Skip to content

Defeated By Love

January 5, 2009

The sky was lit
by the splendor of the moon

So powerful
I fell to the ground

Your love
has made me sure

I am ready to forsake
this worldly life
and surrender
to the magnificence
of your Being

Beautiful spiritual poem by Maulana Rumi

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cavaliere permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:08 pm

    beautiful..beautiful..beautiful… 🙂
    Am a big fan of Rumi myself…

  2. Ayesha permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    I like indulging in Rumi’s poetry once in a while. It’s powerful and serene!

  3. shobig permalink
    January 5, 2009 10:00 pm

    I liked him until I personally witnessed how adverse an effect his teachings have had on the Islamic notion of spirituality in Turkey. It’s not much different from the concept of jog in Hinduism.

  4. Ayesha permalink
    January 5, 2009 11:04 pm

    If people misinterpreted his poetry, it’s their fault not Rumi’s. The same happened to an extent in Indian sub-continent when people started worshiping graves of saints instead of understanding the essence of their true teachings.

  5. shobig permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:38 am

    na na naa…it’s not a matter of misinterpretation bibiji :p ; not the least in case of Turks. His poetry clearly leans more towards spirituality (or even agnosticism!) than Islam, and hence bears the desired consequences. The underlying message may be okay in itself, but the fact is that people take it to be Islam, and that is where the ambiguity sneaks in. Consider this for example:

    I searched for God among the Christians and on the Cross and therein I found Him not.
    I went into the ancient temples of idolatry; no trace of Him was there.
    I entered the mountain cave of Hira and then went as far as Qandhar but God I found not.
    With set purpose I fared to the summit of Mount Caucasus and found there only ‘anqa’s habitation.
    Then I directed my search to the Kaaba, the resort of old and young; God was not there even.
    Turning to philosophy I inquired about him from ibn Sina but found Him not within his range.
    I fared then to the scene of the Prophet’s experience of a great divine manifestation only a “two bow-lengths’ distance from him” but God was not there even in that exalted court.
    Finally, I looked into my own heart and there I saw Him; He was nowhere else.

    What is he promoting there? Some of his works are like word-to-word translations of Bhullay Shah’s poetry, they have so much in common. I like Bhullay Shah’s and Shah Hussain’s poetry too, do listen to it and consider it deeply moving, but the fact remains that one has to be very careful not to tread over the edge.

    PS. Apologies for the lengthy post. I guess I just log in to yours or Aadil’s blog when I am in a mood for lengthy debates (read asserting my POV). 😀

  6. Asma Ahsan permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:50 pm

    Allah rehem karay aap par 😛

  7. Ayesha permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:56 pm

    Shobig: You are most welcome to have intellectual discussion over here 😛

Leave a Reply

