Skip to content

1984

January 26, 2009
1984 By George Orwell

1984 By George Orwell

Yesterday I watched this much talked about movie based on the best-selling novel of the same title by George Orwell. The movie is slow but successfully encapsulates the main story.

The story is set in 1984 in London that is the capital of a country called Oceania. While the whole world comprises of three countries namely Eastasia, Eurasia and Oceania.

Oceania, the totalitarian country is led by a mysterious character known as Big Brother. In that society, thought process is completely forbidden and falling in love except with Big Brother is a crime while Winston Smith, the protagonist, commits both of them. He falls for a girl and together they dare to rebel.

One day Winston meets a man, O’Brian whom he misunderstands for a member of an underground rebel group called Brotherhood. O’Brian actually belongs to the Inner Party and that is a trap laid by him for Winston. After apprehension both Winston and Julia are sent to the Ministry of Love, which is kind of a rehabilitation center for the criminals accused of thought-crime.

There Winston is tortured and brainwashed until his beliefs coincide with those of the Party. He is later on released back into the society.

The story is very interesting and the movie gave me the creeps upon seeing the totalitarian society – under the constant monitoring of listening and viewing devices – the torture and brainwashing techniques and lastly the room 101.

I have got a fair idea as to what the story is about but I still long to read the novel. I might go for it!

Big Brother is Watching

Quotes: “War is peace, freedom is slavery, ignorance is strength.”

“You must love Big Brother. It is not enough to obey him; you must love him.”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 2:42 pm

    Well, I have read the book, I wrote about in those days when I had just started the blog: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2007/03/02/nineteen-eighty-four/

    But I never knew a movie existed. Thanks for writing about it!

  2. Ayesha permalink
    January 26, 2009 4:15 pm

    The movie is old actually it was released in 1984!

  3. January 26, 2009 7:07 pm

    It seems a good movie.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:22 pm

    A little slow but overall nice!

  5. January 27, 2009 5:18 am

    in my english class we are given choice to read novels and i chose this one but my teacher said sicne u are lazy u shouldnt chose this one she gave me an easy and small one i felt very bad at the moment but even at the end of the semester when i didnt finish the novel i thanked her for understanding me ……. and again felt bad for not understanding my self …… and rationally told my self that hey u did good in the tests based on that novel so dont worry ……

  6. Ayesha permalink
    January 27, 2009 12:51 pm

    When it comes to the school course, in my view, every novel seems dull and boring!🙄

  7. kashkin permalink
    January 30, 2009 2:16 am

    Ayesha,
    The book is much better than the film…my personal observation…..

    But definitely one of the finest novels and its theme…..

  8. Ayesha permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:35 pm

    I am sure it must be better. And I can’t wait to buy my copy!🙂

  9. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 30, 2009 10:30 pm

    Sounds interesting!

  10. bmk permalink
    January 31, 2009 12:50 am

    When it comes to the school course, in my view, every novel seems dull and boring!🙄

    Not every, I guess. I so very much liked PRISONER OF ZENDA & THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO.
    I wished the teacher had covered the whole something in one lecture, marathon one. ah Mercedes!!! : )

  11. CoolTechGuy permalink
    February 1, 2009 7:02 pm

    A must-see film.

  12. Ayesha permalink
    February 2, 2009 4:39 pm

    BMK: I adored “The Count of Monte Cristo” but I never enjoyed The Prisoner of Zenda.

    While I did like almost all the essays from the BA English book.

    CoolTechGuy: Za marah😀

  13. Asma Ahsan permalink
    February 4, 2009 5:00 am

    Prisoner of Zenda – Stewart Granger in the Hollywood make of that – Very strong actor.

    I was sad for the girl. She fell for a copy of the guy she was engaged to – but married the original – how sad is that?

  14. Ayesha permalink
    February 4, 2009 5:35 pm

    Have you read it?😛

    Oh, I don’t remember anything from the novel, not even the basic plot. The teachers didn’t do justice with it.😕

Leave a Reply

