Skip to content

Coffee shop market

February 5, 2009

I have no idea why it’s called coffee shop. I have never seen any shop or cafe selling coffee over there. This market instead has lots of stationary shops, shops selling fruits, vegetables and milk, and general stores. There is a Bata shoe store as well. Besides there would be a very fine Peshawari chappal maker. I don’t know if he’s still there.

If you go to the back side of the market you’d find shops selling lecture notes for Masters level, book binding and tailors.

coffee-shop-market2

In this photo, that I took last month, you can see an entrance. That wasn’t there a few years back. The designers have tried their best to keep the design in accordance with the old buildings of Islamia College hostels. But I don’t like this entrance. It gives the cramped feeling. After entering, on the right side there are several boy’s hostels. While on the left side there is a huge play ground.

Anyway, this is one of those areas where I’ve spent lots of time, not exactly on the roads but in the educational institution located close by.

PS: This photo actually doesn’t cover the coffee shop market. It’s adjacent to the bank on the right side (with a green signboard).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 7:19 am

    I too have some memories related to the place!
    Masters notes .. yep .. I still recommend the coffee shop market to those who are studying on their own.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    February 6, 2009 5:29 pm

    🙂

    Those notes were really helpful…

  3. bmk permalink
    February 7, 2009 1:51 pm

    As I also stated on my blog, I always thought of Copee-shop instead of coffee-shop whenever it would be mentioned. There are many Peshawari chappal stores & many folks I know are their permanent customers.
    We enter the market at the back side after evening walk so I don’t know also if that particular chappal store on front is still there. Wonder if we can upload pics in comments mode here. Here’s one I casually took on my last weekend visit to the place.
    [IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v112/Sanure/chappalstore.jpg[/IMG]

    They demolished the very old market few yrs. ago. It was right behind the customer call center to the right side. I spent few months with my brother in pesh. univ. He used to be in Hostel-1. That old market was our fav. to buy fresh meat & vegetables jab we would plan to cook ourselves upon friends visiting.

  4. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 8, 2009 12:07 am

    Hmm – Maybe it was originally called that in the pre partition days – Maybe there were some cafes here for the British that were demolished after the partition but the name stayed back. One should check its history. We have so many historical monuments and places in Pakistan that have been damaged and being misused – no sense of preserving history in Pakistan – that is the saddest part of all.

  5. Ayesha permalink
    February 8, 2009 7:19 pm

    BMK: Same here, I in fact discussed it with friends as to why that place is called a coffee shop and then I concluded that it must be “copy” shop for having numerous stationary shops 😛

    Yes, they did demolish.

    Asma: Nice point raised by you. I don’t know where to find the history of the Coffee shop market but I’d ask my father. Let’s see what he has to say about that! 🙂

  6. June 2, 2010 11:50 pm

    What necessary phrase… super, magnificent idea

Trackbacks

  1. Losing Weight…Yeah Right! » Blog Archive » Coffee Shop Market « Crossroads…

Leave a Reply

