSN, AOL at times IRC, wouldn’t connect.

  7. Ayesha permalink
    February 15, 2009 10:40 am

    G: Yes, I wanted to know how one can type bar that looks like that “I” 😕

    Anyway, it’s fine! Well I know about Yahoo audibles but I don’t like them 😛

    Though I must say some of those are really funny 😀

    BMK: I too have experienced problems with Yahoo messenger!

  8. February 15, 2009 5:42 pm

    rolling eyes is my favourite emoticon, I do it online as much as offline!

  9. February 16, 2009 12:33 pm

    ohh .. i so miss yahoo messenger … !! unfortunately can’t use it any more … 😦 why is every one obsessed with G-talk these day …

  10. Ayesha permalink
    February 16, 2009 1:35 pm

    HFM: Offline too?! 😛

    @nks: People think it’s simple and easy to use but I like windows live more 🙂

  11. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 23, 2009 5:07 am

    :l I think its a small L – not sure.

  12. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 23, 2009 5:08 am

    :/

  13. Ayesha permalink
    February 23, 2009 3:41 pm

    Nopes it isn’t small L 😛

    😐

  14. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 26, 2009 6:53 am

    I will ask Tauqeer – Its his favouurite smiley. 🙂 by the way, Tauqeer has 4 blogs. You should read them – very interesting stuff in there. 🙂

  15. Ayesha permalink
    March 12, 2009 9:02 pm

    Asma: I learnt is myself. It was right there but I never noticed it. The key up the ‘enter’ key which has ‘slash’ sign. You just have to press ‘shift’ and then hit it. This straight bar would appear 😛

    Check this:

    😐

  16. Asma Ahsan permalink
    March 13, 2009 11:21 am

    😐 Got it!

  17. August 26, 2009 1:57 pm

    Its called pipe sign and its that thing which makes life easier for a sw developer 😉

    Its the logical OR 😀

    • September 3, 2009 12:00 pm

      yah two pipes(||) create logical OR:)

  18. Gosh permalink
    September 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    Fucking hate rolling eye.

Leave a Reply

