Skip to content

Moleskine

January 17, 2009

 

Moleskine

Moleskine

There was time when I used to make wish lists and it would mostly comprise of gadgets. I don’t make wish lists now and if I do it is just to get over the feeling of having it. Like it helps me writing it down in a journal and then forgetting it. Someone recently offered me iPod shuffle (mini) and I turned it down. Today another wish found home in my heart. I really want to have Moleskine. It’s elegant and classy and it’s for 10 bucks and up. If I ask that someone he’d buy it for me. But why should I? I mean I don’t feel like asking anymore. So I thought to make a post about it maybe that helps me getting over my desire of having Moleskine.

History: Moleskine has an interesting history spanning over several decades. The lines below are taken from the official website

For two centuries now Moleskine (mol-a-skeen’-a) has been the legendary notebook of artists, writers, intellectuals and travelers. From gifted artists Henri Matisse (1869–1954) and Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890), to poet and leader of the surrealist movement André Breton (1896-1966) to Ernest Hemingway (1899-1961) considered the most influential writer of the last century, to famous travel writer Bruce Chatwin (1940-1989).

These notebooks have proven they can withstand the trials of travel and abuses that ensues from normal use. This is the one true trusted travel journal.

Yes, this time I don’t want any gadget. I only want to have this classic journal/notebook with plain and lined pages and want to jot down my thoughts in it. Although I don’t enjoy writing on paper much since my handwriting is all messy but still… I am sure it would be fun owning and writing in Moleskine.

PS: I am quite certain I wouldn’t find it here even in the largest bookstore.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 9:46 pm

    I think you can buy them in WHSmith here, I’ll look for you,if you like.
    I have a journal too, this year I bought it a little late so it felt like my life was void of meaning until I had one in my hands!I know the feeling you’re experiencing.

  2. January 18, 2009 3:47 am

    classy…
    a regular journal won’t do the job for you 😛
    though sometimes one is justified to treat her/himself with elegance…
    🙂

  3. January 18, 2009 8:24 am

    I have a couple lying around. Email me your postal address, will send you one. Once you get used to it. Nothing else will ever do.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:49 am

    hfm: Thanks I’ll manage it! 🙂

    Exquisite: Yeah if I bought a journal this time, it would be a Moleskine 😉

    Faisal: Thanks for the offer.

Leave a Reply

