Skip to content

Kabari Wala & Misha

January 12, 2009

I have no qualms in admitting the fact that kabari wala used to be my favorite person on the streets. When we were kids we would get limited pocket money. All of that would be spent on buying children magazines. We could hardly buy two or three magazines a month in our pocket money and we had become such a magazine junkie that after finishing them we wanted to buy more.

You know how difficult it is to take money from parents. Once they gave us the additional money but when we started asking for it eveything month they got alarmed for two reasons. First, they wanted us to be disciplined in our spending. Second, our magazine addiction was worrying for them because that meant poor grades in studies.

So after our failed attempts to get extra money from them we in our desperation came up with a plan. The kabari wala used to visit daily but we had never thought of selling junk before. Now as we needed money we roamed all over the house and first of all collected the old Urdu newspapers, oil tins, our useless copies from previous years etc. and sold them off for 20 odd Rs. That was our first earned money. We instantly bought two magazines and several other stories. And interestingly we got away from our parents countless queries too. I think they didn’t notice our adventure at all.

That was an amazing time! 🙂 

MISHA

MISHA

Among other magazines, in 80s an English magazine called MISHA used to publish from the (then) Soviet Union. At that time I (Yeah poor me) couldn’t read and understand English properly so I mainly used to enjoy illustrations. The magazine used to have folk tales, poems, stories and other articles. I still have some of the issues. With disintegration of USSR, the publication of MISHA stopped. These days I don’t see any English magazine for children on the newsstands.

MISHA (Back Cover)

MISHA (Back Cover)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 6:29 am

    said “Kabari wala” was the person, from him i got my nursery class’ “Qaida” back after many years. that’s the most precious treasure i own from my childhood

  2. Ayesha permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:45 am

    That’s very interesting! 😛

  3. January 13, 2009 11:51 am

    well I heard about this magazine “Misha” but never read one …. was lost in the amazing world of Raj Comics 😈 ….

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:13 pm

    Harsh: Comics would be so expensive here 😕
    My siblings used to read “Misha”. I was young to understand English at that time 😳

  5. January 13, 2009 3:51 pm

    sorry for unconcerned comment but wanted to drop a message about urdu fonts. please visit the Technical Assistance Page on my blog to have the best of the urdu fonts. and yes, they are really great

  6. д§mд permalink
    January 17, 2009 5:56 pm

    heheh … I remember going to Sunday market aka itwar bazar with ami to buy those 4 stories in one rupee deal 😉 All those Amr Ayyar and afrasiyab jadugar … or the archie comics 🙂

    I was the youngest so my other sibs had so many comics, stories stored in for me that for a long long time I just went through all of em .. memories 🙂

    Never heard bout misha in my younger years though …

  7. Ayesha permalink
    January 17, 2009 8:31 pm

    Yeah 4 ana and 8 ana stories! 🙂

    Misha discontinued long ago. I too wouldn’t have remembered it if I didn’t have found a few issues at home.

  8. Lemmy S permalink
    February 10, 2011 3:49 pm

    Oooooo… brings back lots of memories. My mum had a subscription for these Soviet mags and I still have quite a few of them lying in my attic; along with those old 80s stuff like Asterix, Tintin, Tinkle, Indrajaal Comics [The Phantom, Mandrake etc.], Manoj Chitra Katha and Amar Chitra kathas 🙂

Leave a Reply

