Skip to content

Of Superstitions

January 7, 2009

Imagine being caught in a situation where you run out of either pen or paper while thoughts storm your mind and you have no clue how to save them from fading away. When something strikes my mind such as an idea or a nice sentence I instantly write it down on the paper. Because it’s like a fleeting moment and I can hardly recall it later on.

During exams I always carry a loaded pencil case. But once I was stuck in a situation when my favorite pen stopped writing. I promptly searched for another pen and to my amazement it didn’t work either. That day I had to borrow a pen form some else. I felt so awful because that was so unlike me. I loathe borrowing stuff from others during paper.

If you are thinking that my ‘favorite’ pen was my lucky one too. You are totally wrong. I called it favorite because I felt comfortable writing with it. But I have seen many people who do carry their lucky pens, rulers and other items. There was a girl who kept using the same ink pot until she graduated from MBBS. She used to refill the pot but never discarded it. Then there was another who used to carry a bunch of pens that were being prayed on. Some pious woman (that she used to visit) would recite certain surahs on the pen. (Perhaps so that it never stop writing unlike my pen) 😛

pencil-case

Pencil case & my old pencil

I had bought a pencil case made of denim when I got admission in FA. I liked it so much because it was spacious as well as easy to carry. And although there was no superstition involved but I kept using it through out. I still have it and when I have to take an exam (that rarely happens though) I take it with me.

Besides that pencil case I have a pencil, a real old one. Like it’s with me for 11 years. I once visited my friend and she gave it to me. I used it during all my exams for drawing margin lines on the answer sheet as well as for filling the blanks on the question paper. Again I never thought it to be my lucky pencil but still it stayed with me perhaps because my (then) close buddy had gifted that to me.

I have another habit and that is to carry extra set of ruler, pencil, eraser and pens. I started doing so when once before the commencement of a paper a girl with prying eyes, sitting on my left was getting so restless and was looking here and there. Then her gazed fixed on me, I , while drawing margin lines on the answer sheet, looked suspiciously at her from the corner of my eyes. When I was done she immediately asked for my pencil and ruler. I had no other option so I gave them to her. She used them, the paper started off and I forgot. During paper when I got an extra sheet I needed my pencil and ruler. I searched for them and recalled that she had got them. I asked her while keeping my tone to whispers but still the invigilator heard it and scolded me for talking to her. I told her that I need my pencil and ruler back, she got them from the girl and handed me saying, “Why don’t you people bring your own stuff during exams?” The way she said that in an irritated tone pissed me off. From that day onwards I started taking extra pens and pencils with me. But amazingly no girl ever asked me these things again.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Cavaliere permalink
    January 7, 2009 9:49 pm

    I have a fountain pen with me that I bought ten years ago and I ve been using it for all the exams I ve appeared in since… 🙂
    My cell-phone is four years old; I ve kept the over-alls I wore at PMA and the pips I first wore on my shoulders.I actually ve a small box where I keep all these things — and I am not superstitious !! 🙂

  2. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:12 am

    i used to keep things once – not any more – Now I throw out anything or give it away if I am using it myself anymore.

  3. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:13 am

    if I am NOT using it myself any more… 😛

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:03 pm

    Cav: Hmm, so basically you have kept these things as memento 🙂

    AJ: I think I am also going your way but still there are certain things that I haven’t discarded like the pencil case (in the photo) 😛

  5. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:10 pm

    you have its pic now – keep that and the poor old thing – ghareebon ko de do! 🙂

  6. Ayesha permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:17 pm

    I will but if I couldn’t that would mean… I am also superstitious about it 😀

  7. Cavaliere permalink
    January 8, 2009 10:31 pm

    yep, i ve kept them as mementos from the Golden Days ..
    Kabhi kabhi nahi maanta jee kisi ko denay ko…to aisay mein apnay paas he rakh leni chahiyein 🙂

  8. Ash permalink
    January 9, 2009 1:45 am

    I faced the the same situation during my intermediate exams since then i used to keep an extra pencil. ruler, pointers(black/blue both:D),remover with me so if any one asked ..i handed him/her with this note ,, return me after the exam …:)
    In BS, scientific calculator widely took the place of all these but still i used to keep the same things in my stationary box (…burra waqat keh ker nahi ata:P) without adding extra calculator becoause i don’t want to look nerd by handling more than 1 calculator at a time….. 🙂

  9. Ayesha permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:46 am

    Cav: It’s absolutely fine 😛

    Ash: So I wasn’t the only one to do so? 😀

Leave a Reply

