Skip to content

The Poem Below

January 5, 2009

The poem below, “Defeated By Love” has been written by Maulana Rumi. It’s so simple yet very powerful. I like and understand simple poetry. Although I don’t call myself a poet at all but when I write the poem it’s based on the simple idea woven in words in an incomplex fashion.

For example this poem:

Like Pilar did in the story

I too want to

Sit by the river and weep

Till the clouds of sorrow

Hung on my eyes are washed away

I had written that poem a few months ago. Right now I want to write something poetical be it in the form of poem or prose but there are several knots in my mind and I have no clue how to undo them. And if you are wondering what I am talking about. That was the theme of one of my other poems. It goes something like that:

When the wisdom

Of your words

Opened the knots

Of my narrow vision

I am certainly missing my muse at the moment. A few random lines below. Bear with me because I am having severe sort of constipation of thoughts:

You like hamster I adore cats

You like sweet peanutbutter while I like salty

You like theater I like cinema

You like pink while I think pink stinks

Hope I am done with that phase soon!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 7:41 pm

    I think poetry is, at the core, simple. Otherwise, it is another form of writing.

  2. Ayesha permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:19 pm

    True!

  3. shobig permalink
    January 5, 2009 9:51 pm

    I am surprised to learn you have read ‘By the river Piedra I sat down and wept. Not many are aware of Paulo Coelho’s works in general, and this one in particular, in Pakistan. It’s not one of his best works though. I bought ‘Eleven Minutes’ yesterday. Haven’t started on it yet, so will save my remarks until I finish it, which will in all probability be some six months down the line, considering my current reading pace. πŸ˜€

    And yes, we do hope you get over this phase soon; so that you can brood over the conflicts pertaining to certain more fundamental things in life, instead of theater and cinema. :p But don’t give up just yet!

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 5, 2009 10:43 pm

    Biggie: I have read 11 Minutes and though it’s a bit controversial in content but I liked it.

    Hmm, who says not many are aware of Paulo’s work over here? All of his books are available and people do buy and read them (including me) πŸ™‚

    But after reading three-four books I realized his themes are very much similar that are usualy based on spirituality, so it gets predictable and boring at times.

  5. shobig permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:24 am

    Well, I can only speak for my circle of acquaintances and friends, and in there hardly anybody knew him or had read his books. Perhaps your uthna beithna is among some good intellectual minds. :p
    But it’s true that his books are a bit mono-thematic and hence can become predictable. I read a couple quite a while ago and arrived at the same conclusion. But have heard so much about 11 minutes that was tempted to finally give it a go after a bit of hesitation. You should also check Gabriel Garcia’s works. His short stories and novelettes particularly. The bigger ones, although fabulous pieces of literature, are not suited for reading by adolescents and khawateen…errr…dausheezaiN. :p

  6. January 6, 2009 9:53 am

    I just completed reading his masterpiece ‘The Alchemist’ and touched by its motivational depth.

    As for the post, they all are beautiful lines; I like especially the last for the contrast in portrays.
    I too have two incomplete poems on my computer desktop but am clueless of how finish it. The block is frustrating but I know it will be sooner than latter that they’ll lead me to the conclusion.

  7. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:45 pm

    Seems like someone may need help to overcome a writer’s block – here is a sample to help you along:

    We are so different,
    yet I can not imagine life without you
    Could the wisdom of your words wash away the knots of my narrow vision
    We are opposites in every way –
    How shall I ever bridge the gap between us
    You like the sound of little scampering feet
    My ears rejoice in the pleasurable purring sounds of another
    You see life through rose-coloured eyes,
    everything soft and pink
    What can I do?
    I like spicy, salty, exciting life
    I love for the thrill of the moment,
    Red is the colour for me –
    Like the heated blood that runs in my veins;
    You live in the dream of a secure corner
    Where you can shut out the world and be alone
    I want to open your eyes to the blessings of life
    Show you life, see you laugh back at it
    How can we ever be together?
    We are so different
    Can love ever be enough to bridge the gap
    Between us?
    Can it?

  8. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:47 pm

    One more thing – if he loves hamsters, you like cats – cant keep them in same house, as the cat will probably eat the poor little thing! πŸ˜›

  9. January 7, 2009 1:31 am

    yes, those nasty clusters in the mind being what they are: disappointing obstacles…

    sometimes inspirations can be find in the smallest of lackluster & monotonous things imaginable… speaking of which, maybe u shud have read some of my work πŸ˜‰

  10. January 7, 2009 1:33 am

    http://www.webook.com/911writersblock

    “Punch a key to
    Break the block”

    πŸ™‚

  11. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 7, 2009 8:35 am

    Exquisite – that is one interesting web page!
    I just checked it.

  12. Ayesha permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:01 pm

    Shobig: Yes, indeed my “uthna bethna” is with some intellectual minds πŸ˜›

    And Garcia… I’ve heard a lot about him. In fact, Love in the time of cholera is on my shelf that I have yet to read and then I am thinking to go for his other popular ones, One hundred years of solitude” and “Of love and other demons”… πŸ˜€

    Aadil: The Alchemist is an exciting book. Hope we get rid of this writer’s block soon!

    AJ: Wah kya baat hai! It’s a fantastic poem πŸ™‚

    Exquisite: I’ll be out of this situation soon. I just like whining. That link was funny πŸ˜›

  13. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:17 am

    Glad you like it – just helping out dear – as usual πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

