Skip to content

I’ve Been Tagged! (5)

February 8, 2009

(Written for You’ve Been Tagged)

Tag 5: A Happy Memory

My childhood’s happiest memory is the time when I used to play with my brother. I’ve tried cricket, football, hockey, badminton, frisbee and basketball. But for these games I would invariably need someone to play and that someone would always be my brother.

There was, however, one activity for which I didn’t need anyone – and that was cycling. I’ve had three bicycles in my life till I stopped riding a bike (I am still ready but err… circumstances don’t permit). My first ever cycle, naturally, was a tricycle. Then I got another one, which had two small supporting tires attached on the sides. And finally I switched to BMX.

Buying BMX wasn’t an easy task. I had to work on my case before putting forth my request. So I sought my brother’s help for that and together we asked our father that my old bike was worn out and since I loved riding so I wanted a new bike. I promised him that cycling wouldn’t affect my studies at all. One fine day, we went to Saddar and bought that beautiful, red BMX. Bikes in general and BMX especially would be expensive even at that time. I was over the moon after having it.

We had ample space within our house. So I used to ride a bike on the driveway and in the evening lock it in the garage. I must have used it for 3-4 years before I stopped riding.

I would occasionally wash it and polish it with a car polish. And yes, our sweeper used to pump the tires. That is my most cherished childhood memory. And I really yearn to ride a bike again. It has to be the mountain bike this time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 9, 2009 12:56 pm

    Hey – Thanks for adding to the tag. I wish we had places in Pakistan where women could go and bike openly in a ground or a race track. I was also stopped from biking once I grew up.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    February 9, 2009 3:32 pm

    I wish too! 🙂

    I wasn’t being stopped as such as I would cycle within the house but I remember, laziness coupled with studies took away my habit.

  3. Cavaliere permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:21 am

    There ARE places in some cantonments for such adventures 🙂

  4. Ayesha permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:36 pm

    Cav: I too have heard so 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The 1st TAG AWARD! « Asma’s Blog
  2. The 1st TAG AWARD! « You’ve Been Tagged!!!

Leave a Reply

